We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“great place to go” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Penn Museum

Penn Museum
Ranked #36 of 419 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: If you want to find your mummy, or, for that matter, Buddha or shards of old pottery, look for this museum in the heart of the University of Pennsylvania campus.
Philadelphia Pa
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great place to go”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

Wonderful exhibits, great variety of arts and crafts shown from all over the globe. Impressive. Good cafe also.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank karenska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    191
    95
    17
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A must for history buffs!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

The Penn museum is one of my favorite places in Philadelphia. IT has a fantastic collection, several rotating special exhibits, and is really very well organized. Highlights include an extensive Native American collection, an impressive ancient Greek pottery collection, and zillions of other fascinating things. Admission is free for Penn students, and for non-penn affiliates, the fare is still fair. A perfect spot to stop before catching a Penn football game at historical Franklin Field, and a short walk from other entertainment and food establishments.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank MrVarmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I'm a big fan of the Penn Museum but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012

This is a great museum, there are antiquities from all over the world (especially Egyptian), and every one of them is worth seeing. My one complaint about the Penn Museum was from a visit last year, when due to some sort of snafu, the much anticipated Silk Road exhibit was pulled. The museum didn't do a very good job of notifying visitors and when a group of about 8 of us showed up to see it, it had been replaced with hall full of cardboard stand-ins. We were disappointed, but the rest of the museum provided more than enough to see in a day, so much so than we delayed our visit to the Art Museum.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank DanDiggler21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Impressive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

The Penn Museum has assembled an impressive collection of antiquities. I was impressed by the opportunity to get within inches of these artifacts without a sheet of glass between me and them. The museum staff was helpful and unobtrusive. Despite the fact that we lucky enough to tour on one of their free admission days, the crowds were light.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank buckeyeflyguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“I could stay here all day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

I really enjoy Egyptian antiquities and culture. The Penn museum really takes pride in what they do and presentation. This is a very clean and respectable museum. I recommend it for anyone who has an interest in civilization and history or maybe just to try something different on a rainy afternoon. I'm sure there's many people who have not been to a museum in years. Do yourself a favor and visit this one!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank sfmarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Penn Museum also viewed

 

Been to Penn Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing