We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Used To Be Great!”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of South Street

South Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.00*
and up
Double-Decker Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Tour of Philadelphia
Ranked #78 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Known as Philadelphia's liveliest and funkiest strip, the street has more than 300 stores and restaurants.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Used To Be Great!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

I haven't been to South Street since my wife & I moved to Houston 13 years ago & it's changed... for the worse!

Other than Jim's Steaks & Bridget Foy's, (which I didn't eat at, but used to be good), there's not much to see or do here!

There were a few shops we walked in & then quickly out of, (as they were nothing special), & not much else! There seemed to be a large amount of banks along the South St./Headhouse Square area, & my old hang-out, David Mann Audio, is now a CVS!!!! (What happened to New Market?)

I remember cruisin' South St. in the late 8o's with the music up & the windows down watching the freaks & denizens all along the sidewalk, but now...it's lame!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    81
    40
    34
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City
Level Contributor
67 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Dissapointing and sad”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was very dissapointed to visit South Street. It used to be a great and original place full of artists, bars, good food and cool stores. Now nearly everything is out of business. We tried to eat in three places recommended by tripadvisor but all of them are closed. Only a few depressing stores remain. Stay away, do not waste your time there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Valentumina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Time Killed It”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

As a Philly native, South Street in 2013 is a shadow of its former self. I remember walking the strip as a high schooler, when Tower Records and Pearl Art beamed on the horizon. Independent book stores and merchants were a part of what made the area great. Now its populated with Fresh Grocer, Starbucks and Puma shops. Wow. Even the people seem weird. Gone are many of the quirky people that flocked to South Street and paraded their individuality. Now the place teams with faux hipsters and local teens. Even the adult aide shops (a personal favorite) are a letdown, with young, irresponsible mothers toting their babies through aisles of condoms and dildos. In my opinion, there is really nothing left that makes this a must-see attraction.

Everything is crowded and super expensive, so be prepared.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Not bad to kill time”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Local here... South St is fun to walk down if you have time to kill... not a must but definitely something worth doing. Families avoid going at nights.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kane8181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
78 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Don't expect a "Times Square" experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

I always wanted to walk South St. in Philly as it is billed as food, theaters, bars, nightlife with a quaint waterfront. It has theaters, bars, tattoo parlors, nail places, a couple of adult boutiques, and some retail like sneaker stores and clothes. Also pizza, vegan, pub and diner restaurants. And Whole Foods and SuperFresh supermarkets at one end. It was eclectic. I felt safe. Even in the rain there were residents, both upscale and homeless, mixed with tourists with strollers and couples hand in hand. It wasn't filthy, as some described it, but it is a city. At the east end (the low # streets--1st, 2nd) there is the historic waterfront on the Delaware River. A couple of Irish pubs are at this end. One of the oldest colonial markets (the brick structure) in the US along with the oldest volunteer firehouse is here on cobblestone streets. You can walk up a pretty ramp to overlook the Delaware, see the masts of a tall ship and the Battleship NJ in Camden. But it is another 5-10 walk to get to the actual waterfront. Didn't seem to be much to do there. There weren't any benches along the street to give our feet a break. We sat on a storefront curb while waiting for the rest of our group and enjoyed the show of a resident and cabbie arguing and the cops shooing them away. It was comical, not scary. There are cops on almost every corner. It was a fun night, I am glad we did it, but I would return only to see more historical Philadelphia or attend a show.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank familytravel13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed South Street also viewed

 

Been to South Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing