We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Meal” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Union Trust Steakhouse - CLOSED

Union Trust Steakhouse
Price range: $150 - $300
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighborhood: City Center East
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

The meal I had at this restaurant is one that I will forever compare all other dinners out to. Filet mignon: amazing. Crab cakes: remarkable. Mac & Cheese: I still dream about it. Stopped here on a whim while touring colleges along the East Coast and if I ever return to Philadelphia this will be the first place I stop. I highly recommend it and suggest you come hungry.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    11
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boyertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner with Friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We just found this restaurant online. Beautiful place. Great service, Great food, Great desserts, but very pricey.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Is this restaurant still open?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Beautiful atmosphere, but mediocre food. Is it still open? The last times I went by it is closed with a note on the door. They are not answering their phones and their website is down.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Sambhogakaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia USA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“bad food, not worth it”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Went there for my husbands 35th birthday. Sat down, ordered crispy calamari, Aged NY Strip medium plus, side of potatoes, and chicken entree. Calamari arrived soon, tasted so so, pretty mediocre. The entrees arrived about 1 whole hour later! The steak was cool(not hot), it was also all soft, like it was boiled or sat somewhere under a lamp, and it tasted bad. I mean Applebees could have done this, not a $45+ steak. The chicken was hot but tasteless. Called manager, they were apologetic, offered another steak, but who wants to wait after being there 1.5 hours? told us it was comped, gave us free desert, bill came to be $35!!! What, they made us pay for the dinner sides, awful. We still tipped another $20.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Malish2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
106 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“great appetizers - dry steak”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The building is beautiful; the service was mostly wonderful. The bacon and scallops appetizer was amazing - absolutely incredible. However, the steak was far from living up to our expectations. I order fried onions on the filet, and my husband had the garlic rub on the porterhouse - both were just very dry. I would expect that from a chain - not from a well-known, expensive steakhouse. Next time, we will be trying a different steakhouse.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Margaret2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Trust Steakhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing