We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“what a great hotel, clean, perfect location, very friendly staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #37 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
West Caldwell, NJ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“what a great hotel, clean, perfect location, very friendly staff!”
Reviewed July 28, 2007

I have never written a review on Trip Advisor, but after having such a great stay at the Hilton Garden in Philadelphia, I felt obligated to. The hotel is under a little tunnel right next to a parking garage, so it is pretty convenient to park and get your bags in. The front desk staff were so helpful and the manager on duty personally came out to greet all of the guests who were arriving. Because there was about a 5 minute wait to check-in, he gave everyone vouchers for free parking and breakfast, which was unnecessary, but so nice. The room was great, it has the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on, and the pillows were so nice too, what a good night of sleep I had! There was a big flat screen tv, a fridge, and microwave. The bathroom was sparkling clean and the room was huge, especially for being in a city. The pool and hot tub are nice, as is the attached gym. It is supposed to close at 10 (the hot tub and pool) but they allowed us to stay as late as we wanted, which was nice after a long day of driving. The breakfast was delicious, with a buffet, as well as made to order things to go with it, such as pancakes and omlets. While dining you also get a very nice view of the city. Reading Terminal is also located right near the hotel, which is a great place to get something to eat, they have everything there! I definitely recommend this hotel and hope you enjoy it as much as I did if you stay there!

  • Liked — the friendly staff, great pillows and beds, location, giant room and tv
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank travelgirl0529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    684
    326
    123
    69
See reviews for
503
350
125
591
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Opelika, Alabama
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2007

Stayed at Hilton Garden Inn for 4 nights in July 2007 and have a somewhat mixed review. Was in Philadelphia for a Convention and the location was very convenient for that as it is located directly across from the Convention Center.

Had no problems with check-in and every staff member that I encountered was friendly and helpful. We were in an ADA accessible room and it was very large. Bed was not very comfortable until I discovered the 2nd night that it was an adjustable firmness (a piece of information that would have been nice to have!) All rooms at the hotel have free wireless internet and a microwave and refrigerator (always nice when staying several nights). Nice toiletries and plenty of towels and hot water. Room was very clean (thanks to Quanda, our great housekeeping staff member). There is also a guest coin laundry, very nice so you don't have to pay hotel prices to have some clean underwear. Hotel is also convenient to historic sites about 6 blocks away. (take the Duck tour...lots of fun!)

Had breakfast at the upstairs restaurant one morning and it's nothing to write home about. Overpriced for what you get. A better option for food is the Reading Terminal market next door. It has tons of food stalls of every kind. I had a huge breakfast at the diner there for less than $7 including tip. Also great for lunch...has food of every ethnicity you can imagine...from Southern to Jewish deli to Asian to French crepes. The hotel is on the edge of Chinatown, so lots of options there. Maggliano's Little Italy by the Marriott is delicious. There's also Hard Rock Cafe around the corner.

The other downside is that the area around the hotel is somewhat seedy at night with lots of panhandlers and homeless wandering the street. Was awakened each night by sirens and street noise; not all night but was still there.

Would probably not stay here again if the Marriott across the street was available, but was okay for our convention purposes

  • Liked — proximity to convention center
  • Disliked — not so good area of town
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank sufu02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2007

This hotel was very convenient for us for our one-night stay in Philly to see the King Tut exhibit. It is a bit of a strangely set up location and you definitely get a dose of urban Philly, but there is really nothing to complain about and the area felt safe to us.

We were surpised at the nice wide hallways, large elevators and large rooms at the hotels, as usually when I stay in urban areas the spaces are much smaller. Everything seemed freshly decorated and clean.

The front desk staff was very nice - which I really appreciate.

Parking was in the convention center garage, which is actually part of the structure of the hotel. Hard to describe, but you'll see. It was $22 for 24 hours and the hotel said it could give us a card for in-and-out priveledges, but we didn't try it.

There are plenty of bubble tea shops and Asian cafes in the area and we really liked Moriarty's Irish Pub a couple blocks away.

My only complaint is that the air conditioner in the room was very loud. It is a wall unit (sits in the wall under the window) and it did a good job cooling, but was just too loud. The fridge (there is a fridge a microwave in the room) also started to vibrate in the night and I had to go give it a shove.

Otherwise, good stay. And we got a great deal - Pricelined it on the day of our stay for $55 (total w/ taxes and fees was ~$70).

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annchgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

This hotel is in an odd location -- across from a low-cost bus service and sort of embedded in a huge parking facility. But don't be fooled by the entrance (once you find it in the dingy tunnel!) -- it is a Hilton with premium service. Every member of the staff was friendly, engaged, and helpful. The rooms were clean and lovely, with flat screen TVs and nice amenities. There was a coin-operated washer dryer (which was key at the end of a long trip), and the pool and fitness facility very very nice. The breakfast was excellent, and if you're just looking for a bagel, not a buffet, there's a 24-hour WaWa store across the street.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank hankstamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
220 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2007

We just returned from a long weekend in Philadelphia. We stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn - in DT Philly.

The location was way better than expected. The hotel is across the street from the Convention Center and at the edge of China town and within a quick walk to the Liberty Bell / Independence Hall. And also right next to Terminal Reading Market and the Gallery Mall.

The staff was very nice and informative. We arrived in time for the Managers Cocktail Hour and while we were there one of the staff members gave us some great dining suggestions for asian restaurants. We chose one of her suggestions: Banana Leaf. Again within walking distance and very tasty dinner... I believe its a Malaysian/Japanese menu - so you could get some spicy or some sushi.

The room was large and roomy. Great large flat screen tv. Wirless Internet - the usual Garden Inn amenities.

Restaurant: they have a lovely restaurant on the top floor that serves a full buffet breakfast. The restaurant has a small bar, again with very attentive staff.

The hotel has an indoor pool and gym - pool wasn't as warm as we would've preferred, but thats a personal perference :-)

Whenever we took a taxi - the fare from the hotel was about $8.00 - because the hotel is in such a central location. Great for someone needing to be at the convention center or just being a tourist.

Hope you enjoy.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Room Rates
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank RobertsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2007

Booked this hotel on Hotwire for $89. Did not know it was a 100% smoke free facility. If I had known that, I would not have stayed there, since it was very inconvenient to have to go down ten floors to the front of the hotel to smoke. Front desk was very nice. Let us check in early, the problem....there were people sleeping in the bed of the room we were given. We were apologized to profusely and given free American breakfast coupons for the moring. The room was decent but smelled of deodorizer, which was actually quite nasty. The breakfast was average. For $13.95 you can do better elsewhere, glad ours was free. Probably would not stay here again.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank calico696
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2007

After reading all of the reviews for hotels in the historical district of Philly, we finally agreed to gamble and go with Hilton Garden Inn (considering that most of the hotels in this area of Philly had mixed reviews with the exception of the high dollar Rittenhouse). We went with a junior suite since there were three of us (2 adults and a 15 year old).

Upon arrival, our check-in process was seamless. I booked through Expedia. My only concern was the fact that they had double-booked me....but Hilton Inn said they would just delete the additional booking (odd considering that my confirmation e-mail indicated ONE junior suite...not TWO). Not sure who made that mistake.

Good location in the historical district. Located in the middle of Chinatown, but within walking distance (12 blocks) to the Italian Market and Liberty Bell/Constitution Hall.

Within 30 mins of our late arrival, we stepped out to walk to a late-night diner around the block and were approached by a con-man who acted like he was going to hail a cab for us (or acted like he was a cabbie), but when we told him we were walking to a diner, he walked with us to "guide" us, then asked for a handout. Not 10 paces later, another vagrant approached us for a handout. Not an impressive start....but we learned to avoid eye contact with the street people (which immediately initiated their approach) and at least act like we knew our destination.

Very convenient to Reading Market (just around the corner).....great breakfast/brunch stop every morning! (Check out the Crepes!).

Room was average. Two double beds (a little cramped for my taste)...but they kept commenting on their "number beds". Didn't notice any difference from other mattresses. Bathroom was average...not the cleanest. Had to request additional towels. There were only 3 in a junior suite, that's pretty skimpy. A bag of carmel popcorn and pretzels, along with two cokes and two waters were in our suite upon arrival (but were not replenished each additional night of our stay).

We were invited to a Manager's Cocktail Hour one night that was okay. Wine and cheese. Staff was pleasant and somewhat helpful (if not extremely knowledgable about surrounding area). I had the impression that most of the staff are local college students (clue: the text books they were studying during their downtime).

Good wireless access from room. Small store in lobby open 24 hours (drinks and small convenient items).

Parking was $22 per night. Garage-dark & scary. Elevator was broken on 3rd floor. A pain carrying luggage downstairs.

Cabs (average of $8 each way to local venues). All of the cabbies seem to take the long way around. Didn't matter where we went, it always seemed to average out to $8.

Nice indoor pool but we didn't take a dip during out stay.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Double beds in junior suite (should be queen size or larger)
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank kfadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#19 of 85 in Philadelphia
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#42 of 85 in Philadelphia
3,016 reviews
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Address: 1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing