We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly staff & huge rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #37 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Friendly staff & huge rooms”
Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid September. The rooms were really big and had everything we needed including a fridge. The location was pretty good and only a short walk in both directions to City Hall and Independence Hall. The hotel actually starts on the 7th floor of the building and the main entrance is underneath what I assume is part of the building that extends over the road. Hard to describe! The area around is really busy but we found that was the case with most of Philadelphia - we always felt safe walking around though. There is a Wawa across the road from the hotel where you can stock up on snacks and juice for the room. It is also a short block from the Market East Station where the airport train runs through.
The staff were all really friendly - everyone said hello and wanted to know if we were having a good time.
Would certainly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H&SP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,844 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    642
    684
    326
    123
    69
See reviews for
503
350
125
591
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

I was blown away by my stay here. I was made "guest of the day" and received the best service I've experienced at a hotel. Everyone was nice and helpful from the front desk employees to the housekeeping staff. My room was clean & comfortable and the hotel breakfast buffet was delicious. The hotel is in a convenient location, right by the Reading Terminal Market and within walking distance of Independence Hall. Best hotel experience. Will definitely stay here next time I'm in Philly.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2009

Hotel, staff, room, etc all pretty good and what you'd expect..

Location was a little busy and not the best part of town - if you are going to the Convention Center it's great, otherwise for family travel look a bit more uptown.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharoninBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2009

I was actually a bit surprised since I wasn't expecting much from this hotel, being that it is in the center of a big city and not expensive. We booked a 2 double bed room with parking included so that made the trip even cheaper!
Pros: Big clean room, refrigerator/microwave, neat view of the city outside the window, comfortable beds, separate sitting area with a 2nd flat screen TV, fantastic location close to everything, right next door to a shopping mall & reading terminal market, free wifi, close to a tour bus stops (I recommend the purple Phlash bus which is only $5 all day), friendly staff, very quiet, good accessible business center with a fast printer.
Cons: We had to walk around a bit to find a slice of pizza late at night.

In general, there wasn't enough food options late night in the neighborhood - but maybe I'm just being picky. The Chinese place across the street is different, but very good. Considering all of the center city activity outside of the hotel, inside it was very nice and quiet. I was very impressed!
I'm going to stay there again and recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cynmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Positives: Wonderful Lobby; Hotel located in very busy section of Center City: right in Chinatown, Convention Hall across the street, bus station on 11th St but once you go in the hotel it is actually calm and quiet. Reading Terminal Market is behind the hotel which was great when family was too tired to venture out to a restaurant but make sure you buy your provisions before it closes at 6PM, 5PM on Sundays. It is right in the center, able to walk to Independence Hall area on the east and take public transport (e.g. Phlash, highly recommended if with family) if going to the art museum or Franklin institute on the west side, walking distance to the awesome city hall building and Love Park, and Franklin Square Park for the younger crowd, shopping. Parking garage is attached to the hotel (on the 3rd level). Staff was great, very friendly.

Cons: It may be a little inconvenient but must wait for the elevators to go up as hotel rooms are on the 7th-10th floors as the parking garage are on the lower levels. Don't forget your room key as needed for the business center or the bathrooms on the ground level so you don't have to go up to your room to get keys. Rooms esp. the bath is dated, things peeling, etc. The hallways needed vacuuming, again looked dated. Leftover tray/dishes for room service lined the hallway, no cockroaches seen (thank goodness). As in big cities parking is xtra $26.75 /day. Our room faced the bus station parking lot, maybe unavoidable since the bus station is right next door. Was awaken the last night buy loud noises from inconsiderate people. The swimming pool was a joke, deepest end was 3 1/2 feet, should've been called a wading pool.

All in all, will stay here again because it is central to everything. Chinatown cheap with family meals along with the reading terminal market .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joyzeegoyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
476 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2009

We had a comfortable, relaxing 2 night stay last week. Have stayed in Philly a few times, and this was Definitely our best stay. The room was large, comfortable, and the bed was adjustable...soft and comfy sheets,lofty down comforter, and quiet all hours of the day and night. We had a mini fridge, microwave, and coffee maker; great for bringing home treats from the Terminal Market--which by the way, is actually connected to the HGI--can't get better than that!

I would say the staff made this stay 5 star! The front desk, housekeeping, and even maintinence staff all spoke to us; not just "Hi", but a friendly conversation--EVERY single employee was helpful and gracious! Our last day there, I waited for 30 minutes in the lobby, for my husband to finish his business meeting, and the staff there asked me if I needed anything and was ok, numerous times--it is evident they are glad you are there!

There is a WaWa convenience store right across the street, under a covered area, so easy to walk to any time of day or weather--it has a little bit of everything! (including Tastycakes, a Philly tradition!)

We are Hilton Honors Members (join online before you go, for extra perks during your stay), and enjoyed a manager's reception with drinks and snacks, our first day there. Again, excellent staff of a young man and a young lady (she was headed to Mexico for a vacation for the first time, hope she had a blast!) were there to chat, give suggestions, and let us know they were glad we chose HGI. I had told them before we arrived, that is was our 3rd anniversary, and the management left a very nice fruit, cheese and cracker plate in our fridge for us..very thoughtful and appreciated!

Maybe we have stayed in more Luxurious hotels, but Few have had the excellent level of customer service, that made this HGI 5 star, for us! Close to all that downtown offers; walked to malls, lunch and breakfast spots, bars and pubs at night...and as always, the Terminal Market (you gotta go have blueberry pancakes at the Amish booth--omg!).

We will probably stay here every time we come to PHL, from now on. Good rates on the Hilton website, wonderful staff, comfortable and quiet rooms, with a nice bed and a good tv.,nice desk for my husband to work at, with free Wifi that Worked! all of the little "extras", and ahhhhh...we loved it!

Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank joboxer555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

I’d stay at the Hilton Garden Inn again, but I’d be somewhat cautious about recommending it to others.

The pluses: We got an excellent nightly rate that included parking, making this hotel far cheaper than other options for the weekend we were visiting. Check-in was efficient and we were able to get our room before noon, well before the official check-in time of 4 p.m. The room was clean and comfortable, and included free wireless internet access. The hotel is just a short walk – about 10 minutes for us – to the historic district, and there was a fair amount of foot traffic on the streets, so I never felt unsafe. Also, the hotel is next to the Reading Terminal Market and adjacent to Chinatown, so there are inexpensive dining options close by.

The minuses: The area around the hotel is dicey – near the bus station and stop for the “Chinatown buses"—with a fair number of homeless people, although as I noted above, there’s enough foot traffic that it didn’t feel unsafe. Also, the first night the noise from the hallways was aggravating. The hallway seems to act as an echo chamber, and a group of small children running through the halls sounds like a herd of stampeding elephants. Furthermore, the room doors slam shut and echo the length of the hall. The second night we had no problem with noise, possibly because we were exhausted enough to sleep through it, but it may just have been that whoever was creating the problem had checked out.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — Noise
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MarylandIrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#19 of 85 in Philadelphia
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#42 of 85 in Philadelphia
3,016 reviews
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Address: 1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing