We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location... that's about it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Eastern NC2009
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Location... that's about it”
Reviewed July 22, 2009

Well, when we first arrived the area is a bit scary (especially at night), but, the parking garage was pretty easy to find.... $26/day. The front desk attendant was not very friendly, and we received resistance with a crib request and even more when asking for crib linens. when we made it to our room, I have to say I was a bit disappointed... a king suite is a long room with a half wall partition separating the living and sleeping quarters. But, all in all the room was comparable to a Hampton Inn. The next morning we headed up to the restaurant for breakfast, the staff sat us at a table that the leg broke off when she moved the table then just left... my husband was standing there holding the table "assuming" someone was coming back. After about five minutes, and no one returning to help, I sought out assistance. The breakfast did have a nice variety, but, our order was mixed up, and not fixed, the person didnt seem interested when my husband and another guest informed the cook that he mixed up their orders. Oh, and drinks did not arrive until half way through the meal. Their were no clean towels in the pool area, had to go to the gym to find towels. The next morning we headed back to the restaurant for breakfast, which I do want to add had a very nice view. But, after waiting 15 minutes to place an order, my daughter accidentally dropped a glass and it shattered over the table and floor, and again, no one assisted. We cleaned up the glass that was on the table and on her (6 yo), we were again assuming that someone was bringing a towel, mop, something, but, no one showed up. Of course at that time my husband had lost his patience and gathered us out and stormed down to guest services. So, overall the restaurant staff was beyond ridiculous. But, the Manager did listen and seemed to be truly embarrassed about our experiences at her hotel. We are Hilton diamond members and are used to a certain level of quality that unfortunately we did not get at this hotel. BUT, the location was great... the Reading Street Market and Chinatown is a block away!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpaceyNC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    706
    339
    126
    75
See reviews for
521
363
132
610
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2009

This is an average Hilton Garden Inn but the staff was exceptional. As many have said, location seems a little seedy at night but in walking distance to historical district and shopping. I definitely will stay here the next time I'm in Philly. Thanks to Charlie Brown for even better than exceptional service. The only negative is expensive parking $26.25 a day.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bennetttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2009

While the hotel is centrally located, a plus, and the rooms and pool were clean, the noise levels were unbearable. We were there for 4 sleepless nights and the noise was like that of a college beer blast. Constant people walking through the halls and talking loudly at all hours. The staff came on duty every morning and talked as loud as possible while cleaning the rooms, in addition to constantly slamming the doors. It's bad enough when clueless travelers slam doors, but completely unacceptable when staff do it too. It actually seemed like all the doors were set on springs purposefully designed to slam as hard as possible. It felt like mini-earthquakes all night long. The beds were wretched and both my husband and I needed a visit to our chiropractor for repair upon our return home. The staff at the front desk were inexperienced children. As a business traveler, I was highly offended. I would not have hired any of these people to even pet-sit for me, never mind run a hotel in the center of a populated city. In their favor, when I wrote a letter complaining after we arrived home, they responded immediately. They offered us a free night whenever we wanted to return. Quite frankly, the experience was so hellish, that I would not stay there ever again even if they PAID me! Truly awful.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsscrappy31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2009

Traveled solo to Philadelphia to do some genealogy so wanted a hotel close to the Historical Society. This hotel fit the bill as it was walking distance, in a fairly safe place with a decent price. Walked to hotel at about 10PM just fine…

The carpet was not the cleanest. Large wet area near TV. So just sacrificed a couple of hand towels to cover the area since it was so late a night and didn’t want to complain.

Room service was timely but food just OK (was so looking forward to a REAL Philly cheese steak, oh well!)

Breakfast in the AM was super!! The waiter even brought me a couple of Diet Cokes since I’m not a coffee or juice drinker. He even included one in a bottle “for the road.” Great service!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letstravelwithtwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2009

Hotel is located near Chinatown. Very convenient to restaurants, shops and walking distance to historical park areas.
Great 10* customer service with complimentary internet and fresh lemonade and cookies every afternoon. Room was updated, clean, and spacious with microwave and fridge available. Have nice indoor heated pool and fitness center. Provides complimentary internet as well.
Parking is nearby and it is safe. Cost about $28/day with in and out privileges.
The kids really liked it with all the amenities nearby. Well worth the money we spent on this hotel and we will be back again!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklespan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Virginia
Level Contributor
278 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2009

This is the 3rd time we have stayed at this hotel in the past 18 months. So, my 1st review saying we would probably stay somewhere else in Philadelphia isn't exactly true anymore. The kids love the pool, love looking out the windows, and love riding around in a taxi.

This time we booked our room from Hotwire (expedia & hotel's rate was $149.99 night), Hotwire - guessing which hotel we were actually getting was $69.00/night, but if you read the description, you can ascertain that it is this hotel.

Our room was larger than the past 2 times - with a divider between the beds & a desk & another tv. The kids loved having 2 tvs in the room so they could watch cartoons in the morning while we watched the news.

All in all, a good stay.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BethAnnP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
74 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2009

This property and the staff ( Assistant General Manager Mr. Bettencourt) are the reason I'm a diamond and choose Hilton properties over any other..... This is the best location and property for central philly activities.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Address: 1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing