We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Oneonta, Alabama
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good location”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The hotel room was in a good location, within walking distance to Independence Hall, steps to train that will take you to pro sports complex, and adjacent to Reading Terminal Market. The room was spacious and clean. The staff was helpful and sincere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jajjacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thanks for sharing your excellent review. The entire team at the Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City hotel is very pleased to have read that everything about your stay was excellent and every team member you came in contact with was helpful and sincere. We look forward to seeing you again when your plans bring you back to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    706
    339
    126
    75
See reviews for
521
363
132
610
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Our stay was perfect from beginning to end. We were welcomed upon arrival and given lots of attention. Our room was clean and spacious. The hotel is easy walking distance from the subway. Our next stay in Philadelphia will definitely be at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatherineA701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thanks for sharing your excellent review! The entire team at the Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City hotel is extremely proud to have read that everything about your stay was wonderful and you were treated like royalty. We look forward to seeing you when your plans bring you back in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Very thin walls between rooms allow whatever is going on in the next room to be heard - TV, radio, etc. The air conditioner is typical of many middle-of-the-road type hotels. It was noisy but it worked well with wall mounted controls. The bathroom was clean and I never saw a bug...even in the middle of the night. The restaurant food was excellent. Much better than expected...especially the filet for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Arthur D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to share the experience you had at the Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City. We are very glad you enjoyed our restaurant and mentioned our hotel was clean and comfortable. I apologize for the noise complaint and hope you will give us another chance to show you the quality accommodations you deserve should you return to our area in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We picked the hotel because it was right across the street from the convention center. It was obviously very convenient and helped make my con experience a good one. The room was a decent size, even with three of us in the room. Everything seemed clean and well taken care of. The staff was friendly and answered any questions we had.

I would stay here again for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deargoodbye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to share your excellent experience you had at the Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City. We really look forward on seeing you in the future and hope that your stay is just as great as your recent one!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
278 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Was going to a conference at the convention center (across the street) and the HGI had better rates than the "preferred" hotels. I got there too early for check in, so the (gorgeous and friendly!) bell woman took my bags, and the front desk called me on my cell phone when the room was ready (which was at the time they had told me it would be, not later!)
Front desk staff and bell staff incredibly nice, friendly, and helpful. I had heard that some of the rooms had loud A/C units. So before I was assigned a specific room, the front desk had an engineer check to make sure that my room was one of the ones that had been updated with new A/C. Also, one afternoon I pressed for the elevator in the lobby, then had to ask the front desk a question - when the elevator arrived, the bellman had run to the elevator to "save" it for me until I was done. That little extra gesture was very appreciated.
The room was good size, and I appreciated the chair and ottoman for reading. There's an empty half fridge and a microwave. I had brought yogurt for quick breakfasts, and the front desk provided me with plastic spoons.
The location is right next to Reading Terminal Market and in the middle of Chinatown, so finding a good restaurant within a 5 minute walk is easy.
The beds at HGI are always comfortable I think - and the first 2 nights I slept well. Unfortunately there were some loud guests the next 2 nights, and it was easy to hear conversation in the next room and the hallway.
The tub was a hard plastic mold, not ceramic, so that felt a little weird. Water was hot if not especially strong. And housekeeping was ok - the staff was very nice, but not especially thorough.
Flavored water (fresh fruit) and cookies were out in the lobby for guests each day. There is a small indoor pool and exercise room (a few cardio machines, bench, exercise ball, and free weights).

I would definitely recommend staying here for the location/staff service/value/comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nreyesok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to share your excellent experience you had at the Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City. We are very glad you enjoyed your room and your stay overall. The entire team looks forward to seeing you again when your plans bring you back to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Each person I interacted with from housekeeping, room service, room engineer, front desk, etc. provided professional, warm, very prompt, and personal care. I became ill while on my trip and Melina at the front desk found me an urgent care, and when I returned to my room, had a "care package" of water, chicken noodle soup, cough drops, and a kind note waiting on me. Everyone was equally eager to provide great customer care, in all areas. It was truly a refreshing level of service and it made all the difference in a long business trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to share the excellent experience you had at the Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City. We are very glad Milena took such good care of you!! The entire team looks forward to seeing you again when your plans bring you back to Philadelphia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Warning! Philadelphia is expensive to stay in and play. I was expecting to at least get a good night , but no luck. My main complaint is the underground runs under the hotel, creating constant noise. The room itself was ok, but the bath was less than expected. Towels were scratchy and the toilet low to the ground. (I am short). Finally, the bed was made but it seemed like the housekeeping threw the sheets on. They kept falling off during the night.

With all that said the location is fantastic and the staff could not be friendlier.

Room Tip: The higher up the less noise I am sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nneworleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
I am sorry about your so-so time at our hotel. We want you to know that the comments we receive from our guests are taken very seriously and your suggestions will help us to improve the experience in the room for our future guests. On that note, thank you for mentioning how friendly our staff was. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Address: 1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing