We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #36 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
278 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

Was going to a conference at the convention center (across the street) and the HGI had better rates than the "preferred" hotels. I got there too early for check in, so the (gorgeous and friendly!) bell woman took my bags, and the front desk called me on my cell phone when the room was ready (which was at the time they had told me it would be, not later!)
Front desk staff and bell staff incredibly nice, friendly, and helpful. I had heard that some of the rooms had loud A/C units. So before I was assigned a specific room, the front desk had an engineer check to make sure that my room was one of the ones that had been updated with new A/C. Also, one afternoon I pressed for the elevator in the lobby, then had to ask the front desk a question - when the elevator arrived, the bellman had run to the elevator to "save" it for me until I was done. That little extra gesture was very appreciated.
The room was good size, and I appreciated the chair and ottoman for reading. There's an empty half fridge and a microwave. I had brought yogurt for quick breakfasts, and the front desk provided me with plastic spoons.
The location is right next to Reading Terminal Market and in the middle of Chinatown, so finding a good restaurant within a 5 minute walk is easy.
The beds at HGI are always comfortable I think - and the first 2 nights I slept well. Unfortunately there were some loud guests the next 2 nights, and it was easy to hear conversation in the next room and the hallway.
The tub was a hard plastic mold, not ceramic, so that felt a little weird. Water was hot if not especially strong. And housekeeping was ok - the staff was very nice, but not especially thorough.
Flavored water (fresh fruit) and cookies were out in the lobby for guests each day. There is a small indoor pool and exercise room (a few cardio machines, bench, exercise ball, and free weights).

I would definitely recommend staying here for the location/staff service/value/comfort.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nreyesok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to share your excellent experience you had at the Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City. We are very glad you enjoyed your room and your stay overall. The entire team looks forward to seeing you again when your plans bring you back to our area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    643
    686
    327
    123
    69
See reviews for
505
351
125
592
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

Each person I interacted with from housekeeping, room service, room engineer, front desk, etc. provided professional, warm, very prompt, and personal care. I became ill while on my trip and Melina at the front desk found me an urgent care, and when I returned to my room, had a "care package" of water, chicken noodle soup, cough drops, and a kind note waiting on me. Everyone was equally eager to provide great customer care, in all areas. It was truly a refreshing level of service and it made all the difference in a long business trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Denise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to share the excellent experience you had at the Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City. We are very glad Milena took such good care of you!! The entire team looks forward to seeing you again when your plans bring you back to Philadelphia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014

Warning! Philadelphia is expensive to stay in and play. I was expecting to at least get a good night , but no luck. My main complaint is the underground runs under the hotel, creating constant noise. The room itself was ok, but the bath was less than expected. Towels were scratchy and the toilet low to the ground. (I am short). Finally, the bed was made but it seemed like the housekeeping threw the sheets on. They kept falling off during the night.

With all that said the location is fantastic and the staff could not be friendlier.

Room Tip: The higher up the less noise I am sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nneworleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
I am sorry about your so-so time at our hotel. We want you to know that the comments we receive from our guests are taken very seriously and your suggestions will help us to improve the experience in the room for our future guests. On that note, thank you for mentioning how friendly our staff was. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed at the Philadelphia City Center Hilton Garden Inn. I was pleasantly surprised by the manager who was extremely knowledgeable about the places to eat in the immediate vicinity. I chose the Banana Leaf as our first-night dining experience. The Banana Leaf was very close to our hotel and had excellent food. We were able to share a large bowl of sour-spicy soup. My favorite!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrsydrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed some of the wonderful food the city has to offer. We love to give suggestions to our guest and send them to our favorite restaurants. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Philadelphia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

Very nicely kept hotel, rooms and facilities. Staff very responsive and always friendly. Great location in Philadelphia City Center. Easy access to historic sites and nice walk to museums. Shuttle or train to and from airport and ready access to taxi service if you don't want to walk

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback! We are very glad you enjoyed the room, our facilities, and mentioned that our staff was friendly. We look forward to seeing you when your plans bring you back in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walhonding, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

After a 7 hr trip and no room at hotel we had reservation for !! We ended up at the Hilton Gardens. And was not disappointed. Staff was amazing and so helpfully.. Was able to park downtown in their garage. And stay most of the day while we toured the city

Room Tip: We will only stay at this hotel , its in the heart of the city , very kid friendly and staff was gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Thanks for sharing your excellent review. The entire team at the Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City hotel is extremely proud to have read that everything about your stay was wonderful and we will be the hotel you use in Philadelphia. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Level Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

I must start this review by saying that my reception in Philadelphia was abominable and my mindset was not the most positive. When I got to the hotel, the desk clerk, Christine, went out of her way to make my day better. She provided me with a city map and held my luggage while I explored (I got there early, and my room wasn't available). She called me once my room was ready, and I was made to feel very valued and appreciated.

The room was spacious without going over the top. The bed was luxuriously comfy, and the in-room amenities (Keurig, fridge, microwave, desk and easy chair) were perfect for relaxing. The view wasn't great, but the curtains were nice and thick so it was easy to block that.

Last night, the hotel offered citrus infused water and cookies, which added to the welcoming atmosphere. Yum!

The only thing that really brought down the rating was the price. Even with the convenient location, the room (and the $36 per night parking fee) seemed excessively pricey.

A very nice place, but a little high priced, even with the Hilton name attached.

Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paula C, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
We thank you for taking the time to share your excellent experience you had at the Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City. We are very glad you enjoyed our rooms, cookies, and hospitality! Thank you for recognizing our staff member as we are happy she was so helpful and left such a positive impression to be mentioned. The entire team looks forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#21 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,025 reviews
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Address: 1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing