We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay - Great staff- Great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Lawton, United States
1 review
“Great stay - Great staff- Great food”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for a full week. Wonderful experience. Staff and accommodations were exceptional for the price. Food was very good. Hotel is also close to convention center and historical sights. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank William V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    659
    706
    339
    126
    75
See reviews for
521
363
132
610
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Superior, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2013

This Hilton Garden Inn is in a great location in Downtown Philadelphia, lots of great restaurants within walking distance of the hotel. Right on the edge of Chinatown and only 1 block from the SEPTA Market East Station so it makes using the public transit system in Philly a great choice. Located on the same block as Reading Terminal Market makes it the ideal hotel to stay at if you are in town to check out all the local food choices. It's a surprisingly quiet hotel given it's location in a downtown setting

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Found hotel-under a kinda ghetto parking garage bridge. Kinda skanky. Hotel hasn't done anything to lure an audience in from the street very well. But once in, I learned that my room purchase didnt include b-fast. I was not aware of that and when everyone else was checking in, they were getting bfast passes. I asked for mine and the clerks reply was a little loud and condescending- it embarrassed me. Like I wasnt worthy of bfast pass...I HATED that. The room was GREAT. Comfy, clean...

The hot tub was big sell and NOTHING on ANY website or notice mentioned it was BROKEN. But they still used it to lure you in.

The pool was NNNAAASSTTYYYYY.

When checking out, they had cookies in a jar. They covered a tower Chocolate Chip Cookies with powdered sugar. I thought that was funny. Who does THAT? Brownies, yes, but cookies?? It was obvious they were trying to make the ordinary look special. I made a joke about it and the clerk snapped back at me. THAT was embarrassing, too!

The WI-FI was HORRIBLE. Impossible for anyone on business to do business via on line.

I places my dinner and bev in fridge for next day. Opened fridge in AM, everything was warm. Fridge was broken.

Am I being punished?? I'm a good guy!!

Basically, I would not rec'md this place for business travelers.

My other review of the hotel in Charleston SC is important bc when I go to hotels, I tend to stay with them and return. I build relationships. I like walking in and the clerks know me and we talk and joke around and they dont make me feel like I'm giving them money or I owe them something for the services and perks.....the Hilton Garden Inn is does the complete opposite.

If I dont offer something or pay for something I'm treated different.

The services are terrible (pool and wi-fi) and the clerks are rude. They are NOT professional in any sense of the word.

By they way....where the heck did the word GARDEN come from?? What Garden??? Thats as bad as the Holiday Inn Brooklyn Bridge of Park Slope Brooklyn using the name Brooklyn Bridge when I live across the street from it. The Brooklyn Bridge is 5 subway stops away- a 45 minute walk. Lies!!!!!

For a nice room and close to Independence Hall etc, its a good fit.
This is NOT a hotel for business travelers
Don't expect good service or clean facilities outside of the room
Don't expect practical wi-fi to do business with.

Next!!

Room Tip: Rooms Good Pool and Hot Tub Bad Service Bad Location Near Tourist Stuff Good Spooky Parking Gara...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tim y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello Tim y,
Thanks for sharing your recent experience. We are actually getting ready to remodel our exterior. We will be adding a new lighted canopy entrance as well as some artwork and additional wall sconces to improve the lighting, Thanks for recognizing our housekeeping team as they work hard to keep your room clean and comfortable. If you provide me with additional details on your reservation I can certainly see if you reserved one of our breakfast packages as well as discuss this directly with the front desk team members that checked you in. Our goal is to continually improve and your review certainly provides that opportunity. We were surprised about your internet comments as we have recently upgraded our service and have had many positive remarks about the connectivity. Our team does hope that if you’re in the area again you give us another opportunity to offer the service levels our team regularly strives towards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

It is in down town. The rooms are excellent since we as a family stayed in two rooms. The ambiance of the hotel is average. All attractions are near by. The restaurants are close by to have food at reasonable rates.
ganu 1979

Room Tip: Nothing in particular
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ganudadu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hello Ganudadu,
We are very glad that your family enjoyed the two rooms and that they were excellent and that you enjoyed our location. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Village, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The hotel was a great value for the money. The staff was helpful from the minute we walked in the door. We arrived early and we were allowed to leave our luggage for the bellman to put away for us until a room was ready. It freed us up so we could explore Philly. The room was nicely designed with a comfy chair and ottoman, a desk and a new flat screen t.v. This last part always makes my husband happy. Everything was immaculate and the toiletries were from Bath and Body Works. It was a great value for the money. Thanks to the staff of the Hilton Garden Inn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank ezuhlke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Hi Ezuhlke,
We are all very glad that you had such a great experience at our hotel as the team works very hard to make this happen. Thanks for recognizing our team and we all look forward to seeing you again when your travel plans bring you back to Philadelphia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel was very clean and conveniently located in downtown Philadelphia. We would have had an excellent stay had the rooms we had reserved been available. We were substituted into other rooms and had to speak to three different managers before we were able to be refunded for the mistake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Marylou B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Marylou,
Thanks for sharing your almost excellent experience and recognizing our cleaning efforts and location. I am glad that we were able to resolve the concern with the room accommodations and look forward to you returning so we can provide that excellent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Great View from the top floor even with evening showers. Within walking Distance to many historic attractions. Wish I had more free time to explorer the City. There also a Market on the same block you must visit yourself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jeremiah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Address: 1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing