We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Nearby Hotels
$271
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District(Philadelphia)(Great Value!)
$156
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$197
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$218
$203
Doubletree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$220
$199
Loews Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$189
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square(Philadelphia)
$196
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$148
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,112)
Filter reviews
2,112 results
Traveler rating
726
767
386
147
86
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
726
767
386
147
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe reading terminal marketacross the streetgreat locationfloor restaurantparking garagecenter cityjunior suitewithin walking distanceliberty belljefferson stationrestaurant stafftop floorflower showhotel is locatedindependence hallbusiness centerfront desk staff
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,460 - 1,465 of 2,112 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2013

GOOD:
Very clean
Everything seems pretty new
Staff friendly
Nice heated pool/gym area
Next to Reading Terminal Market
Walk to Chinatown or Historic district
2 free bottles of water
Cookies at check-in


BAD:
Beds very uncomfortable
Elevators not secured by key card to get to guest floors
Lobby open to anyone off street- while waiting for my husband a man walked in and started begging me for money, then sat down on sofa next to another guest who was reading and started begging her for money.
I notified front desk who said they would call security.
$36 to self park in garage next door

Would I stay here again?? I'm not sure...
It's convenient to Convention Ctr and other sites but not sure if the deal I got justifies the unsafe feeling I had all night worrying about anyone having access to guest floors and being pestered in the lobby.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank My4cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We are glad you had the opportunity to be our guest and share your experience. It is nice to see that our team was friendly and everything was very clean and that our location was convenient for your visit. We understand your concerns about downtown parking. Our hotel is considered very safe and is central to downtown and all that our city has to offer. Please let us know which room you were in so can have our maintenance team follow up and make the necessary repairs. We hope that do try us again so we can offer an even better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotel was clean and service was excellent. Everybody was very friendly and went out of the way to help us. Hotel was close to many shops - Macy's especially. We were also close to Hard Rock Cafe, which was a treat. We were especially close to Chinatown, but food in Philadelphia was generally very good.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Siew Ling T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

We are glad that you chose to spend your first time in Philadelphia at the Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City. We will certainly make sure to share your wonderful comments with our team as everyone works very hard to leave such positive impressions. We are glad that we were convenient to your travels and that our team was excellent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

The hotel was walking distance to historical sites, and conveniently next door to the Reading Terminal Market "glutton's paradise" (you have to go to the ultra-good and ultra-cheap Down Home Diner for breakfast). The Independence Hall was a splendor to look at-get your tour tickets online ahead of time-we got shut out! The Liberty Bell was ruined by excessive "political correctness" and only seemed to salute the women's/civil rights leaders of the 20th century-huh? Philadelphia was not attractive overall with few "tourist magnets" besides the obvious historical landmarks. We took WONDERFUL side trips to the Lancaster Amish country and Gettysburg-I recommend both terrific trips to all! The hotel rooms were very spacious, sparkling clean and comfortable-not much of a view, however. The pool and Jacuzzi were unusually pleasant . The parking at $36 was as expected! The breakfast buffet was terrific, but not a "freebie" for Hilton Hhonors guests as in other cities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoatMonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Friendly and professional staff. Hotel has been updated, so rooms were quite good except for terrible beds. Very soft and uncomfortable, almost felt like an inflatable bed!!

Wanted to try the restaurant in the evening, but it was closed for a wedding and didn't fancy sitting in a small conference room to the side. So dinner was a trip over the road to Wawa's.

Next to Reading Market which is great for food lovers, but closes at 6pm.

Probably wouldn't recommend it just because of the beds. If this doesn't bother you, it's a clean, central and reasonably located hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lesley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Lesley T,
Thank you for your feedback and for recognizing our friendly and professional team. We are sorry that we had to relocate our restaurant the evening you were with us and wish you had taken the opportunity to experience our menu as we are sure you have enjoyed your dinner. If you have an opportunity to let me know your room number so we can have our maintenance team make the necessary repairs to the adjustable bed that would be wonderful. We look forward to hearing back from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Booked an upgraded room as the beds were doubles only - junior suite - it was big and had 2 tvs. Plenty of room for 3 people and luggage.

The location was easy for hailing cabs, walking to the Market and around Chinatown. If you want to be downtown, this location is ideal.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShelleyC12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeff S, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Thanks for choosing to be our guest, we are glad our location was ideal and that you enjoyed the room layout for you and your 2 guests. We hope to see you again when your back to explore more of downtown Philadelphia.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews