We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice in Philly!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #37 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Reviewed April 29, 2008

Got this hotel for $60 a night for two nights.
It took us forever to get into our room, but when we did, it was worth it.
The service was excellent. The location was excellent. The only downside is that its a pain to get from the parking garage to the hotel. The elevator took forever. Parking is $25 a night and you have to park in the garage for the convention center next door.

Hotel has a small pool and weight room.
Quick check-in.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank LangStonR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,034)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,837 - 1,843 of 2,034 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2008

When I stayed at this hotel, the elevator in the parking garage didn't work. I had to walk down 5 levels in the garage - with luggage. When I complained to the front desk manager, I was told "it's not our garage" but she authorized a refund of the parking charge. The next day, when I checked out, the elevator still wasn't working and I was directed to a different elevator. That elevator took me to a different part of the garage - and once I figured that out, I had to CLIMB OVER A CONCRETE WALL to get to my car.

Since then I have made multiple complaints to Hilton Hotels. They just don't care. "Guest relations" kept referring my complaint back to the same front desk manager to whom I complained upon check in. She offered me "a weekend for two with breakfast" - but why would I ever go back to the same hotel? I persisted in my pursuit of an acknowlegement of my complaint and never got one, despite multiple emails and calls. Today I was hung up on by a person in "guest relations". I promise I was irritated but not rude or abusive.

Did you know that the supervisors in "guest relations" don't answer their phone? or return calls? Did you know that the only way to complain about Hilton Hotels is to contact "guest relations"?

Stay away. From all Hiltons. That's the only way to change their behavior.

BTW, I travel between 75 and 100 nights a year. I know hotels.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HiltonCustomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2008

Ok. The first observation is the entrance to the hotel is under a bridge or walkway and reminds me of port authority in NYC. So, the outside entrance is dark and has cheap stores across the street like a bus terminal. On the flip side, the location of the hotel is right around the corner from Chinatown with its Arch "hence Arch st.", across from the convention center with Reading Terminal Market is around the corner on the same block with interesting food shops and some gift stuff. But be warned that on weekdays Reading closes at 6pm...so no dinner options there -just breakfast and lunch.

Around the corner across the street near the Hard Rock Cafe is the Marriott, which would be a better stay to access the Reading market and Chinatown and get a "Brighter and Lighter" location. However, price played into our decision to come to Hilton Garden plus an indoor-pool with jacuzzi and a nice 10th floor restaurant that is bright and looks out over the city.

For families with young children coming for History tour, this is not recommended. It is too far a walk to Independence Hall through some ugly and smelly areas of Philly . The Holiday Inn in Old City seemed a better location, for an inexpensive family visit to Philly...but we couldn't get a reservation there. Also, noted is the Omni which is in a perfect location, but much more expensive than the Hilton Garden.

Hilton Garden is not a pretty location and it is a noisey location, with the hospital around the corner. The maid service was lacking and did not make our beds but just delivered clean towels, toiletries and emptied the garbage. Room in general was clean and noted was the upgrades on bedding and TVs. The Fan in the room was loud but worked to our advantage when we didn't want to listen to the street noises outside. As we were there just two nights and got the price we wanted this was fine. But would consider something closer to the Independence Visitor center and Old City next time.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank His2ryTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2008

I'll preface these comments by noting that I got this room for a rate of $55/night bidding for three-star on priceline. At that price, I can't really complain too much about the place. However, I usually bid for nicer properties on priceline, and after my experience here, I will definitely bid for a nicer (four star) property in Philadelphia.

The hotel was okay save for a couple of significant negatives -- the king size bed was worn out (in room 708 -- so ask for another room if you get that one checking in!) -- it was broken down in the middle, so there was a tendency for my significant other and I to roll downhill all night long. It definitely was not comfortable. After the first night, we called the front desk to see about switching rooms. They claimed to be all booked up, and offered a free breakfast voucher. Needless to say, the free breakfast voucher didn't make the broken down bed any more comfortable the following night! Nor did the place appear to be that full. TERRIBLE customer service.

On the first night (about 2am actually), we also got to experience what seemed like a party on the seventh floor -- loud shouting, doors slamming, all sorts of carrying on for 45 minutes or so. Real classy clientèle at this place on this evening.

On the plus side, our room was HUGE for a hotel in the center of a major city. The free wifi worked quite nicely. The large screen lcd TV was nice. And the location was okay (relatively easy access to the train to/from the airport, major attractions, and Reading terminal market -- although it's not in the greatest area).

But, those pluses hardly outweigh a terrible bed and service staff who don't seem to give a damn. This place definitely isn't worth the rack rate, and if you're using Priceline, I would highly recommend going for a four star and spending a few more bucks.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PubliusTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2008

This is an awesome hotel. Staff were friendly and helpful. Location could not be better - across from the station and convention center, and a short walk away from the amazing food of Chinatown. Although I got my room through Priceline, I was upgraded to a Junior Suite so I did have a huge room to myself. The views were nothing to write home about and perhaps the only negative of this hotel is the long walk from the elevators to your room!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank andrew23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2008

I found the Hilton Garden Inn to be in a spectacular location. Next to a wonderful market with every kind of food you can imagine, walking distance to great restaurants and buses that take you to all the attractions. The Hilton also provided a knowledgable bell hop that directed you wherever you needed to go. The hotel itself was immaculately clean, with spacious & modern rooms, great water pressure, flat screen TV and cumfy king beds that let you adjust the firmness on each side. The tasty breakfast buffet had a large array of breakfast food, pastries, breads and juices. Next time in Phili I will be sure to stay at this hotel again

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sandyprime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2008

Philadelphia was a quick pit stop on my journey to Washington in America and I only stayed for one night to see the historical sights at the Liberty Bell Centre and to check out the Philadelphia Museum of Art.

The hotel is located right by the Greyhound stop which was very handy plus all the historical sites are pretty close and at most need a bus ride (The Philadelphia Museum of Art is about a 20 minute walk)

The hotel itself is what you expect from any Hilton brand, super clean with a cosy lobby area but what I give this hotel extra credit for was its free 24 hour business centre where they have two PC’s for all types of need – not just internet use. This was great as I was able to upload pictures from my digital camera and send them to family at home while I was travelling the states.

The rooms where as you would expect - very clean with the basic amenities but as I was only staying overnight I didn’t pay too much attention to any special room extras.

Overall for one nights stay I was very happy and it proved to be an excellent and very comfortable pit stop for my travels. Highly recommended for short trips into this part of town.

  • Stayed: March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank mitchell916
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,320 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Address: 1100 Arch Street, On the corner of 11th Street and Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $129 - $364 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing