We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible sleep, greatbservice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #37 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Terrible sleep, greatbservice”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The hotel front desk clerks were amazingly nice, helpful in directions and transportation options. The maid was very responsive to the size of our party. The walls however are terribly thin and the sofa bed had to be the worst I have ever slept on. The location is ok but will only go back after a renovation. Loved the staff though!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi0517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    713
    341
    127
    76
See reviews for
527
366
133
620
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We did have some issues with the Hilton Garden Inn but they probably would have been resolved if we brought it to the front desk attention but I was too lazy. After a long day of moving my daughter to Philadelphia, for school, we choose to stay at this Hilton because it is right next to the Reading Terminal. Unfortunately for us, the Reading Terminal closes at 7:00 p.m. on Sunday's and was closed all day Monday because of Labor Day. By time we checked into the hotel on Sunday it was too late to eat at the Reading Terminal. We were so exhausted we just ate at a local Italian Restaurant.
Our bed was too soft and the control on the bed was broken. I am sure the Hilton would have moved us to another room if we asked but again we were too tired. Also, at 12:30 a.m. we were awaken by other hotel patrons screaming in the hall. We did not want a confrontation with these crazy people so we ignored it and ended up staying up for the next 30 minutes. The front desk said we should have called them to report the noise but we didn't. Again our fault.
Not sure if we would stay at this Hilton again. Too congested. It really is in the heart of things.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AprylK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Very nice room and great staff. The only bad part was the parking fee 31.00 a day ouch! Convenient to all the tourist attractions Independence Mall etc as well as restaurants and next door to the Reading Terminal Markets

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Fresh cookies at check-in/out counter! If you are lucky, we only caught it once. How do the counter folks stay skinny? Staff was universally pleasant (kudos to Natalie checked us in first night and passed on philly tourist tips, Eugene checked us out, and graveyard shift gent who checked us in) -- almost to the over-the-top level of cruise ship, where the cheeriness feels forced. I appreciate it. Had a recent stay at another downtown philly hotel marred by dour and crabby hotel staff, unpleasant. HGI wiped away the bad feelings about philly hotel hospitality.

Very nice and decent size business center room in the lobby for your office, internet, printing needs.

Family of 3, stayed 2 nights, 10 days apart. Did not try the 10th floor lounge/restaurant, except for the complimentary morning coffee... the view from the 10th isn't all that great, looking over top of commercial sprawl central philly. Why eat in a hotel when Reading Market is next door?

We had a room near the icemaker which was convenient for icing down sore joints and chilling drinks we brought outside. In-room fridge good for keeping outside drinks cool. The room is basic hotel, with nice office chair and desk, with nothing else particularly of note, which I consider good. I did not go to be pampered, I went to have low stress, relaxing rest, away from home, which I got.

The first night (8/18) the hotel was prepped for a big convention and was great. Clean and bright and up-to-date, wading pool (3 feet deep), hottub whirl pool, compact but fully stocked fitness room.

The following week (8/27), the place seemed more run down. The pool area was noticeable dirty, with residue at the bottom and around the pool (yuck!). The handle on toilet was very loose (reported it on check-out.) They where fumigating the 7th floor rooms, where we stayed... yuck yuck!

The location can't be beat -- right next to the East Market SEPTA train station (we took train from NYC), drug stores, China town, bus station, and Reading Market (#1 philly for eats). We avoided the attached parking lot by street parking in Chinatown overnight and early-bird parking at much cheaper parking lots just 1 or 2 streets away.

Some folks might be turned off by some of the shady looking characters hanging around. That is expected in urban centers near public transportation, which HGI is. We live in Manhattan, so they had no impact on us.

Room Tip: 7th floor has the pool, jacuzzi and fitness center.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenville,sc
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Nice central location,good parking,great for walking to china town and conv center. Reading market is next door for awesome food and beverages.....would by all means stay here again.
13th st restaurants are easy access and tour buses are located 1block away...Macy's etc...
Staff was very nice, housekeeping was great and we enjoyed a few cocktails in front of the gigantic windows in the lounge.

Room Tip: 10thfloor is awesome ....beds have adjustable dual settings,gret linens!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunrisemahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

OMG! This is the best hotel ever. If you go down the street, china town is there! Liberty bell, historical place, The mint(where they make money) I think its called the duck, umm, its a bus that goes on water, i dont know(writing this on ipod srry) lots of cool places. Oh!, and Ben franklins grave! YOU WILL LOVE THE HOTEL AND PHILADELPHIA!! Thanks for reading!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiddeecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I stayed 8 nights at this Hilton.

This hotel is in a good location - though it can be a bit smelly around the area because of the Market. The room is a decent size (had the king suite), but it's very dated, extremely uncomfortable bed (the firmness dial etc, did not do much for me). You can't jump on the bed after a long day, or else you'll hurt yourself. Even on the soft setting, it was hard. Got so many lumps and aches, not even funny.

The bathroom is very very small.

The pool is tiny - 3'6" with 6" of water missing - not much to swim in. The fitness room is small.
I would expect more space/machines for a hotel that has hundreds of rooms.

The staff was friendly, but they need to communicate better. I was told my room was not available when i got there early, only to get to my room and the maid told me it was ready ages ago. Not Cool.

Overall, it's an average hotel. I would stay elsewhere to be a bit more comfortable. Philly is a small city, so look at other options.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VesperGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#18 of 86 in Philadelphia
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#40 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Address: 1100 Arch Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107-2376
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#34 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#37 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 279
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton Garden Inn
Hilton Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing