We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT as great as they're saying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
98 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“NOT as great as they're saying”
Reviewed April 11, 2006

If you don't smoke, you have to hurry through the lobby cause the smoke is really thick. so you get to your room and you smell like a bar. the food is obviously french, so not that great in my opinion (no offense to the french!) - but the coffee is good. rooms are great but that smoke is a killer!

  • Stayed February 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SFBayMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,906
    924
    212
    86
    49
See reviews for
525
1,157
195
842
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2006

Spent one night here with my husband this past weekend. Very nice, luxurious hotel room. Fastest check-in service I've ever seen. I booked thru Sofitel's website and got a good price for a center city Philadelphia Sat. night stay. It literally took 30 seconds for me to check-in while my husband got our car parked with the valet. Our room was beautiful - very modern, lots of natural wood accents and big built-in closet. The bed was so soft with a fluffy, overfilled down comforter and pillows but the mattress was supportive also. The bathroom was very large, especially for a downtown hotel. A large glass-enclosed shower and seperate Jacuzzi tub. Live bamboo and fresh smelling soaps were nice touches. The bedroom and bath were VERY clean.

We had a drink at the bar late night - pretty quiet, just a few people having drinks and conversation. Breakfast the next morning was a buffet with plenty of choices, an omelette and waffle station, etc. A whole pot of delicious French-pressed coffee was brought to my table. We thought this breakfast was a good value at $21 per person. We found out there was a large convention in town this weekend with many hotels around town sold-out. Our hotel never felt crowded, hectic or loud.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel to my family and friends. The price we paid was very reasonable - you can't find a better place to stay in Philly.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 637palmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2006

This was my second stay at this hotel. My first stay was in July 2005. I don't know if it was coincidence on not, but they gave me the same room both times, which was fine because the room was a huge corner room and very nice.

Philadelphia is my home town, and I come back here a few times a year and have stayed in almost all the major hotels here, with the exception of the Four Seasons. The Sofitel is far and beyond the best hotel in the city that I've stayed in. The beds are extremely comfortable, the bathrooms very big with a tub and shower, with nice soaps and shampoos. I wouldn't stay anywhere else now.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank tommydcanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley CA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2006

Huge and comfortable bed, nice room, great bathroom, and a nice lunch in the restaurant. Pity I was there only one night.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank drlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2006

First the positives. This is a great hotel with friendly staff, wonderful rooms, and great location. The positive reviews on Trip Advisor are accurate. The bed was the most comfortable in a hotel that I have ever found. The bathroom has both a tub and a shower. Extra perks like robes and bottled water are nice. That being said, this hotel does have a few minor quirks.

First, be prepared to pay $10 daily for in-room internet service. Secondly, and this is a small point, the cable stations are sub-par (no Food TV, no HGTV etc..). The final quirk is the resturant, Chez Colette. We walked in on a week night, and it was practically empty. Only 2 tables were filled. While the food was good (not great) and the service pleasant, it was hard to really enjoy it surrounded by such silence. The resturant has potential; but I would not go out of my way to eat there. The price tag was a bit steep too, at $170 for two. With so many great resturants in Philly, I would spend my food budget elsewhere.

Breakfast at Chez Colette is also pricey. If you want a quick bagel/muffin/coffee in the morning, check out Le Bus around the corner. They also have salads for a light lunch.

Overall, this hotel deserves its high ratings. Do not hesitate to give the Philly Sofitel a try. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Tristan512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa monica, ca
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2006

This was my second time staying at the Sofitel and from now on this is my choice hotel when in Philadelphia! From the conceirge service to the room service everything was fantastic.
As mentioned before, the beds are very comfy and the bathrooms have all the amenities you would need. The price for room service is a bit high but good food, especially the breakfast french toast.
I have stayed at the Ritz Carlton before and was greatly disappointed being there so from now on the Sofitel it is!

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rock412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2006

Had a Jr. Suite, it was nice but really expected more.
The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom adequate. But the sitting room furniture very unconfortable. I would have preffered in room coffee service as well.
The staff very nice and friendly.
Waiting time to get car about 15 minutes, not bad.
Parking at $30.00 a bit much however.

I would stay there again, but would look for something more comfortable with a better sitting room next time.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank dkroberson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4,680 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing