We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, avoid the breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
DazScot, Glasgow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, avoid the breakfast.”
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Enjoyed the hotel, room, bar, but the breakfast was dire. Half an hour after sitting down for breakfast I was eventually served some food. There were only about half a dozen tables with people on them so it was hardly the busiest time. That to me is unacceptable. The food was not great. Burnt sausages, undercooked eggs. I'll never eat in there again and would recommend you find somewhere else for breakfast.

Room Tip: Have breakfast anywhere but in Chez Colette at hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DazScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Bonjour DazScot,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay with us here at the Sofitel Philadelphia. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us from your guest room appointments to experience in Liberte, our urban chic lounge. It is disappointing that your experience in Chez Colette did not meet your expectations, as this is certainly not customary of our service. I hope that you may return to dine with us again for breakfast to enjoy the magnifique experience that is our standard.

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,920
    931
    212
    87
    49
See reviews for
527
1,166
195
851
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2014

The title of the review pretty much sums up our recent weekend stay at Sofitel Philadelphia. The hotel staff is exceptionally friendly and forthcoming in every conceivable way, and the sumptuous bed frankly made us consider whether sleeping through the stay was in fact the best alternative.

The only downfall is the pricey room service menu, would probably suggest heading to one of the many fine restaurants nearby (Capital Grille on Chestnut Street serves some superb rib eye steaks!).

Also, a particular thank you to Jean-Christophe at the concierge's desk who made our stay even more memorable having recommended Barnes Museum.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mantelstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Bonjour Mantelstone,

I am pleased that you particularly enjoyed our specially designed SoBed during your stay. Here in our downtown location there are many attractions, restauraunts and shopping just steps from our front door and it is a delight that you were able to enjoy this feature and visit the Barnes Museum.

I thank you for sharing a review of your stay with us, and we look forward to your future arrivals!

Kind regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Cucamonga, California
2 reviews
Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I came here with my family to visit the University of Penn. Its a 30 minute walk to Penn and a 10 minute drive. We took an uber cab and its $17 from the Sofitel to Penn. A little far... but if you're going dlwntown, it's smack dab in the middle. Overall, it was a clean and relatively recently renovated hotel.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank az0327
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Bonjour az0327,

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us while here in Philadelphia visiting UPenn. Thank you for taking the time to share a review! We look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel.

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The front desk was always very helpful with anything we needed with the room or holding our luggage. The valet was very quick. The rooms were very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The atmosphere of the lobby was quiet and calm, there weren't that many places to sit down while you wait for your room. They were able to put our two rooms next to each other.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ali W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Bonjour Ali W,

It is my pleasure that we were able to provide you with helpful, prompt service throughout your stay and that you enjoyed clean and comfortable room accommodations. We excitedly await your future arrivals to the Sofitel Philadelphia.

Kind regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay here, the location was just great for walking around the city shopping, sight-seeing and dining.
Loved the market in Rittenhouse Square on Saturday just a few blocks from the Sofitel and there were lots of great restaurants within a couple of blocks.

The bar was a welcoming place to have a cool one and some snacks after a hot day of slogging around being tourists, Elyn, our waitress would welcome us back like long lost friends and was helpful and interested in what we had been doing. The drinks and snacks were delicious especially the non alcoholic Roland Garros. ( I think it was called that, had basil and cucumber syrup...refreshing!)

Breakfast was delicious every morning and service was good.

Anthony on the front desk was welcoming and went out of his way to be helpful. An asset to the hotel. The doormen were unfailingly cheerful and helpful.

Our room was a junior suite, very comfy beds, even the pull out couch my friend slept on.
The decor is perhaps due for a freshen up but this in no way detracted from our favourable opinion of the hotel.

Green Features: I did not see any re-cycling bins anywhere for all the water bottles and "to-go" coffee cups but perhaps housekeeping sorts it out behind the scenes. I would like to see more bins for re cycling and not just at the Sofitel.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paulalovestotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Bonjour Paulalovestotravel,

Thank you for sharing such a lovely review detailing all that we are proud to offer here at the Sofitel Philadelphia! I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay from the comfort of your Junior Suite accommodations to the delicacies and exemplary service offered throughout your stay. We look forward to your future arrivals!

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

booked room for brother's 10th wedding anniversary and told hotel in advance. Paid extra to have champagne in room as a surprise. The champagne was not provided. Email request to pay in advance ignored.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank diplobecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Bonjour diplobecky,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback as it enables us to continuously enhance the services we offer our guests. We take pride in our passion for service excellence, and I am deeply disappointed to read that your experience with us did not meet your expectations. I hope that you return to the Sofitel Philadelphia to experience the truly magnifique experience that is our custom.

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a working weekend. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is friendly and helpful, the rooms are well appointed and super comfortable and the lobby bar is excellent. The food was very good and they have an excellent in-room menu meal deal that is economical and offers delicious "fun food." I love this hotel and will try this brand in other locations.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suddenlysingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Bonjour suddenlysingle,

I am delighted that we were able to provide you with a comfortable stay and delicious delicacies from Liberte to In-Room Dining during your working weekend here at the Sofitel. We excitedly await your future arrivals!

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,785 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing