We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great First Impression”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 14, 2014

This was my first stay at a Sofitel hotel. The warm welcome extended by Guest Services manager Sonia Dimicoli was very much appreciated and set the tone for our entire stay with Sofitel. We were celebrating my wife's birthday during her first visit to Philadelphia. The pleasant amenities offered by the hotel and Ms. Dimicoli, from the upgraded room to the complimentary dessert and birthday wishes, were certainly a nice touch that helped to make our visit a memorable one. Also, the Doorman and Valet staff were very genial and never missed an opportunity to greet us with a smile upon entering or leaving the hotel. My wife and I travel quite a bit and are very discriminating when it comes to hotel accommodations. This experience certainly surpassed our expectations.

Thank you Sofitel! We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamaalDaveed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Bonjour JamaalDaveed,

I am truly proud that Sonia, our doormen and valet staff provided you with the exemplary level of service and smiles we have become known for and created a memorable stay to celebrate your wife's birthday and first trip to the City of Brotherly Love!!

We excitedly await your next arrival.

Au revoir,
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,393)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,619 - 1,625 of 3,393 reviews

Reviewed April 14, 2014

Stayed here whilst visiting our son in Philadelphia. A good central location and a comfortable suite. Air conditioning did not work properly, but we didn't realise this until our son pointed it out, as were there in March so didn't need it! Some items in bathroom had not been replaced when the room had been cleaned prior to our stay.
Overall, I would say a very good hotel, just needs a little bit of attention to detail. Very comfortable bed though!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Bonjour SJM8!

We aim to provide a comfortable stay for each of our guests, and I am delighted we were able to provide this for you in one of our suites while you were visiting your son!

Thank you for providing your feedback, as it will assist all of our ambassadors as we continuously strive to provide the exemplary level of service that is our custom.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon!

A bientôt!
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel staff are helpful, my room was spotless and beautifully appointed. Very functional and complete. Keurig coffee maker that also makes wonderful hot tea. The shower was large, the bathroom was all marble surfaces with ample towels. My room had two large closets, one with hangers and another with shelves for folded clothing. The restaurants in the lobby served excellent food in a delightful ambiance and their staff were attentive and well spoken.

The in-room air conditioning was a little disappointing though. On the seventh floor, my room was very cold when I returned to retire at the end of the day. Raising the set temperature on the thermostat did not result in warmer air being blown into the room. In fact, one night it was so cold that after shivering for almost an hour I got up, donned one of the beautiful cotton robes provided and wore that to bed. Around 3am the warmth of the room woke me and I had to set the thermostat back down to something reasonable and remove the robe. My visit was at the beginning of April, Springtime, and the external weather was in the 60'sF or around 20deg. C during the early evening.

The location of the hotel is very central to most things in Downtown Philadelphia within a block or two of some excellent restaurants.

Room Tip: The rooms don't have a refrigerator or a microwave so be sure to leverage the room service for y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bwanagary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear wanagary,

What a delight to read that you were able to indulge in all that we offer in each of our guestrooms including a Keurig coffeemaker, large bathroom with separate shower and soaking tub, and ample large, soft towels. I thank you for pointing out the "excellent food in a delightful ambiance" that you enjoyed in our restaurants.

It is a disappointment to learn of your experience with temperature control in your room, and please be assured this is certainly not our custom.

We look forward to your future stays with us here in our downtown location!

Au revoir,
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

I stayed here for both business and with family for fun over the Christmas holidays 2013. The rooms were very nice, as I would expect from a Sofitel. We got a nice rate so value was excellent. The hotel restaurant was great for a quick breakfast and the service was very good. The valet parking was pricey but I expect that in Philadelphia. The hotel is near Rittenhouse Square with a lot to do. The only minor annoyance was that I recall the front desk staff wasn't the friendliest but overall a nice stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terry A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Bonjour Terry A,

We genuinely love to take care of our guests, whether the stay be for business or leisure. I am delighted that you have chosen to stay with us for both!

Thank you for pointing out Chez Colette as being great for a quick breakfast and very good service.

We look forward to your future stays with us at the Sofitel Philadelphia.

A bientôt!
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank NickNicoleD
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

Stayed at the Sofitel for 4 days. It's a nice hotel. Beautifully designed and decorated. The rooms are nice, with good pillows (not the too thick, too hard foam ones that most hotels have), and feather bed topper. But it's a city hotel, so crappy views (the alley!); one tiny window; no drawers at all(!!!); a shower that barely ran, the door wouldn't close and was hard to regulate; bad lighting; and the most expensive OK breakfast I've had in quite a while.

Don't get me wrong, the staff were very nice (and all spoke one or two words of French :-) But for a very expensive hotel, it didn't offer much to justify the price. The fitness room was great; lots of equipment. There are some good restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank daxenpax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear daxenpax,

I'm glad you enjoyed much of what we have to offer here by utilizing our SoFit fitness center and relaxing in our specially designed bed after enjoying our downtown location. I appreciate you sharing your comments so that we may continuously provide enhancements to create the most magnifique experience possible for our guests!

We hope to welcome you back to enjoy the Sofitel Philadelphia again soon.

Warm regards,
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

The service was the best I ever had at a hotel. I mentioned in passing that I was celebrating a birthday, and the next thing I knew there was a complimentary basket delivered to me room. We had an issue with the TV, and they were up in our room to fix it within 2 minutes. Everybody went out of their way to make us feel special.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JK4138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Bonjour JK4138,

All of our guests truly are special, and I am delighted you enjoyed a magnifique stay with us. We love to surprise our guests, especially on an occasion as exciting as a birthday! Thank you for sharing your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Merci!
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,619 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $156 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Philadelphia’s French Quarter and picturesque Rittenhouse Square in Center City, Sofitel Philadelphia blends French elegance with American style in the City of Brotherly Love. Our hotel’s unique style and casual sophistication starts in our breathtaking lobby, and the eclectic elegance shines in rooms and suites infused with warmth and filled with luxurious amenities. Enjoy lovely city views, French-inspired dishes, hand-crafted cocktails, and our relaxed ambiance, and let our accommodating staff tend to your every need. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, Sofitel Philadelphia provides a refined environment in which to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing