We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
228 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice Choice”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We wanted to be around the Rittenhouse Square area and chose the Sofitel because of a deal on Jetsetter.
The hotel did not disappoint. Excellent location in the middle of all the restaurants and shopping. Large, clean and comfy room and bathroom. Nice bath amenities. Modern decor.
Good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aluor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Bonjour Aluor,

It is our delight that you chose to stay with us here in the heart of Center City. We truly appreciate your feedback, and hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon!

Merci,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,920
    931
    212
    87
    49
See reviews for
527
1,166
195
851
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ROMSEY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times now .the beds are so comfortable you get a really good nights sleep .the staff are friendly and approachable they are also efficient.after a recommendation from the chatty waitress I had the marinated prawns a healthy option which turned out to be filling and a great relief to have a diet meal without salad

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Bonjour Sarah P,

I am pleased you have been able to indulge in the SoBed we offer here in each of our guest rooms. A lot of time and design went in to creating the SoBed to provide a perfect night's sleep. I truly appreciate you taking the time to share your comments, and hope that we may welcome you back again soon!

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
164 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We planned a trip to the Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel some weeks in advance and were not disappointed on arrival. We utilized valet parking, as parking in the immediate area of this hotel is virtually non-existent. Be prepared to pay dearly for this convenience $35.00 for parking and a $7.00 tax on this service, per night. Entering the lobby we immediately encountered numerous glass and metal floor lanterns with large candles burning inside, all along the perimeter of the lobby. It was a good balance with the modern chic décor. The room was extremely comfortable with a great bed, pillows and linens. Normal furnishings included a white leatherette chair and foot rest, table, desk, TV/mini bar cabinet and night stands. A Bose radio provided very good music for us. The mini bar fridge was stuffed into the bottom of the TV cabinet and was impossible to open without all the contents spilling out when ever the door was opened. Very disappointed and an amateurish setup. Since there are no dressers or drawers, all clothes storage is in a large closet with no shelves. The adjacent closet has only one shelf too slight in height/ space to be useful. The other shelves had a safe (wrong height) and one with a coffee maker that never worked and glasses and such that were really hard to access. Neither closet had any lighting and this, along with the poor interior layout of the closets was another negative. Too bad, it would take only a few minor upgrades to make these storage areas accessible. The bathroom had a separate shower and tub and these were well appreciated. The room experience, quiet and comfort was good overall even thought the closet, broken coffee maker and mini bar were duds, One last thing. When we left we were descended upon by every valet, bag handler and bell hop tripping over each other for a tip. Not a very well trained way for staff to act.

Room Tip: Arrive early in the day for a room with a view and ask to see your room first...to make sure it suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gavin m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear gavin m,

I am pleased that upon your arrival you were welcoming by our beautiful candle lit lobby as a result of our daily Candle Lighting Ritual.

I want to thank you for sharing your detailed comments, as they will assist us as we continuously provide updates to the property.

We truly hope to welcome you back in the future!

Warm regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful hotel. Very clean and everyone was super friendly. This would have been 5 stars if we didn't wait to 45 minutes for eggs Benedict! 45 minutes. It was crazy. Sure every one was polite, but if they knew they were that backed up why not tell us when we ordered the food? We could have eaten the buffet. We prepaid for the breakfast so we felt stuck. The overall service was slow slow slow, but again, clean and beautiful! Will go back but not get breakfast deal.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KellysGirl0805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Bonjour KellysGirl0805,

Thank you for commenting on the beauty of our hotel and friendliness of our staff.

I am disappointed to read about the time that you experienced waiting for breakfast, and assure you this is not up to our standard. Your comments will be reviewed with the ambassadors in Chez Colette and serve as a tool as we continue to train our ambassadors to provide the most magnifique experience possible.

We all truly look forward to welcoming you back, and hope that we may indulge you in the high level of service in Chez Colette that we have become customarily known for.

Best regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel that is in a great location in the centre of town. rooms are large and very comfortable and the light choice breakfast was a pleasant surprise. The gym does need some work and while I know that the Sofitel is a French company the requirement for staff to say hello and pleasantries in French is just strange.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear gecko_sydney,

The De-Light options on our menus certainly have become a favorite for our guests as they offer the perfect balance of a healthy choice to provide energy for a busy day in Philadephia while also containing delicious flavors to satisfy the palate.

Thank you for sharing your comments, and I hope that we may welcome you back in the future for another business (or leisure!) trip.

Warm regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We got a great deal from Jetsetter.com and stayed in the Superior King room on the last day of my 2nd anniversary trip. What a nice and cozy stay to complete our trip with a smile! Valet/bellman greeted us in French (since Sofitel is a France-based hotel branch). Front desk staff was very friendly. Bedroom was very spacious and bathroom is gorgeous! Many modern and chic art decorations were flowing around the entire suite. Furniture and amenities were extremely clean. The bed was super cozy and comfortable. We ordered room service. The food arrived in 30 minutes, good portion and quality. The hotel has great location within walking distance to many shops and nice restaurants. Here is something to note if you are concerned about parking. They charge around $40/day including taxes, but they allow you leave the vehicle with them until 6pm on the check-out day.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TailYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear TailYY,

Happy Anniversary! It is always our pleasure when our guests share such a special experience with us.

I want to thank you for pointing out our valet parking. Our rates are indeed competitive, but like all of our services we add an extra and special value for our guests, such as leaving a vehicle until 6pm on the day of check-out, and having the ability to take the car out and back in unlimited amounts of times throughout a stay for no extra charge.

Once again, I want to thank you for allowing us the opportunity to be a part of such a special experience, and I truly hpoe that we may be welcoming you back again soon.

Merci!
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,786 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing