We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Notch Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Yorktown Heights, New York, Usa
1 review
“Top Notch Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013

From check in to rooms to bar to restaurant, hotel offered a very pleasant experience. Would have liked to have more time to fully experience the hotel and the area, which seemed very nice, but this was a short business trip. Will try again for leisure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank stinky41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Bonjour stinky41,

Thank you very much for the wonderful 5 star review! We truly look forward to welcoming you back for a leisure trip in the future for you to explore our exciting downtown area and all that our hotel has to offer.

Sincerely,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,890
    917
    210
    86
    49
See reviews for
522
1,144
194
837
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
104 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

We recently spent two nights at the Sofitel in downtown Philly. The area felt very safe, the hotel seemed to be central to all we wanted to accomplish. The room was a Junior Seat and when we opened the door of the room it presented very well. The beds were very comfortable as well as the pillows. We enjoyed closing the door to give each sleeping area some privacy. The room was beautifully decorated,and comfortable. This hotel also has free wifi! We felt very welcomed from the first steps from the cab to the reception desk. Very welcoming. The foyer of the hotel
had a beautiful display of fresh flowers by the elevators, so cheery each time you came off or enter the elevators. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seven7up
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Bonjour seven7up!

It was a lovely choice to stay in one of our Junior Suites as a family of three. The design of the room allows for the luxury of more space to enjoy together, while still being able to have privacy between the two sleeping areas at night.

I am also very pleased that you enjoyed the flowers in the lobby, as they are part of our Sofitel culture. We take pride in displaying beautiful botanicals, and I thank you for commenting on them.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Whether it is the hand lotion, the shampoo, or the towels, everything in the room is luxurious. This hotel is wonderfully located as well. Close to my meetings, close to tourist attractions. The staff is very competent. The food in the restaurant is good. My only complaint, but this is true of all hotels these days, is that the room is a bit dark despite the number of lamps in the room. Since I am not paying for this, I don't know the price here.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank art-travelerNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Bonjour art-travelerNewYork,

I am pleased you were able to enjoy our luxurious ambiance while travelling on business. Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Best regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent stay. We stayed five nights and everyone at hotel did a wonderful job making our stay one of the best. The room was always cleaned prior to our return and they always restocked shampoos, etc. It was nice having a separate tub and shower and the bathrobes were soft and great to have in the room. A nice size room with a Bose radio that we were able to dock our iPad and listen to our music! Bottled water for the coffee was appreciated. We definitely will be back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear trishh1,

It is lovely you were able to enjoy the array of amenities we offer in the guest rooms, and I thank you for sharing your comments. I will be sure to share your kind words about the level of service our housekeeping ambassadors provided throughout your stay.

We all look forward to welcoming you back for another excellent stay!

Warmest regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina, Usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

This was my first trip to Philly and it could not have been more perfect. From the staff to the bath to the linens to the robes to the room service, I could not have asked for a better experience. Love

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rowe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Rowe C,

What a delight to read your post! I hope that your first trip to Philly is not your last, as we would love to welcome you back again for another wonderful stay.

Merci beaucoup!

Best regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

I normally stay at Marriott hotels but since it was through work and it was $10 cheaper, I was forced to stay at Sofitel. And i am glad I did. Beautiful lobby and room, great service, and the staff was top notch. I slept like a baby in the ultra comfy bed. If in downtown Philly, I highly recommend the Sofitel. And the price could not be beat!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skatz927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Bonjour skatz927,

It is our delight that you stayed with us during your business trip to Philly! We truly appreciate the recommendation and hope to welcome you back for your next business (and leisure!) trips to Philadelphia.

Warm regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Worth, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The Center CIty location is very convenient to shopping and dining. We really enjoyed the service. The lounge area is lovely though the service there tended to be slow. The service in the restaurant for breakfast on the other hand was fantastic. They offered health conscious meals for breakfast which we all appreciated! (Saved our calories for other meals.) The rooms were spacious and the bed was very comfortable. Overall a very pleasant stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rkfeeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear rkfeeley,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review!

I am pleased you were able to indulge in breakfast with us during your stay. Indeed, both Chez Colette and Liberte offer unique health conscious delicacies for when you prefer a lighter meal.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing