We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Center City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 17, 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank lynda922
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,810 - 1,816 of 3,398 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

We love the touch of France from the moment you are greeted at the entrance of the hotel . Friendly , French greetings as you arrive to this lovely vacation spot . We highly recommend staying here and enjoying the sitting room at the bar . The location of the hotel is excellent with all of the fabulous things to do in Philadelphia right out the door . Girls , if you like to shop , this is the place to be . Take a Junior Suite , it is well worth it , feeling as if you are in your own home . We never bother with any other hotel in the city as we so enjoy this one .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jwt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Bonjour jwt123,

What a wonderful review!

Our ambassadors strive to create an experience for each of our guests that blends to comfort of being at home with the exquisite feeling of being elsewhere, and I am pleased we have been given the opportunity to indulge you in this.

We all truly look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you.

Warmest regards,
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Use of French by those who have gooten no closer to France than the morning's French Toast is a little hokey. That said, the service is first class, and the Junior Suite well worth the extra $$$. The food is also first rate (outstanding frittes!), and suprisingly affordable.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank FoodSavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

FoodSavant,

It is important to us here at the Sofitel Philadelphia to blend French elegance with American style to create a uniquely refined atmosphere for each of our guests. Our ambassadors embrace this and warmly greet our guests with an appreciation for the French culture. I am so pleased you enjoyed our first class service, and we look forward to your return to indulge you in more of our delicacies from Chez Colette and Liberte.

Warm regards,
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

I just stayed at the Sofitel in Philadelphia over the weekend. Its a beautiful hotel, and the staff is amazing. Its located in the french quarter, right in Center City. You can walk to restaurants, shopping, etc. I would definately recommend this hotel to anyone. this was my first trip to Philadelphia, I will be back for sure!

Room Tip: We chose a room with a king size bed :) room was very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darlene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Dear Darlene S,

I'm so pleased you were able to enjoy your first trip to Philadelphia and that you shared that experience with us at the Sofitel! Our downtown location certainly offers a wonderful selection of destinations and activities just steps from our door. Whether it is your first time visting, or your hundredth, there is always something new that our concierge or ambassadors would be delighted to recommend.

We excitedly await your return!

Sincerely,
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel was awesome!
Location is the bomb all surrounding area consists of shopping and eating and drinks SPELLING GOOD TIMES! Very safe area.
We had Mexican food, oops forgot the name of it. Located across the street from a Japanese influenced restaurant and it sits on the corner?
The hotel staff esp FAUSTINA ( lil ms France) was extremely nice and very professional.
The beds were AWESOME AS WELL. everything was memorable!!!!

Room Tip: We did bidding on PRICELINE for a 4-5 star hotel and bam! There is was. We were on a higher floor a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chica0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Bonjour chica0,

Thank you for the "totally awesome" five star review! I am delighted your bidding lead you to us. Indeed our downtown location offers so many exciting things to do, and our specially designed SoBeds are awaiting your return to provide a supreme sleep experience. I will be sure to relay your kind words to Faustine, and I hope that we all may welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

A very nice greeting from the cab door, up through the front dest. Room on the top floor was very nice, perfectly stocked, with nothing missing. Staff in the restaurant was extremely professional and efficient. Room service seemed a bit pricy for breakfast, but was excellent and right on time. Bellman recommended the Continental for dinner, which was a great choice. Meeting room was kept at a comfortable temperature, with ample room, and efficient staff. I would be sure to return for my next trip to Philadelphia!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank HappySpaMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Dear HappySpaMom,

It was a pleasure to read your review! Our ambassadors have a passion for excellence and aim to provide each of our guests with a unique and memorable experience. I am so pleased we were able to provide this for you, and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel!

À bientôt!
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Friendly, attentive staff, clean comfortable rooms, good location. We didn't try the restaurant/bar, looked nice though. My wife liked the shower/hair products provided in the bathroom. Everything was nice. Last year we stayed at Hotel Monaco for a weekend...that was more our speed. If we were staying near Rittenhouse Square again, might try Hotel Palomar.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Bonjour SteveFinn,

I am pleased your wife was able to enjoy some of our luxurious amenities in the Lanvin bath products provided in our rooms and you had an enjoyable stay. Our goal is to provide each of our guests with a uniquely personal and elegant experience.

I hope that upon your return to Philadelphia we remain your choice, even if just for a visit to try out our wonderful Liberte Urban Chic Lounge.

Warm regards,
Vincent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,620 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $157 - $393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Philadelphia’s French Quarter and picturesque Rittenhouse Square in Center City, Sofitel Philadelphia blends French elegance with American style in the City of Brotherly Love. Our hotel’s unique style and casual sophistication starts in our breathtaking lobby, and the eclectic elegance shines in rooms and suites infused with warmth and filled with luxurious amenities. Enjoy lovely city views, French-inspired dishes, hand-crafted cocktails, and our relaxed ambiance, and let our accommodating staff tend to your every need. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, Sofitel Philadelphia provides a refined environment in which to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing