We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and well located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Nice and well located”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Everything was good about this hotel, we even got upgraded to a nice and spacious suite, and given a welcome dring with petite furs. Only reason for the 4 stars is that furniture, and specially doors (inside and outside the rooms), were all badly scratched, and made it all looked bad.
Staff was very friendly and attentive.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lovecraft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Bonjour Lovecraft,

I'm so pleased you enjoyed an upgrade and welcome amenity. We truly love to indulge our guests!

We all look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,948
    942
    216
    90
    50
See reviews for
539
1,184
198
860
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This is a good hotel for business. The location is perfect. The concierge was very helpful in arranging transportation from and to the airport. I was upgraded to a junior suite, which was very spacious and nicely decorated. I had stayed there a few years ago, however, and the rooms are showing wear and tear. Housekeeping was also a bit of an issue. When I checked in there was stuff on the floor left from the previous guest (and some socks in the closet).

Room service is fine, and breakfast is very good - although the restaurant lacks atmosphere.
The gym is good as well, with the caveat that it was absolutely freezing in there and the temperature was not adjusted even I called to ask for it to be done.

Overall, I had a pleasant and uneventful stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Maria M,

I want to thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Your comments will help us as we continue to make enhancements to our hotel. I am disappointed to hear about your experience with housekeeping, as that is certainly not our standard and will be addressed.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the future to create the magnifique experience we have become customarily known for.

Warmest regards,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freiburg im Breisgau, Germany
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Staying for several days due to a business trip, I experienced a low grade of Sofitel Style & Quality. In particular rooms are more Middle West than French style and breackfast as well as lunch snacks did not taste. Service was a little bit bored, too. Though stay was nice, Sofitel Phil staff could and should do better to keep 4*.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank g b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Dear g b,

I am disappointed that your stay with us was missing excellence. Thank you for sharing your comments, as your feedback will help us continue to grow and provide a luxury experience for each of our guests.

I hope that we may welcome you back in the future to regain your trust in our property and deliver the excellent level of service that is our standard.

All my best,
Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2013

I was in philadelphia for business and stayed in the Sofitel for 4 nights. It was a great experience. The hotel is perfectly situated in the middle of everything. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The concierge was a great help for me for reservation and advice. The room service was perfect. I had once a late dinner in my room and it was as good as in a restaurant. A great number of restaurants are all around it. I would recommend it for everybody.

Room Tip: I was on the 7th floor without any noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nadim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Nadim M,

I am so pleased you found everything to your liking and we were able to indulge you in a wonderful late night dinner from room service. Be sure to stop in Chez Colette and Liberte during your next visit with us to experience more of what our Celebrity Chef Jim Coleman has prepared!

Thank you for sharing your experience and we all look forward to welcoming you back.

Au revoir,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

My wife and I travel to Philadelphia 3 to 4 times each year and we love the Riitenhouse Square area. This was our first stay at the Sofitel but it will not be our last. The level of service at this property from pulling up for valet to checking in is nothing short of Excellent. The entire staff should feel proud of the wonderful job that they do at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Bonjour marc s,

I am so pleased you decided to stay with us!

The Rittenhouse Square area is indeed a wonderful location, and I hope that upon your return you will visit our concierge who would delight in finding you additional areas to explore that are convenient to our hotel as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel during your next visit to Philly!

Sincerely,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Excellent location. Spacious room and bath. Pillows and comforter, great.
All staff were well trained, helpful and courteous.
Conceirge service was great as were parking attendants.
Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Asked for a quiet location and they did excellent job with this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Erin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Bonjour Erin O,

What an amazing 5 star review!

I am pleased you were able to enjoy the busy downtown location while still returning to one of our quiet guest rooms.

Thank you for sharing your experience, and we all look forward to having you back!

Warmest regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Sofitel is pricey, but any city hotel is high priced. We were surprised to find the rooms absolutely elegant. Bathrooms were quite large so a couple can easily get ready in the morning. The restaurant is very good, whether for breakfast or dinner, and they have a very nice bar area with a lot of room for an evening drink. The bartenders make better drinks than many of the local bars that we frequented.

Parking is $40, it is valet. It does take a while to get into the hotel front drive to drop your car to the valet and luggage to the bell hop because there isn't much room. I would definitely stay there again. Great location, walking distance to many shops and attractions, and a short cab ride to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joepulitzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincent V, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Bonjour,

Thank you for giving a wonderful 5 star review!

We aim to pamper each of our guests from "rooms to cuisine", and I am so pleased you were able to enjoy. We all look forward to your next stay!

Best regards,

Vincent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,040 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,269 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing