We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sofitel Philadelphia
Nearby Hotels
The Independent Hotel(Philadelphia)
$242
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$220
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Wyndham Philadelphia Historic District(Philadelphia)(Great Value!)
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$236
$208
Hilton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square(Philadelphia)
$206
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$349
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$265
$242
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (3,463)
Filter reviews
3,463 results
Traveler rating
2,081
985
248
96
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,081
985
248
96
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrittenhouse squarechez colettejunior suiteroom serviceturn down servicevalet parkingcomfortable bedcenter cityvery nice hotelfour seasonscentral locationlobby barrooms are largefew blocksliberty bellbonjourlanvin
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,918 - 1,923 of 3,463 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

From the moment we entered the Sofitel we experience superior service, concern, helpfulness and overall perfect hotel hospitality. The room was beautiful, large, perfectly clean. The bed was super comfy, and the bathroom was gorgeous. When we had to check in foe airlines tickets the concierge and/desk person couldn't be more helpful. It was a great positive experience.

Room Tip: We did not have a great view, but we were busy sightseeing
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Mike L,

I am delighted that you had such a great experience staying with us on your recent trip to Philadelphia! Service has always been one of our top priorities and I am so very glad that we provided the superior service that made your stay memorable. I am very pleased that you enjoyed our large rooms and marble bathrooms with separate tub and shower that we feel really create a luxury environment when staying at a hotel. I am also always so happy to hear praise of our exclusive So-Beds that we have designed especially for Sofitel. Please feel free to explore our So-Boutique website to learn more about them. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again. Please request a good view and we will be happy to place you on one of our higher floors and give the best experience possible.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The place is top notch. I have stayed both in suites and regular rooms. The decor is very modern. The bathrooms are gorgeous and huge. The Internet never fails. The Valet is very prompt to deliver your car.

Customer Service is excellent. I have stayed here more than 5 times. Never had a problem.

Room Tip: it's on a very busy street. Ask for a room in a higher floor
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pablo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Pablo P,

Bonjour!

It is always great to hear from loyal regular guests. I am delighted that you enjoy our rooms, marble bathrooms with separate shower and tub, and the modern décor of our hotel. I am glad that our complimentary internet is convenient during your stays and that our valet continues to provide the prompt service that is necessary for a business hotel in center city. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more trips to Philadelphia and to continue to provide the top service and experience that you have come to expect.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Bathroom was beautiful. Front desk personnel walked me to the elevator because I was in a huge hurry. Very nice Front desk personnel also forgot to give me a gift bag that was waiting for me. Not so good. Outside personnel was great getting me a taxi and providing directions to driver for unfamiliar destination

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Osprey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Osprey23,

I am delighted that you found our marble bathrooms with separate shower and tub to be to your liking. They are often a favorite feature of many of our guests. I am glad to hear that our Front Desk ambassador assist you with speeding up your trip to the elevator while you were in a hurry and that our bellman also assist with catching a taxi and directions to your destination. We do all we can to provide top service. We value your feedback with your gift bag as it assist us in continue to improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back again to Sofitel Philadelphia again soon.

Merci,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for one night in April. The location is excellent - right next to a lot of shops. The room was sunny, spacious and clean, the bathroom spacious and clean as well. The only minor thing I could think of was a not-so-exciting view from the window - some roofs and windows of the nearby buildings. Would definitely stay again in this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InfrequentTraveler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear InfrequentTraveler15,

Thank you for posting your review of your April stay with us, all reviews are helpful to us! I am delighted that our location was convenient for you and that you enjoyed our large, sunny rooms and bathrooms. We are always happy to honor a “good view” request and are able to assign rooms on higher floors that show a bit more of the city. We look forward to welcoming you back again to Sofitel Philadelphia soon.

Warmest Regards,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The street signs near Rittenhouse Square identify the neighborhood as the "French Quarter," and the Sofitel is a perfect place to celebrate the European vibe of this delightful area. From the cheerful wakeup call that cajoles you to get out of bed for some coffee and croissants to the repeated "Bonjour" greeting from each staff member, your stay will take on the ambience of a mini-Parisian vacation. Luxurious bathrooms plus little touches like turndown service with complimentary slippers and bottled water add to the spa-like appeal.

Breakfast at Chez Colette is a great start to your day, although you may be tempted to take your coffee and croissants at nearby Parc Restaurant to enjoy an outdoor table overlooking Rittenhouse Square itself. Everything for a great city stay is within strolling distance--outstanding restaurants, shopping (clothes are tax-free in Philly), entertainment (try a concert at the Curtis Institute, one of America's best music conservatories). But, most of all, just enjoy the warm welcome of the staff and the sophisticated charm that make the Sofitel stand out among its local rivals.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DesertGal16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear SonomaCtyGal,

What a wonderfully delighted review! I am ecstatic that you left with the feel of a “mini-Parisian vacation” as that is the ambiance we strive to give. Governor Rendell loved our French background so much that he made our small area in the Rittenhouse Square district the French Quarter and more and more French establishments have been joining our area from restaurants, bars, and cafes, to great little shopping boutiques to name a few. Philadelphia has such a rich culture of music from the Philadelphia Orchestra, the Chamber Music Society, Opera Philadelphia, The Philly Pops, and many more. And best of all, all of these performance are all within walking distance of our hotel! I am absolutely delighted that you took advantage of the Curtis Institute while in town and hope to have you visit us again and experience more of all of the great arts that Philadelphia has right outside our doors.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews