We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Place for a Romantic Getaway...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
“Good Place for a Romantic Getaway...”
Reviewed May 30, 2008

I surprised my spouse with a room at the Sofitel for our 5th wedding anniversary. The Sofitel is a wonderful hotel for a romantic evening. The rooms are romantic in a sophisticated way---well furnished and very inviting.

The service at this hotel was very good. Upon learning that we were taking a night away from our toddler for our anniversary, the concierge sent up a complimentary bottle of champagne. This was a wonderful and much appreciated gesture!

The only down side to our stay was our experience in the cafe at breakfast the next morning. The restaurant seemed understaffed and the service was terrible as a result---not very attentive and the food took forever! However, this did not detract from the the overall great experience that we had at this hotel.

  • Liked — I liked the room decor and service best.
  • Disliked — I liked the breakfast in the cafe least.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank excelsiorgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,966
    950
    218
    90
    51
See reviews for
552
1,189
200
868
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ocean City, NJ
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Another addition to the excellent reviews of this hotel. I live in Ocean City,NJ and escape from there each Memorial weekend. The past three years have been spent at the Sofitel and the exellent experience has been uniform. I know alot about hotels in Philly, and this is the best!

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boardhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2008

while I would love to say that the Sofitel was exceptional , it was not. We were on the 14th floor, (room 1433) had a nice room, but, the shower was cold!!! My husband had the patience for the water to warm after 5 min. I did not! As with other reviewers, I do agree that the staff could not be nicer. But...cold showers? The restaurant was mediocre, at best. We had breakfast there for Mother's day. It was below average.

  • Liked — the bed!
  • Disliked — the cold shower
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BFFsomd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2008

My family and I spent (wife and 3 year old son) a weekend in Philadelphia and decided to stay at the Sofitel based on reviews. The last time we were in Philly, we stayed at the Four Seasons. This time we booked a suite with a king bed.

We drove down from New York and found the hotel to be right downtown. Valet helped with the bags. Check-in in the front desk was fast and everything was correct upon arrival. We were asked about preferences on whether to be close to the elevator or not. I always asks to be far away.

The Sofitel is a rather skinny but long building. Got a room on the 12th floor (need a card key to access each floor) and had a long walk down from the elevator to the room (you get what you ask for).

The suite was nicely decorated with a living room with flat screen tv, working desk and sofa bed. The bedroom was separated by french doors and was very comfortable. The bathroom was nicely done with separate bath and shower. What was interesting was the lack of a drawer to put clothing and limited space to hang coats and clothes. Overall the room was very nice, a bit worn at the edges but quite comfortable. We had a partial view of Rittenhouse square.

Got to use the gym on the 4th floor. Mostly cardio equipment with televisions, spacious and empty the weekend we were there.

Had breakfast in the cafe, again, good pastries and coffee.

There are plenty of restaurants, coffee bars and shopping around the block. Found it was easy to walk everywhere.

  • Liked — Location downtown
  • Disliked — Parking was $30 per night
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank johnathome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2008

I was staying in Philadelphia by myself for a weekend as part of an extended business trip and the Sofitel provided me with a wonderful experience.

It has an excellent location, right in the middle of the downtown area with all the shops and restaurants that you'd expect no more than a few minutes away.

Everyone within the hotel was friendly, welcoming and focused on service. The two different conicerges that I spoke to were very helpful and provided good advice that met my needs.

The room that I stayed in was of the highest quality - it was quite spacious, it had a huge and very comfortable bed, the bathroom was high spec and all the fixtures and fittings had been chosen carefully. There is a really nice range of shampoos/shower gels etc which were constantly replaced.

I didn't use the restaurant but I did use room service (the breakfasts in particular were excellent). The bar was an almost perfect example of what a hotel bar should be - slick, attentive service, a wide range of drinks, a good section of bar food and a nice atmosphere - just as good by yourself as in a group.

I do a lot of travel (mainly on business) and the Philadelphia Sofitel is now the benchmark against which I will measure other hotels.

  • Liked — Very high quality surroundings; service; location
  • Disliked — Can't think of anything
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SpivsUKOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

I stayed here for a conference taking place in Philadelphia. It was a great hotel to walk into and both the lobby and the room has that "aaah" feeling as soon as you do. The room was clean and tidy and the service was attentive, the bar was good and the room service was quick and pretty good value. The room had good amenities, much as you would expect - I liked the proper seating area, unusual for a bedroom only deal - and the hotel rightly prides itself on its bathrooms.

The hotel is well located for Market Street and also for walking down to Antique Row and South Street shops, though parking seems to be slightly difficult. I found a great noodle bar and a great coffee shop nearby (bonte) on 17th Street, but it took me a little longer to find a really good cheesesteak.

Like other reviewers, I was a little disappointed that in-room internet access was not free. If seemingly every coffee shop can provide free access for a $1.45 purchase, surely a chain like this could provide free access. Sadly though it's getting to be more common to be charged (as it is in the UK) which is a shame - Sofitel should do what a couple of other good hotel chains are doing and include it in the price.

I'd definitely stay here again for either business or pleasure.

  • Liked — Bathroom
  • Disliked — No free internet access
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AmericanEnglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2008

Just got back from the Sofitel. My husband had a conference in Philadelphia a few blocks from the hotel. We loved our stay here. Check-in was quick and we made our way up to our junior suite on the 7th floor. The bellman brought our luggage, got us ice, oriented us to our room and answered any questions. The room was very nice. The living area had a loveseat, chair, end table, cocktail table, desk and chair, and corner cabinet with flat screen tv. The room was well lit with 3 lamps. The bedroom area was separated from the living area by double doors, and had a king sized bed with floating nightstands on either side, chair, and corner cabinet with flat screen tv. This opened into a dressing area with small table, mirror, bench and double closets. The bathroom was nicely appointed with marble and separate glass enclosed shower and tub. A few cons regarding the room: there are no drawers for clothing, instead there are open shelves in the closet; no flat sheet on bed between you and duvet; shower pressure was somewhat weak; loveseat had wood topped arms that could be uncomfortable. The view wasn't the best, and the room, without lighting was dark because you are downtown surrounded by tall buildings. However none of these things affected the enjoyment of our stay.
The front desk was very helpful with directions and maps. Marci, the concierge was outstanding, helping with restaurant questions and decisions and making our reservations. I used room service for breakfast two mornings, and the service was quick and efficient. My breakfast arrived within 15- 20 minutes of ordering and was just as I requested, no missing items. We also had Sunday breakfast at the hotel restaurant. There is a buffet with omelet and egg station, and items such as mini brioche with smoked salmon and boursin cheese. We ordered off the menu, I had nutella buttermilk pancakes that were fantastic and my huband had smoked salmon benedict with porcini flavored hollandaise sauce. We had cocktails one evening in the bar where you can order small appetizers and relax in the comfortable seating. Worth mentioning: if you have a car, parking is $30/day. We had a car so I could visit friends in the area, but we just used cabs or walked while in center city. We really enjoyed our whole experience at the Sofitel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean updated rooms and friendly staff.
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tiffany8862
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,140 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,307 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing