We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My overnight experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I had to stay in town to prepare for a trip the next day. It was almost a mini-vacation.
The hotel stay was an incredible experience.

I called the next day to get the ingredients in a spa beverages they offer and the front desk clerk Anna went above and beyond to get them for me.

Any future needs I have to stay in Center City Philadelphia will definitely include my staying at the Sofitel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Sawgrass103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2013

Dear Sawgrass103,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel while preparing for your trip! I am delighted that we were able to provide a mini-vacation feel and that our ambassadors were able to assist you with your request and create an incredible experience. We very much look forward to having you stay with us again whenever in need of staying in Center City or just for a min vacation.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,944 - 1,950 of 3,358 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

I always stay at the Sofitel in Philadelphia when I come into town and this visit was no different than any other. Amazing property, amazing service and exceptional rooms. You will find no better value for your money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank WorldTravelerSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear WorldTravelerSuffolk,

Thank you for being such a loyal guest of Sofitel Philadelphia! I am delighted that we consistently make your stays with us memorable and amazing. We look forward to having you stay with us for many more great experiences to come.

Merci,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I went out to join my husband after his business trip. We loved staying here, it was so comfortable and a fabulous location. We walked everywhere from the hotel. Toured Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell, enjoyed both of those, tours were interesting and quick. Back to the hotel - great bed and pillows. Excellent service all around! We would absolutely stay at this hotel again. Also, again about the location - great shopping just down the street. The concerigerie recommended The Continental for hip cocktails. We went up to the roof and loved the food and the drinks. This hotel was a great find in Philadelphia.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank CATravelingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Ann B,

Thank you for your great review! I am delighted that you were able to enjoy yourself while your husband was here on business. We believe that we are truly fortunate to be in a location that offers so much to do and see. I am very glad that our concierge was able to direct to just the places you were looking for during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back again to enjoy anther fabulous stay soon.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Sofitel has long been one of my favorite hotels to stay at when in Philly. It is has the most perfect location, close to Rittenhouse Square Park, Walnut Street shopping, spas, well-known restaurants, and must-visit museums. You are guaranteed a good-night's sleep in the super comfy beds. Feels like a sleeping on a cloud! The rooms have had some upgrades but could certainly use a few more, as could the carpeting in the hallway. But the Junior Suites are the best rooms to book as they give you a very spacious layout and a separate sitting area that can be closed off by French doors for privacy. The Liberté Lounge and Bar in the main Lobby area is a hip place for a cocktail and they do a surprisingly good lunch. Try the Lobster/Potato/Gruyere Omelet (On the all-day dining menu) or something from the de-lite menu. Staff is friendly in all parts of the hotel. The gym, while small is adequate for a cardio and weight workout. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Book a Junior Suite if you want a lot more space. The standard rooms are a tad small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MValetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear MValetta,

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay. I am delighted that we have been your favorite hotel in Philadelphia. I am very glad that we are able to provide you with all you need: a perfect location, a great night sleep in our So-Beds, and a comfortable stay in our spacious Junior Suites. We do our best to focus on all the details to create a perfect overall stay. I hope to continue to welcome you back to Sofitel regularly and for the opportunity continue to be your hotel of choice.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hotel was so good I wish we had organized to stay longer! The staff were helpful, friendly and fun. The rooms were large, well furnished and comfortable. Great location topped off a great stay. The only downside was the water pressure from the shower seemed lower than average. I would love to stay at this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank merk11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear merk11,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your recent trip to Philadelphia! I am delighted that you had such a great stay and that our ambassadors were helpful and made your experience with us memorable. I am also always glad to hear when our guests enjoy our central location and large rooms. We look forward to welcoming you back again for another great stay with us.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Last week I stayed again at the Sofitel in Philadelphia. It was a pleasure to do so, just as on 4 or 5 occasions during the past 9 months or so. Check-in was pleasant and swift - the reception staff recognised me before the computer pulled up my Platinum Guest card. Upgrade to a suite was a wonderful surprise. Room was cool, well appointed and relaxing. After two meetings I enjoyed a couple of drinks at the comfortable lobby-level bar before heading out to join some friends. Slept well. Tasty breakfast the following morning and I was ready for a last meeting. then back to collect my suitcase and head off.

This really is the premier business hotel in Philadelphia. Great location, great staff, great accommodation. Nothing more to say.

Room Tip: All rooms are good - just stay a few times and find one that you like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Daniel P,

Thank you for your great review of Sofitel Philadelphia and for being such a loyal guest. I am absolutely delighted that we have had the opportunity to become your home away from home while visiting Philadelphia and that our ambassadors have continually made your stays memorable. We look forward to continuing to serve you as Philadelphia’s premier business hotel for all of your future trips.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed for 1 night a few weeks back. Managed to nab one of their 'Junior Suite' rooms (or however they phrase it) at a discounted rate so I was quite looking forward to it.

The lobby is very nice, helpful staff. I hear great things about the bar with regard to happy hour but we had dinner reservations and were running late so weren't able to sample it. The room was nice and spacious with a pleasing flow to it - two doors on opposite ends to the bathroom makes the room seem open. Bath was just about big enough for one, although the shower was excellent. Tap/faucet on the sink was noisy and hard to get a gentle flow of water from. Minor inconvenience in the scale of things.

Two TVs was a bit excessive and the Keurig was on the fritz.

The best thing about the room was the bed. One of the most comfortable I've slept in and that alone counts for 3 stars. It's definitely not a hip sort of hotel - if you want that, stay at Hotel Monaco (which is more my sort of place) but overall I was pleased and would stay there if they with the discounted rates I got.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheAff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear TheAff,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel while visiting Philadelphia. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the set-up of our Junior Suites and bathrooms and our unique So-Beds. The comfort of our rooms and the amenities we provide are important to us and we feel it contributes a big part of what makes our guests’ stays. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Philadelphia again soon and to try out our bar, Liberte, which I believe will be the hip sort of environment you are looking for.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,554 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $139 - $455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Philadelphia’s French Quarter and picturesque Rittenhouse Square in Center City, Sofitel Philadelphia blends French elegance with American style in the City of Brotherly Love. Our hotel’s unique style and casual sophistication starts in our breathtaking lobby, and the eclectic elegance shines in rooms and suites infused with warmth and filled with luxurious amenities. Enjoy lovely city views, French-inspired dishes, hand-crafted cocktails, and our relaxed ambiance, and let our accommodating staff tend to your every need. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, Sofitel Philadelphia provides a refined environment in which to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing