We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“True luxury rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
131 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“True luxury rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Sofitel Philadelphia has a privileged in the old town. The room itself was very spacious, luxurious and with an impressive bed. Bathroom was also top notch. Tried the hotel’s restaurant one time, and while it wasn’t bad it wasn’t anything special either.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 351pete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,890
    918
    210
    86
    49
See reviews for
522
1,144
194
837
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed Thursday to Sunday on two reservations made on the Accor site, which the check-in agent linked up. My gold card was recognised in that I retained my suite for the weekend, and I got the all-important late-check out (3pm) prior to my overnight flight back to Europe. The suite was large but gloomy even on a sunny day on the 9th floor. The bathroom was bright and well-equipped. The room air was very dry (hence the bottled water). I appreciated the free wi-fi. The TV channels were only US. Strangely, there was no TV5 or France 24.

The restaurant is used only for breakfast. The first evening, I wanted to eat early, but there were African drums in the lobby. Nothing French about that, except that the noise drove me back upstairs, in much the same way that such drums drove my parents-in-law out of their block in the 20th in Paris. Later, I was expected to eat at a low table surrounded by after-office drinkers. So I was taken to the other end of the bar where a few tables can be brought into use for any spare eaters. Friday, I appreciated breakfast being brought to me. At the weekend, there is also a buffet breakfast but, apart from some speciality bread, it did not look up to even Novotel standards (but it was 'only' 20 dollars plus). Unlike the other days, the Sunday staff were rather supercilious buck-passers. Any next time in Philadelphia, I shall go to the Pain Quotidien on Walnut Street.

The motionless and emotionless check-out agent was memorable. On the assumption that my room would be blocked after noon, at 2pm I asked for my keycard to be re-activated. The agent, smirked, said nothing in a way which obliged me to justify myself, which was then met with raised eyebrows and then a bizarre 'Are you checking out ?'. When I did check out at 3pm, this supercilious agent tapped away, put my bill in an envelope, and made me reach for it. I queried why I did not see my bill first (my reservations were not pre-paid), and found that my bill was only for about half of what it should be. He tapped away and finally said, with the minimum of words, that he assumed that I had checked out (and checked-in again) on Friday!

I found the 'bonjours' insincere and confusing (it's not even ('bonjour, good morning'). I asked the doorman who opened my taxi why, he said it was because it was a French hotel. I am sorry, but I am British (living in a French-speaking region) and when I cross the Atlantic to an English-speaking city (once the second-largest English-speaking city in the world), I expect to go back into English-speaking mode. I can see the odd US guest might find it chic, and the odd French and Quebec guest will be happy, but what about the rest of us ? Maybe as a 70-year old single guest, employees think I am soft target for their bonjours (plus mutterings of French in the bar-resto, although the staff are friendly). When one receptionist got his 'bonjour' in first, I told him I found it insincere. He said that was not necessarily so, because many of the staff were French. Sorry again, but it should not be for hotel guests to make staff feel at home. I felt like asking for a badge 'Do not say bonjour'. Indeed, I rather envied the uniformed British Airways crew who frequent the hotel - presumably they do not get the bonjour treatment. Actually the fact that the hotel is used by BA crew says quite a lot about BA - and the hotel.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Felix0309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Felix0309,

Thank you for the detailed review of your stay. Your feedback assists us in continually making enhancements to our hotel keeping our services & amenities at the highest level. Communication is an important tool to keep our ambassadors providing great service and we will certainly share your comments with them. We look forward to create an excellent experience for you in the future as that we are known for.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We had come to Philadelphia to visit the Barnes Foundation and the hotel is a convenient 15-20minute walk away. It is located in a quiet street and we had no noise in our room. The room was large with a very comfy bed and large bathroom with walk in shower with nice Paraben free Lanvin amenities. Decor was ok and distinctly better than the corridors. The hotel is used by airline crew for layovers. I would have given a five star review except that we booked an early morning wake up call and despite bring asked if we wanted a second call, did not receive either. We slept well but fortunately not well enough to miss our 8.30 train!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequentflyerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

I love the Sofitel, and this stay confirmed my past positive experiences. I spent one night with my family, so we took two king bed rooms. Prices were very good, considering the quality of the hotel. The rooms were nice, clean and with the most comfortable bed I ever experienced. The comforter over the mattress is soft, thick, but not warming up, amazing. The bathrooms are very nice with shower and bathtub. Service is very good and location downtown. The oly two small negatives are that the rooms are getting a bit old and that the taxi access to the hotel is not easy, so the cars prefer to stop in the street, forcing the passengers to load luggage under time pressure. Despite this I rank this Sofitel as a GREAT hotel. And Value for money is outstanding.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giovanni c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
153 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

What an amazing experience. Yes the rooms are lovely, yes the beds are, well "heavenly" but the real standout here is the level of service... I can frankly say that I have never experienced this unbelievable type of attention. Rates are reasonable considering the location and amenities (free wi-if), free water delivered daily. Happy hour offers $6 house wine; bar burgers are pricy AND worth it. Located within a block or two of about a dozen outstanding restaurants (try Vernick, The Oyster House, Devon's) in Rittenhouse square area. Streets are safe; full of families and couples strolling at all hours. Concierge referred us to the Plough & Stars for St. Pats and helped with tours. Thank you, Marcy, your suggestions were awesome. I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NMGIRL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel. Staff is very attentive and focused on their guests. Was offered a complimentary room upgrade. The Concierge, Maggie, was a huge help in assisting me with a change to my travel plans. Great location to the downtown business area. Would definitely stay again. Great choice when staying in Philadelphia.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EHalligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Best Stay Ever. Much needed getaway from kids and work. Perfect location, greeted warmly from doormen to front desk, will be back soon for a longer stay. Need to hit the hotel bar for some drinks and people watching

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
3 Thank TheBishop123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing