We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in Philadelphia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best in Philadelphia”
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed ay many downtown hotels over 15 years of annual business travel to Philly and my recent stay at the Sofitel was among the best. Impeccable service, room was well appointed and very clean. Food was solid. Short walk to many great places to eat - low end and high end. Also a short walk to Brooks Brothers for when your travel has been extended and you have run out of clean clothes.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Frodo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Frodo B,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel for your recent business trip to Philadelphia. I am delighted to hear that our great location with its shopping and restaurants provided convenient for your needs. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,966
    949
    218
    90
    51
See reviews for
551
1,189
200
868
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bethlehem
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

This is the second time i have stayed at this "french quarter" hotel in and around Rittenhouse Square. What i love about this location is its proximity to my favorite restaurant, Alma De Cuba. What i require in a hotel are two things: (1) a great bed; and (2) a great shower. Thats it really. If you have that, everything else is gravy. The beds are topped with real goose feather toppers. That allows you to sink into the bed as it enevelops you for the "good night" approach to sleep. WOW! The shower pressure is perfect for me. Sometimes, hotels shower pressure leaves a lot to be desired but not here. Plenty of heat and plenty of pressure.

The extras: we stayed in a mini suite. When we arrived at 7:30pm, the bose radio was playing in the bedroom set to WRTI (jazz/classical station from philly) at a really nice volume so that it gave the room atmosphere without it needing to be turned down. We liked the view from room 1237 at night. The lights from the buildings across the street and around the town gave a nice glow into the room through the blinds adding to the atmosphere created by the jazz station playing. We left and walked around the block to Alma De Cuba for a great meal as always.

The checkin was speedy and friendly. Everyone greets you in French. Nice. The checkout was speedy as well. Everyone from the doorman to the guys who valet parked the car was great. Once we arrived at the hotel, we were made to feel very welcome.

The furniture, some have complained, is a bit dated. Ok, fair, but it did not seem old to me. The stay was quiet and provided a great night's sleep and with the location being in Rittenhouse square, it is a hotel that we plan to return to many times when we want to just get away and refresh ourselves.

We had the breakfast there. I had the benedict. My DW had the omellette. What replaced the english muffin, i dont know. But it was delicious. The only complaint is that i feel that the breakfast was too expensive for what it was. Outside of that, it was a great stay at the hotel. We will be back.

Room Tip: Room 1237 is a corner room jr suite. Really nice little corner room at a quiet end of the hotel. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BethlehemUpintheair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear BethlehemUpintheair,

Thank you for the great review of your stay with us! I am delighted that we were able to provide you with such a pleasant get away to the French Quarter of Philadelphia and that we were able to create a “Wow” experience for you. I am very glad to hear that from our unique So-Beds and great water pressure to the atmosphere we try to create in our rooms we were able to make your stay with us a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for many more get-aways.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I've stayed at many Sofitels. Most are quite nice. Unfortunately, this place is run down and almost seedy. In addition, the lobby is freezing. Breakfast at the hotel was expensive and not very good. I won't go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Steven W,

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay.
Your feedback assists us in continually making enhancements to our hotel keeping our services & amenities at the highest level. We take your comments very seriously and pride ourselves on the great facilities and service we provide. We look forward to create an excellent experience for you in the future as that we are known for.

Sincere Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haute-Savoie, France
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Overall a nice stay but you tend to feel that they are struggling maintaining the hotel. Furniture in the room seems to be quite old and has suffered a lot. Having said that, the bed & pillows offer you a WONDERFUL experience and, after all, this is the primary reason of staying in ahotel, isn't it? I could not get away of it and to recover form jetlag, nothing better could have happened. The bathroom is huge and you'll find there absolutely everything you need with many fluffy towels.
Breakfast was not so good, barely no choice, only a la carte options and VERY expensive for what you get. A much better option is to go to any restaurant around (Marathon close by had a very good berakfast for half the price of what is costs at Colette at the Sofitel).
The personnel at the front desk and Colete are a bit too snobbish and not very friendly compared to US usual standard but I must admit that the Concierge was very helpful and nice.
The situation of the hotel is also very good, close to everything in walking distance (from University to old town).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sophiedesmontagnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear sophiedesmontagnes,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We value your feedback as it enables us to continue to make improvement to our service. I am delighted to hear that one of our greatest features, our unique So-Beds, offered you a great recovery from your jetlag. We believe simple comforts such as our large rooms and bathroom’s amenities are essential to creating a relaxing environment for guests traveling long distances. We are currently updating the furniture in all of our guest rooms and do hope that you will have the opportunity to return again soon to enjoy our new additions.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I were in town for a convention and prefer to stay in the Rittenhouse area as opposed to the convention center area. The Sofitel is an excellent choice. We stayed in a king suite and were very pleased with the room size and cleanliness. The hotel staff was very attentive, especially by the lobby elevator, as when you have your hands full, inserting your room key to get to your floor can be a bit tricky but the staff was always on alert to help out in that situation. One night we did do room service and the food was surprisingly good, better that most hotel room service meals that we have tried.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Jeff C,

Thank you for choosing Sofitel Philadelphia for your most recent convention trip. We are close enough to the convention center and believe we offer a great alternative to convention guests who are looking to stay in an area that has a bit more in regard to restaurants, shopping, and events. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back again in the future.

Sincere Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I loved this place and you can't beat the location. The room was immaculate. We met friends for drinks the next afternoon and it was very cozy...We felt like we were in our living room. The staff is super friendly. Great drinks, terrific service. We had appetizers and they were delish! Lotsa love for Sofitel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Charlie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Cher Charlie T,

Thank you for the great review of your stay! I am delighted that you had such a pleasant experience with your friends in our cozy Lounge. Our ambassadors are great at going above and beyond to make our guests’ stays memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future to enjoy more of the fair we offer in Liberte.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Enjoyed the stay. Check in was efficient and polite. All staff encounters were Service was terrific as always. Room was clean. Only had breakfast but it was just right, so was my wife's. Will stay again when I have a chance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwiesend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear jwiesend,

Thank you for your great review! I am delighted that our ambassadors were able to provide great service to you and your wife that made your stay memorable. We look forward to welcoming you both back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,132 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,305 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing