We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is great and the bed super-comfy, but”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gloucestershire, England
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
189 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 384 helpful votes
“Location is great and the bed super-comfy, but”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

Having made our way through heavy traffic, our arrival at the Sofitel came as a relief. On a busy block in the centre of the city, it's a great location for a weekend, right there and just a step away from everything. However, peaceful it is not. Like many city centre hotels, there is a lot of coming and going, the lobby is fairly tight and there's a popular bar to one side which was a lively place each evening of our stay. We seemed to spend a while waiting for elevators and when they arrived, they were busy and made frequent stops.

Our junior suite was a little tired. Decor is pretty dark and beige/brown and the furnishings very similar to those in the Sofitel New York. Though the bed was super-comfortable and well up to usual Sofitel standards, the overall impression of our accommodation was that it needs freshening up.

Our bathroom was large and had our preferred walk in shower (rather than an over-bath arrangement) but the grout was grubby and it wasn't a good idea to look too closely in the corners or in the dark places around the loo. Plenty of space, for sure, but not somewhere I wanted to linger.

On our fourth morning we managed to find the concierge, tucked away in an office beyond reception. When she'd finished her lengthy phone conversation, she acknowledged our presence but actually, wasn't of great help. However, finding her had the added bonus of finding the small coffee alcove in that area too..somewhere where we could have enjoyed an early morning refreshment had we but known it was there!

All of this counts towards the three star rating, which is perhaps a llittle hard, but bearing in mind the other Sofitels we have enojyed over the last few months, the Philadelphia property suffers in comparison. Using the same standards on which to base the rating, then clearly a fourth star isn't really deserved. However, the location is very good indeed and a comfortable and well made bed goes a long way to making up for the shortcomings, IMHO.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank elegantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear elegantraveller,

Thank you very much for your great feedback and for being such a loyal guest of Sofitel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed several aspects of your stay at Sofitel Philadelphia such as our great location and unique So-Beds which we have always been known for.

We are continually making updates to our hotel to keep our services and amenities at a high level and are currently in the process of making several upgrades to our rooms. I look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the near future to enjoy them.

Sincere Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,948
    942
    215
    90
    51
See reviews for
539
1,183
199
860
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This hotel lived up to the Sofitel reputation. It is in a great location - in the heart of Philadelphia. The rooms were very spacious, clean and well maintained. The bathroom was a great size, and made our stay very comfortable.

We arrived from NYC, and had been staying at a hotel with much smaller rooms and facilities. It was a fresh breath of air to be in this hotel. The staff were very helpful, and the hotel had many places to relax and have a drink.

If you want to be in a good part of Phili, within walking distance to many things central, I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 14, 2013
Dear Jane F,

Thank you for your great review! I am delighted to hear that our spacious rooms and bathrooms really made a difference in the comfort of your stay and that our location provided everything you were looking for within walking distance. Our ambassadors look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading PA
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had one night at this hotel this past weekend 1/5/13. Very Very Very clean. Cleanliness is important especially in City Hotels. This one is excellent. Room large sized, bathroom was large sized, nice hot shower. Located in a great area of the city, lots of places to walk to on Samson street, only a minute or so away. Tip- The valet parking is a bit more than I expected, $40 for one night- take your car about 1/2 block past the hotel to the parking garage, parking there is about $14 per day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JPVenezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear JPVenezia,

Thank you for your great review! I am very pleased that our center city hotel provided you with a confortable and convenient stay and that you enjoyed our larger than average rooms and bathrooms. We look forward to having you back for another excellent overall stay with us.

Merci,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed in a junior suite for a two night getaway weekend. Rate was fantastic for such a spacious and well appointed room. The lobby was still decorated for the holidays and they had large candles on the floor that provided most of the light in the evening and which created a romantic atmosphere. We are looking forward to going back again when we are able to schedule a return trip. I selected four out of five for cleanliness not because of any dirt, but because the room showed some age (there was a stain on the carpet, the closet and bathroom doors were nicked from hitting each other, and there were a few dings on the furniture), but not enough to the extent I would stay away or not recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin_A1121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Kevin_A1121,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for your romantic getaway weekend! I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the candles that we have in our lobby in the evenings. We have a unique candle lighting ceremony every evening at 5pm which we encourage all guests to experience if they have the opportunity. Each Sofitel has their own candle lighting ceremony and we have recently perfected ours to be unique and enhance the atmosphere of our lobby. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the near future for another romantic getaway.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Everyone provided outstanding service at the Sofitel Philadelphia, from the concierge to those at the front desk. The hotel itself was immaculate and beautiful, and extremely well located. It was really easy to get all around Philly from there. The bathrooms and bedrooms were enormous and well-appointed. The restaurant in the hotel was fantastic for breakfast. The only downside was that although the beds were very soft, they were not all that comfortable. The pillows made it difficult to find a good spot to rest. But otherwise, I very much enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank himitsuotaku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear himitsuotaku,

Thank you for the great feedback of your stay! I am very glad that the service our ambassadors provided was able to create such a memorable experience for you. We are lucky in that all of our team is very eager to go above and beyond to create unique experiences for all of our guests. I am pleased to say that we do have bed boards for guests who prefer a firmer bed, which helps since different guests have different preference in mattress firmness. We hope that this will serve as a simple solution that will bring you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again. We are always happy to apply any guest request to their reservation.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,038 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,267 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing