We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect Center City Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #10 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Center City Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I've stayed at Sofitel Philadelphia several times a year for the last 10 years, and every visit is perfect. Besides having a very convenient location in Center City, one of the hotel's strongest points is their service. The staff are friendly, helpful and welcoming. Long-time staff remember long-time guests. Women traveling alone always feel safe. And if that isn't enough, Sofitel is one of the very few hotels that serves loose-leaf tea! Coffee drinkers will appreciate the coffee, too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Cher Barbara S,

Thank you so much for your loyalty to Sofitel Philadelphia and for your great comments! As a return guest I hope that you are taking advantage of our great privileged guest program, LeClub. Please find more information on Sofitel.com or reach out to any of our ambassadors. We are looking forward to welcoming you back for another 10 years!

Warmest Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,049 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,827
    895
    197
    83
    47
See reviews for
502
1,106
189
807
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We spent a week over Christmas at the Sofitel while visiting family in Philadelphia. It was a great choice.

The staff are friendly and very helpful. Rooms are spacious and the beds exceptionally comfortable. Bathroom amenities are good and there is a very effective hairdryer.

The nightly turn down replenishing the bottled water, tea and coffee is a lovely touch and the complimentary apples and pastries in the morning are a real bonus.

The location couldn't be better for shopping and restaurants.

Some of the decor is getting a little tired but it made no difference to our experience of the hotel.

When next visiting Philly we would definitely return to the Sofitel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BethR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear BethR,

Thank you for choosing to stay with Sofitel while visiting family over Christmas. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our great amenities and that they made your experience with us comfortable and memorable. We are very glad that you took advantage of our luxury coffee station in the morning. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel for your next visit to Philly and hope that you will have the opportunity to try our great breakfast in Chez Colette.

Warm Regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Truly one of the best hotel experiences i have ever had. The Sofitel was very accommodating and a breath of fresh air when compared to the Marriots and Raddisons. Will definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maverickd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear maverickd,

Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us. We are delighted that our hotel culture was able to give you a special, unique experience that you felt differs from other hotels. We look forward to continuing to exceed your expectations for your future stays.

Merci,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Delaware, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2012

Convenient center city location. Many top restaurants and great shopping are within walking distance. Package included parking and full breakfast, so it was a great value. This is our "go to" hotel in Philly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KSEBKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear KSEBKL,

Thank you for your great review. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed our great center city location and was able to take advantage of the great restaurants and shopping that is all walking distance to our hotel. We are delighted to be your “go to” hotel in Philly and hope that you will continue to use the great packages that we have available to our guests.

Sincere regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
112 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

Situated just a few blocks from famous Rittenhouse square and a 10 minute taxi ride to the historic district it is nice and clean place to stay. The Sofitel is in the heart of the city and nearby many very good restaurants. The rooms are nothing special, but they are clean, comfortable beds an quiet. Service in the hotel is so so, don't expect to be pampered.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Road_warriorXTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Cher Road_warriorXTRM,

Thank you very much for choosing Sofitel for your recent stay in Philadelphia. I’m very glad to hear that you enjoyed our great Rittenhouse square location with all of the great restaurants within walking distance and the historic district close by. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again soon to try our restaurant, Liberte, with its French inspired menu.

Warm regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickleton, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We stayed at the Philadelphia Sofitel for the first time Dec 21st 2012 to celebrate my wife's birthday and we were very impressed. The room, a Prestige Suite was very reasonably priced and more elbow room than most luxury hotels in the city. All personnel we very courteous and the room was very clean. Room service was also equal or better than the best in the city. The food was well prepared and promptly presented. Sofitel is now our new go to place when staying in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveW568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Cher SteveW568,

Thank you for celebrating your wife’s birthday at Sofitel Philadelphia! I am very glad to hear that you were able to indulge and order through room service, and as your new go to place when staying in the city, I look forward to welcoming you back again to try our menu in Liberte as well.

Warm regards,

Vincent Vienne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing