We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort at a Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia
Ranked #9 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We've only stayed at the Chicago Sofitel before this one in Philadelphia. We were not disappointed. The reception person was so professional and congenial. The suite was, for the price, a great value and well designed with the bathroom accessible from the living room as well as the bedroom. The bed was very comfortable with good, high end sheets. And, best of all, they are pet friendly and, Rittenhouse Square is just two blocks away if you want to find some grass for Fido. The central location was ideal for walking to the museums and restaurants.

Room Tip: the junior suite is the way to go
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RugLord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a comfortable, great stay with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our large suites, large marble bathrooms, unique So-Beds, and amenities. We are also glad to hear that you were able to bring your dog with you and were able to enjoy our great Rittenhouse Square location. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,165 - 2,171 of 3,358 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2012

Rooms are very comfortable and really nice design. Hotel is very well located and staff is extremely nice and helpful. Since my plans changed mid way through my planned stay, the front desk crew was very flexible with reservations and dealt really well with modifications to my reservations. Couldnt have been better!

Room Tip: suites are very confortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfeing00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a pleasant stay with us and that our team was able to assist you with your reservation modifications easily and efficiently. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Wanted to thank Alex at the front desk for excellent guest service. I had been traveling for 5 weeks in Nepal before flying to Philadelphia for a wedding. I was weary, and needed some extra help. He did everything possible.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that our front desk team was able to make your stay memorable and assist you with everything you need after your long trip in Nepal. We are always eager to assist guests in any way possible to make their stay more comfortable and to cater to any needs they may have. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We (my husband, myself, and our twin infants and two year old) all stayed at the Philadelphia Sofitel last weekend, immediately after Hurricane Sandy displaced us from Long Island. We arrived late (10:30pm) on Friday night, cold, exhausted from living a week without power in the near freezing temperatures and relieved that we had enough fuel to allow our trip to Philadelphia. We were greeted warmly and all of our bags (about 10 bags filled with clothing food and baby formula) were taken in for us. The front desk staff (especially Nick) were so kind, quickly checked us in, entertained our two year old and although they gave us a lovely and quite large standard "luxury" room equipped with two cribs for our infants, Nick indicated that he would try and move us into a suite by the next day. We had our first comfortable and warm sleep and shower in a week and then without prompting or asking, Nick called us the following day and offered us a suite. We were delighted and it gave us plenty of space for the kids and our stuff! We had a lovely time escaping the Long Island Sandy mess and the Sofitel's delightful staff, wonderful prices and terrific accommodations were perfection. I know Philly well (I grew up there and was married at another luxury hotel in center city), but I must say that I had no idea what a gem the Sofitel was! Kudos to the hotel management and wonderful staff - thank you for raising our spirits and making our stay so enjoyable!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EMAnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that we had the opportunity to do all we could to help you and your family while seeking refuge from the aftermath of Hurricane Sandy. This was indeed a horrible event and we are glad that we were able to assist many guests who were in a similar experience. We are very pleased that our large luxury room was comfortable and that we have the opportunity to move you to a Suite to make your family’s stay even more comfortable. We feel fortunate that Philadelphia was not hit badly as New York was and that we are close enough to assist those who needed assistance. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to Sofitel Philadelphia, hopefully under better circumstances.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

For someone who travels frequently, to actually enjoy another overnight trip means something extraordinary. The Sofitel provides one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in (next to my own). Large, well appointed bath & shower, L'Ocittane products, and great customer service round out a perfect stay. The food (and especially the coffee) in the restaurant are delish, and the service there is superb as well. Just watch the curb when you pull in front of the hotel - I did a number on my wheel. :(

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackiB0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a fabulous and comfortable stay with superior service while staying with us. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our unique So-Bed, large bath and separate shower, L’Occitane products, and ouf food and coffee in Liberte and Chez Colette. We regret that you had difficulty while pulling up to the hotel with your car and hope that our valet was able to assist you as best they could. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed at the Sofitel for 2 weeks on business and enjoyed it completely. Rooms were sleek and modern and the bathroom was marble with both a shower and bath. The bed was on the soft side, but I found it terrific, as I did the huge TV. There are Keurig coffee makers in the rooms (plus complimentary bottled water) and also coffee/tea/fruit in the lobby early.

The gym was respectable for a hotel gym and had a mix of cardio, weight machines and dumbells. One of the few drawbacks was the elevator : one needs to swipe one's key card to get to your floor, but they often malfunctioned. Of course, it's a good security measure but could be annoying. Since I did not pay for the room, I cannot judge if it was a good value.

The Rittenhouse square area was wonderful! Loved the park (farmer's market on Saturdays) and all the shops nearby. Marathon was a reliable favorite restaurant and Trader Joe's is walking distance. Another tip: the Palomar Hotel across the street had a happy hour from 10-11pm.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a great stay with us during your long, two week business trip. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our room décor, large marble bathroom with separate shower and bath, unique So-Bed, large TV, Keurig coffee maker, complimentary coffee, tea, and fruit in the morning, and our GYM. We are also always glad to hear when guests have the opportunity to take advantage of our great Rittenhouse Square location and all it has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the future and also to hopefully try our happy hour specials from 5-8pm.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was attending a conference at another hotel, but chose to stay at the Sofitel because the TripAdvisor reviews were better. I wasn't steered wrong. The entire hotel was spotless and the room was beautiful. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the food at the restaurant was delicious. All of the staff were friendly and helpful. I would suggest taking the package they offer which includes the parking and breakfast. It's a much better deal than paying for each separately.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ferocity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had such a great stay with us while in Philadelphia for your conference. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our rooms, unique So-Beds, French inspired fair, and that our staff was able to make your stay memorable. We look forward to welcoming you back To Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future.

Regards,

Vincent Vienne

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,547 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia

Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $138 - $460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled between Philadelphia’s French Quarter and picturesque Rittenhouse Square in Center City, Sofitel Philadelphia blends French elegance with American style in the City of Brotherly Love. Our hotel’s unique style and casual sophistication starts in our breathtaking lobby, and the eclectic elegance shines in rooms and suites infused with warmth and filled with luxurious amenities. Enjoy lovely city views, French-inspired dishes, hand-crafted cocktails, and our relaxed ambiance, and let our accommodating staff tend to your every need. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, Sofitel Philadelphia provides a refined environment in which to enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing