We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous hotel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tremendous hotel experience”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Everything was perfect. Friendly people clean classy rooms. Walking distance to everything. The hospitality was incrediable, the man at the front desk i beleive his name was Nikola couldn't have been any nicer and very professional.House keeper was also very friendly and warm...and get the breakfast buffet. I had a great overall experience and the attention to detail really set it apart.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Damics83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you had a tremendous experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on creating a perfect experience for our guests in every way possible. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy many different aspects of our hotel and look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the future. We hope you will try our urban chic lounge, Liberte for lunch or dinner since you enjoyed our breakfast in Chez Colette.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,966
    949
    218
    90
    51
See reviews for
551
1,189
200
868
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Keyport, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed at the Sofitel in Philly since we had tickets to a cirque de sole that was touring. This was the perfect location to walk to everything. Cute eateries,shops and a few parks. The hotel was really clean and our room was especially luxurious. Included a beautiful bathroom with separate tub and his and her robes. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justmarried6210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 24, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in our great, downtown location while you were visiting to see Cirque du Soleil. We are pleased that you found our linens luxurious and took advantage of our convenient, Rittenhouse Square location. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2012

Stayed in the Sofitel in a Suite for two nights.

Room was spacious, clean, and the linens were immaculate. The toiletries in the bathroom were well arranged, and everything looked to be in wonderful working order. There was a standing shower in the bathroom which was a great touch, and the housekeepers were very sweet and did a wonderful job.

Truly, the room was well-accented and new, and the entire hotel just seemed very luxurious. We absolutely will stay here again when visiting Philadelphia, and it far surpassed our expectations at the great price (about $280 a night), considering we had paid double that at the Four Seasons in Philadelphia, for a much worse experience.

The restaurant in the hotel has a phenomenal breakfast menu, but it is a bit prive (about $20), but they give you a slight discount if you buy it ahead of time with your room. Take my advice, but it beforehand because it is literally one of the best breakfasts I have ever had (and it's all a la carte to boot).

Room Tip: Upgrade to a suite; the extra space is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your two night stay with us. We are pleased that our rooms, linens, toiletries were to your liking and that you found our housekeepers to be pleasant. We are also very glad to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast in Chez Colette so much. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the near future, perhaps to try Liberte for lunch or dinner.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2012

What's not to love. This is from a former local's point of view. It's located in the best neighborhood of center city- "Rittenhouse Square". You can walk to everything. The theater district is a few blocks away. Shopping is literally around the corner. Many joints to eat nearby and all around. Di Bruno Brother's italian market, philly's oldest and best, is a 1 minute walk -around the corner- and for the ladies there is a Sephora and Kiehl's as well. We have stayed here for the New Year's Eve weekends of 2011 and 2010. The hotel itself is a true 4 star. Service, from valet parking to front desk and housekeeping, all were wonderful. Philly is the city of "Brotherly Love" and the personnel make sure you feel that Philly warmth down to your soul. The room was standard fare for a 4 star hotel. It was large and had everything you could want. Nice views of Philly all around, from the hallway windows to those of the room. Parking hurts. The hotel was pleasantly decorated for the season. Can't wait to stay here again New Year's Eve 2012 or any other time of the year.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zurak87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted to be called your Philly Favorite. We are always pleased when our guests take advantage of the great location we are in and enjoy what it has to offer. We try our utmost to provide our guests with the best service possible and to ensure that they feel a warm welcome. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again for New Year’s Eve 2012 and before then as well.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

2 day stay,staff and hotel excellent,got made guests of the day,made our stay as this was an anniversary stay over.,location was brill.loved the city,what a stay thank you to all at sofitel Philly

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Neiljan_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you choose us to spend your anniversary with and that we had the opportunity to make it a memorable experience for you. We are pleased that you enjoyed our city and look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Delayed honeymoon taken a few months late which didn't stop them from upgrading us and writing us a nice welcome note and chocolates. The room was spacious and clean with a city view. Bathroom was large and shower pressure was good.

They have coffee and tea selection available all morning for free in the restaurant...

Fitness room is totally adequate and in much better condition that most hotels we have stayed.
We had the chocolate lover's package and were able to call in to the hotel while we were out to dinner and have it waiting for us when we got back which was a nice surprise for my husband. All of the people who work there were very nice and will give you lots of helpful suggestions on anything you need.

There are literally dozens of wonderful restaurants within a few blocks of walking and all of the shopping you could do..there is a whole foods about 10 blocks away and a closer health foods store just 3 blocks away.

We really reccommend the Sofitel and would def go back...ok 1 side bar though, the bed had a feather bed on top and was too soft for my liking and without it the bed was really just ok.

Enjoy and happy travels!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank IGetAround1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, January 11, 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you choose us to spend such a special occasion with. We are very pleased that you enjoyed our room set up, amenities, facilities, location, I Love Chocolate package, and our staff’s service. It is always good to hear when guests take advantage of all we have to offer. We do understand that not all guests prefer our down duvet and always encourage guests to let us know so that we can have their bed made to their liking. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia again in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,132 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,305 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing