We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, Cool, & Conveniant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Long Island
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Clean, Cool, & Conveniant”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

My husband & I stayed here overnight for a wedding downtown. Sofitel is one of the nicer hotels to stay at in Phili. The staff is very professional and friendly. Rooms are modern & clean. Sofitel is a short walk to the historic district and many chic restaurants.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt_Danielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us during your stay in Philadelphia for the wedding you attended. We are pride our selves on our service and are always pleased to hear when our guests mention our professional and friendly staff. We are also glad that you were able to take advantage of our great downtown location and its proximity to many great areas of the city such as the historic district and our city’s most well known restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,906
    924
    212
    86
    49
See reviews for
525
1,157
195
842
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I stayed at the Sofitel during a two-day conference held there. When I travel for business, I appreciate a fitness center open 24 hours a day, kind and helpful staff, a comfortable bed, quiet, and a nice shower--the Sofitel totally delivered. I really appreciate the separation of the shower/bath and the quality of the shower. Having L'occitane products was a special touch. I liked the deep closets for my suits and the general lay-out of the room and decor was thoughtful. Between sessions, I had the chance to wonder the blocks around the hotel and being close to Rittenhouse square with all the shops and restaurants is fantastic. I would recommend this hotel for business as well as personal travelers looking to stay in a quality hotel in a great part of Philadelphia.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afarmandthirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you found everything that you wanted with our hotel. We pride ourselves on our service and do as much as we can to please our guests in every way. We are pleased that our fitness center, beds, bathrooms, room set up, and amenities were all to your liking. It is also always good to hear when our guests take advantage of our great location and enjoy what it has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Stylish hotel, pleasant staff, very comfortable bed, excellent food. I just loved the bed, must be one of the best beds I've ever slept.

Definetly my choice In Philly if I can choose where to stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jelbrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and find our staff pleasant, food excellent, and bed’s to be the most comfortable you’ve slept in. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the near future for your next stay in our great city.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I stayed in a "Prestige Suite" for two nights with my wife and 14 year old son. The suite was a handicap room and I guess therefore extra spacious. The room and the bathroom was very nice and the king size was comfortable.

My son slept in the sofa bed and it was just OK, not very comfortable.

The gym was good with well maintained equipment.

The bar was great for after dinner drinks with a very nice atmosphere and friendly servers.

The location is very good with Chestnut and Market St. nearby, but if you want to stay in Old Philly you need to make another choice of hotel

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sören
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us with while visiting Philadelphia. We are pleased that you enjoyed our amenities and our new bar/lounge, Liberte. We are fortunate to be in a great downtown location, just steps from Rittenhouse Square. We do understand that some guests would prefer to be right in the heart of Olde City and appreciate your comments informing other guests of this. We are within walking distance to Olde City, however, not right in the heart of it. We are located in the Rittenhouse Square district which is more known for its restaurants, shopping, theaters, and close proximity to museums and businesses. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the future to enjoy our downtown location and what it has to offer our guests.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island NY
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Rooms are roomy and comfortable. Beds are to die for (I ordered the pillow-top for my own bed, but it doesn't hold a candle to the hotel's). Bathrooms are sleek and modern. The gym had enough equipment that I didn't have to wait. Food is always outstanding, and the personnel is unfailingly helpful and polite.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beentheredonethat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you are a loyal guest who chooses us as your Philadelphia home away from home. We try our utmost to ensure that our guests receive a superb nights rest and are very pleased that you find our unique So-Beds to deliver a great night’s sleep for you. We are also very pleased that you enjoy Liberte while you’re with us and indulge in our French fusion cuisine. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed for two nights. Every staff member was extremely pleasant and helpful. Our suite was clean upon arrival and cleaned once every day while we were out. Spacious and stylish room and bathroom. Very comfortable bed and chairs. Stone shower/soak tub were nice features. Quiet at night. Complimentary coffee bar. Good location. Short walk to Rittenhouse Square. Only one block in either direction from many shops on Chestnut and Walnut Street. Highly recommended. Will stay again if the price is right.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCLF25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you found our hotel fantastic with an extremely pleasant and helpful staff. We are also pleased that you found our rooms comfortable and our location convenient. We are fortunate to have large rooms for a center city hotel and are always glad to hear that our guests enjoy them. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel again in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Hotel is spotless, rooms are big, TV's are nice with good HD, bathrooms always work the MANY times I've stayed there for work.

The restaurant/bar is pretty solid since they remodeled it. Fitness room isn't overly large and there isn't a pool but hotel overall is great.

Location: awesome, about as good as you can get in downtown Philly. Staff is super nice.

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rcurrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelPhiladelphia, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are always delighted to have regular guests who stay with us as their choice Philadelphia hotel. We are pleased that you find our rooms comfortable and have taken the opportunity to enjoy our new restaurant/bar, Liberte. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4,680 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing