We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service and upgrade to Junior suite.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent service and upgrade to Junior suite.”
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We have a wonderful stay with my husband and kids in May 2011.
We had originally booked a standar room and got an upgrade to a Junior Suite due to our Amex card... We love it.
Breakfast was really good and the service in the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank julianaguzman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you and your family had an excellent stay with us and enjoyed our new restaurant, Liberte. We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,940
    935
    215
    88
    50
See reviews for
532
1,176
197
859
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

In terms of cleanliness and pleasant staff ...The hotel is average. When you consider the price, the extra charges ($45,night for parking, $10 for internet, $2 per morning croissant, $5 for a bottle of water) oh my goodness that is when the location, access to stores, nice staff and all really don't make the hotel a value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChicagoSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2011

At Sofitel you always know what you get. Nothing but the best. Stayed for one night in Philly. Travelling with 1 ½ twins it’s always exciting to see if the two cribs are actually in the room or even available.
At Sofitel everything was of course ready. The room (1211) was perfect and we loved the stay. The location is very good too.

Room Tip: 1211 (junior suite) is a great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Reinholdt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you and your family had a convenient and enjoyable stay with us. We always try to ensure that all guest needs are ready for them ahead of time so that there is no need to ask.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

I will absolutely return to the Sofitel for my next stay in Philly. Not only is the hotel beautiful, but it's in an excellent location: close to Rittenhouse Square and lots of shopping and restaurants just outside your door.

The staff was so friendly and helpful. My boyfriend and I checked in and headed up to our room on the 14th floor which had a beautiful view. There was a knock on the door 10 minutes later with surprise pastries and a letter wishing us a happy anniversary! I had offhandedly mentioned that this was an anniversary stay when confirming the reservations - they remembered! That small and considerate gesture alone will make me want to continually recommend and stay at this hotel whenever possible.

Our room was lovely with a bed that makes you want to stay tucked in all day! The bathroom is GORGEOUS and is stocked with L'Occitaine toiletries (my favorite). We noticed one of the cabinet doors under the TV was broken when we opened it; totally not a problem to us, but we mentioned this to the front desk and it was fixed immediately. The gym was pretty good - it had a few cardio and weight machines, free weights, and mats. It got the job done, but with all the delicious food around I'd love a slightly more expansive workout room ;-) Speaking of delicious food, we had the "I Love Chocolate" package - a large plate of treats and home made hot chocolate, perfectly sized for a couple. We ate in the lovely restaurant downstairs, but it can also be brought to your room.

All in all, the Sofitel surpassed my expecations and truly enriched our trip to Philly. I am excited to plan a return trip!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MissZaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you found your stay with us to be superior. We are pleased that you took advantage of our great location and amenities and that our extra person touches made your stay memorable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia for your next trip in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
161 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for one night while in town for a concert. The property was spotless and the rooms were the same. The rooms seem to be a bit larger then the standard hotel room and the bathroom was a bit larger as well. The bathroom had a tub and a walk in shower in it which is a different then most hotels. The beds were extremely comfortable. Everything was upscale and it showed throughout the entire property from the moment you walked in. The thing that really impressed me was you could not hear the AC unit running at all yet the room always maintained a comfortable temperature. I liked the wood tone/natural colors of the room and the hallways and the soft lighting in the room. The front desk greeted you in French and were very friendly and helpful. Valet was quick and professional. They only offer valet parking for $34 + tax ($40.80) but there is a parking garage around the corner that charges $26.00 if you want to do that instead. The attendant at the garage parks your car there so we just opted to use the hotel valet and be dropped off and picked up right out front. They do have turn down service at night which was a nice surprise when we arrived back to the hotel that night. The room was quiet, the floor was quiet and we enjoyed our stay very much. We do have another night booked there next month and are looking forward to going back.
You are right in the middle of downtown and close to so many great places to eat and shop. The subway is only a short walk away too and the main train station is just 5 blocks away.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sunny45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in our excellent location. We are also pleased that our atmosphere was to your liking and that you took advantage of the convenience of our valet parking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia next month and hope that you will have just as enjoyable of a stay.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

I stayed here with my husband and my sister and her boyfriend. The hotel was beautiful and extremely clean. The beds were so comfortable you did not want to get out of them, but as soon as you did you were right in the middle of the city. We were able to walk to a great byob Italian restaurant one night. The next day we were able to walk over to the Franklin Institute for a great run down by the river. I would definitely stay here if you are looking to go out in downtown Philly. Probably more of an adult friendly hotel though, I did not see many kids there and it did not have a pool.

Room Tip: Priceline, name your own price, for a great deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank cwhalen85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in our great location. We do pride ourselves on many amenities, especially our unique, So-bed’s, and are please that they created a luxurious rest for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the near future.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Wonderfully comfortable hotel with great bathroom and amenities. Great staff and concierge. Good location. Only downside was the restaurant at dinner - no more than average.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank KNUCCI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed our hotel, amenities, and staff’s service. However, we are disappointed that you experience at our restaurant was not more than average. We strive for excellence and your feedback is extremely important to us to help improve our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the near future to enjoy our downtown location and for us to have the opportunity to create a better restaurant experience for you.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,939 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#16 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing