We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Magnificent Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Ranked #10 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Winter Park, Florida
1 review
“Magnificent Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2011

The hotel room itself was spa like with a separate shower and tub, encased in all tile. Everything about the hotel and room screamed spa, relaxation and cleanliness. The bed........ UNBELIEVABLY by far the most incredibly comfortable and soothing bed that I've EVER slept in my entire life.... Ahhhhh just the memory makes me drowsy... *****++++++ DEF a must stay!

Stayed March 2011
Helpful?
Thank Davisgard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, May 4, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us in our spa like rooms. Our goal is to emulate luxury and we are pleased that you felt that from our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the near future to enjoy our other features such as our new urban, chic lounge, Liberte. It offers a great menu that we believe you will enjoy.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,910
    925
    212
    86
    49
See reviews for
525
1,159
195
845
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
King of Prussia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

Stayed there for a romantic getaway to celebrate an anniversary. We got the romance package. Which includes a bottle of Champagne and chocolates. Upon arrival they ordered the wine and chocolates so we were told they would be right up. We waited about 45 minutes for Room Service. After they left we notices they only brought the Champagne. Since we were a bit of a hurry to get to the restaurant for dinner we didn't say anything then. After we got back that night I told the front desk. They were very apologetic and promised to send them up right away. A half hour later room service showed up with Strawberries because they were out of choclate. I guess that is why they decided not to send up anything the first time.

The time we waited for room service that night was dissapointing. it is not like you have to cook champagne or strawberries. The next morning we ordered breakfast from room service (part of the romance package) and the breakfast arrived quickly and was very good.

The room itself was very large, clean, and comfortable. I thought it was a nice touch to have the french cable channel on the tv. Got a good nights sleep and it has a great location in the city.

I would recommend to a friend and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letsgostate94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. However, we are greatly disappointed with your experience with our room service. We strive to always be continuing to improve our hotel, and your comments help us do so. Our room service is usually very good with timing as you experienced with breakfast. We will be sure to mention your experience with our team as to make sure we don’t have another issue like it in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the near future for a more enjoyable romantic getaway.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

I was very impressed with the location of this hotel. We were a block away from main shopping area and tons of nice restaurants. Historic sites were not too far away walking or a short cab ride away. The bar inside the hotel was very nice as well. We did not eat at the onsite restaurant so I cannot comment on that. Room was a good size soft bed and very big bathroom. The one negative I would say about this hotel was we requested a double bed room but the hotel was sold out for that weekend. They provided us with a rollaway bed and unknown to us charged us $25 for the bed upon checkout. This left me with a bad impression of the customer service upon leaving. Other than that I would recommend this hotel to others and would stay there again but just making absolutely sure that we get the right room reservation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M0nicaW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We strive to be continually improving our hotel and your comments help us to do that. We are delighted that you were impressed with our hotel’s location, bar, rooms, and beds. However, we are disappointed that you were unable to receive the room type that you put in a request for. Other rooms types such as our suites with sofa beds would have been a better fit for your situation than a rollaway bed, and we will encourage our front desk team to upgrade guests if available when in similar situations for the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the near future to experience our new urban, chic lounge, Liberte, since you were unable to try on your last visit.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

A very very nice place. Met and exceeded expectations. Rooms are very spacious and well appointed. I've also stayed at the Westin down the street...I would choose Sofitel over the Westing.

Awesome beds!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nytraveling49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, with our spacious rooms and unique So-beds. We especially appreciate that you find our hotel to exceed expectations when there are so many other hotels in our great, downtown location.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the near future to experience our luxury amenities and great new urban, chic lounge, Liberte.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2011

I stayed here for a long weekend. Room was lovely- clean, modern and comfortable.
The hotel is a wonderful 4 star hotel in the heart of center city Philadelphia.
I have to say that the drinks at the bar were a little disappointing. I used to go to the bar at the Sofitel quite often in the past and this time my experience wasn't as good.
Overall this is a good hotel and I had a nice stay

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zermas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed our modern rooms and great location. However, we are greatly disappointed that you did not enjoy the drinks in our bar equally as much. We would like to remedy your past experience and encourage you to try our bar’s drinks again, as we are accustom to receiving great reviews. Our standards are to continually strive for excellence and we appreciate your comments so that we can continue to improve our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the near future with a guaranteed great overall experience.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
1,246 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,724 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

That´s a good option in Philies´ down town. Location is good for shopping ant tourism too. A quite, nice and spacious room is available, and the staff attention follows the very good way Sofitel of guesting.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GUSDALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
littlepeanut58, General Manager at Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2011
Bonjour,

Thank you for your comments. We are delighted that your enjoyed your stay with us at our great location along with our attention to detail staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Philadelphia in the near future to enjoy more shopping, tourism, and restaurants. We suggest you relax in our new urban chic lounge, Liberte and enjoy our great new menu.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel

Property: Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Address: 120 South 17th Street, (City Center West), Philadelphia, PA 19103-5115
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#6 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Philadelphia hotel blends French elegance with American style, providing a refined environment for upscale business and leisure travel. Experience this sophisticated downtown Philadelphia hotel, which serves as the cornerstone of the new French Quarter, steps from Rittenhouse Square. Offering the height of contemporary comfort and convenience, this downtown Philadelphia Pennsylvania hotel provides the ideal setting, just minutes from the convention center and historical attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Philadelphia
Accor Philadelphia Hotel
Philadelphia Sofitel
Sofitel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing