We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“worst place to stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Roosevelt Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Roosevelt Inn
Ranked #75 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“worst place to stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2008

if you like constant noise, doors slamming, hookers in the hallway. pot smell, this place is for you.also plan on not getting any sleep. the noise and people in the hallways is non-stop.i can't believe that ther could be so many rude, crude, and obnoxiuos people gathered in one place. and management doesn't care, i stayed at this place last year, and figured i'll give it another try. big mistake, i checked out a day early it was so bad!!!!!!!

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank philytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    4
    6
    16
See reviews for
4
7
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2007

The first thing you notice, is the thick bullet proof glass that the clerk sits behind at the check in desk. It is located in what I would consider a bad part of town. I stayed there for four nights and had no other choice but to continue my stay. The TV kept going in and out and the reception was bad. Most of the restaurants nearby did not appear to be any better than the hotel.
The rooms were clean though. And the listed bar and restaurant was only open two days out of the week. I will not be staying at this location if I have to travel in this area again.

  • Liked — the clean room and my last night knowing I was leaving soon.
  • Disliked — The rundown condition of the entire complex
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Stonewall112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Philadelphia hotels

Southeastern PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

I was hesitant after reading the reviews, but pleasantly surprised once I checked in and saw the accommodations. The price was right, the neighborhood was fine and more importantly, the place was clean. What do you expect in Northeast Philadelphia?? If you want a nice, affordable place to stay for the night, you can't go wrong. If you want to spend a fortune for a room, pay for parking and stay at a four or five star hotel, go to Center City. My only complaint was that someone was smoking pot in a (smoking) room down the hallway, but otherwise, I'd stay there again.

  • Liked — Good value... pleasantly surprised by how nice room was.
  • Disliked — Pot smoke in room down the hall.
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blustarz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scranton, pa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2007

Never Again!!!!!!!!!!!!! I called the hotel after reading the posted reviews, the manager told me the hotel had been totally remodeled. NOT!!!! rooms were filthy, our pipe on the bathroom sink busted and their way of fixing it was to send two cleaning women to place a bucket under it. there were prostitutes in the halls, no iron, dirty sheets. put us in a smoking room after requesting a non, b/c no other rooms were available b/c air conditioning was broke in half of the rooms. everything in the negative reviews are true!! Also, if you call they will tell you that it is the competition that is writing all this, that is what i was told about the other reviews. do yourself a favor, spend $20-30 more and get a decent room!!! Totally disgusting

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — service, cleanliness, sense of safety
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kimmy53176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKALEY, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2007

My husband and three small children checked into this hotel and me first impression walking in the front door was this is bad. The attendant was behind glass, the lobby stank and there weren’t even chairs or anything in the lobby for the guests. After getting to our room I was even more disgusted. The carpet was dirty and wet, there were holes in the ceiling and in the curtains and there was no blankets on the beds; we did however find blankets in the dresser after the front of the drawer fell off. The beds were terrible and I felt like if I used the shower I’d be dirtier than I was before I got
in. the AC also did not work and June in Philly is not the place to be without AC. in the morning I went to get something to drink from the vending machines with me daughter only to be asked by them what was in that white box, they were condoms, right next to the M&M's. We checked out that morning, our stay that was supposed to last 9 days was a 10hr event. This is not a please for families, or anyone who would like to sleep in a clean comfortable bed.

  • Liked — Lots of Parking
  • Disliked — Everything, This Place Was Dirt and Smelled
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ANNIE789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2007

I read the reviews on the web, and took the chance on the Roosevelt, as the price and locations were right. It actually turned out to be a very nice surprise - for my (very reasonable) room rate, I got a room with what looked like new furniture, a big, comfortable bed, a clean bathroom and a big TV. The halls looked nice (it looks like they just put in new carpets in the hallways) with actual artwork on many of the walls.

Overall, a pleasant surprise - a good hotel, a good location at a good price. I would most definitely recommend this to fellow travellors - it looks like after some difficult years that they've got their act together!

  • Liked — Seems to be a good value - clean rooms, good location
  • Disliked — Seems to have received bad reviews in the past
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank WorldTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2006

The room was awful, the rug was filthy, there were holes in the curtains and on the bedspreads, and the window was broken, not to mention the towels were dirty. There was no clock radio and no inhouse directory. The faculty had no personality, not welcoming at all and you hear everything from doors slaming to people talking.

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — everything besides the price
  • Tips/Secrets — Look elsewhere
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank cruz8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Philadelphia
2.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Philadelphia Northeast
15.6 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Tinicum Blvd.
7.0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Philadelphia Trevose
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Philadelphia NE - Bensalem
6.9 mi away
Sleep Inn , Inn & Suites
15.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Philadelphia - Airport - Bartram Ave.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roosevelt Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roosevelt Inn

Property: Roosevelt Inn
Address: 7600 Roosevelt Blvd, Philadelphia, PA 19152-4134
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Roosevelt Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Roosevelt Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roosevelt Hotel Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing