We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst "luxury" hotel ever”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Worst "luxury" hotel ever”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

This hotel makes Red Roof Inn look like the Plaza. The only good thing I can say about the Ritz Carlton Philadelphia is that the "ladies and gentlemen" of the staff try their best. But they have a very high mountain to climb. The rooms in this place should have been refurbished decades ago. And having the TV bolted to the bureau, and therefore unmovable, was a homey touch; are Ritz Carlton customers now stooping to stealing the TVs? Our visit happened to fall the weekend of a wedding, and our floor hosted 30 or so 2:30 a.m. post-wedding revelers, all trying to get into the same room to continue the party. Our call to the desk was met with the comment, "You know that we have a wedding here this weekend." What a hotel!

Room Tip: My advice -- go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sweetie38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olivia B, General Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Sweetie38
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay. I am thrilled to let you know that we are currently in the planning phases of our upcoming renovation. I would love the opportunity to speak with you if your time permits. I can be reached at 215-523-8242. Have a great day and I look forward to speaking with you.
Olivia Brown, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    375
    211
    106
    63
See reviews for
278
435
68
433
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

A great stay right in the heart of the city. One can never go wrong with the Ritz Carlton anywhere and this did not disapoint. Service is alwats impecable and it was. Lovely hotel in what was a bank back in the day. The romms are a bit modest, yet very nice. Great views of the city. Close to everything by walking. Great place.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WAREIAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
124 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We have been staying at the Ritz in Philly for years and have always felt it to be warm and welcoming. Located on Broad Street by City Hall the ritz is conveniently located. It is within walking distance to the convention center, shopping, the Kimmel, great restaurants, museums and a quick subway ride to the stadiums. The vibrant lobby is always alive with guests talking, eating, drinking and just enjoying the beautiful space. After a quick check in we go to a lovely room where the beds are very comfy. There is no mini bar but they always have water in the room and do offer room service. If you are in the mood for a massage they have spa services and a restaurant to the left of the large bar area. I recommend visiting the Ritz and enjoying what Philly has to offer.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Very nice hotel, I would rate 4.5 stars if available.

The staff were great and were very helpful.

Room was very nice, however, if you want a dark room at night, don't take a room facing City Hall - the room was bright through the night, the blinds did not help.

Room Tip: If you want a dark room at night, don't take a room facing City Hall - the room was bright throu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldyNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

This hotel is in a central location of Philadelphia. You could walk (c. 20-30 min) to the main museums, including the Barnes Foundation and Rodin Museum, as well as to different parts of the city (it is a 10 min walk to the smaller, but very beautiful Penn Academy of Fine Arts). For those of you who have been to the Ritz in Singapore, the one in Philly is less "waow", but then again, it is hard to compare since in different cities altogether.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BecharaYen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

I just spent two ninths at the Philadelphia Ritz Carlton. It is located in a former bank with a very cool lobby and bar area. Lots of marble in a big, open space. The rooms are comfortable but it was the little things that added up to an average overall stay. First, the beds are not very comfortable. Not what you would expect at this level of property. Second, there was not a working clock in the room. There was a clock radio on the desk, but the time was wrong, and I couldn't figure how to change it. It wasn't lit so you couldn't see it in the dark anyway, so I gave up on it. The desk are did not have a light, which wasn't a problem during the day, but problematic as I was working in the evening. The staff was friendly and the lobby bar was good for a light dinner.

Room Tip: I was in room 1621, which had a good view of city hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Obroberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at the Ritz-Carlton in Philadelphia for the first time, recently & found it to be a pleasant experience. We chose this property because of the location & it was perfect for our needs. The staff was extremely accommodating & the public areas of the property were impressive.

Our only minor disappointment was with our accommodations. For a Deluxe King room, we found the dimensions to be a bit tight. While the bathroom was lovely & well appointed, the door barely cleared the front edge of the toilet! Also, the carpeting & upholstered pieces were slightly worn & beginning to beg for an update.

On a more positive note, the bed was quite comfortable & the room was very clean. We also had a great view of the city! Since we weren't going to be spending much time there anyway, it completely satisfied our needs.

The 10 Arts Bistro serves a delicious breakfast & the wait staff was at our beck & call. Net/net, we would stay here again & would also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank khittinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
780 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102-2500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#14 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated neoclassical hotel set in a century-old landmark bank in downtown Philadelphia. The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia is a stately testament to the city and an exceptional place to experience all the city has to offer. Walk in the footsteps of America's forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in the heart of Center City and absorb the energy of the city as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing