We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Ranked #21 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I stayed for three nights, and the hotel's location was perfect. I was able to walk to a majority of great resturaunts, shopping and entertainment. The city atmosphere was great!! Overall great stay!!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank clfountainiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,624)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,081 - 1,087 of 1,624 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

We have stayed here at least six times. It is a really beautiful hotel, but on the lobby of an old bank building. The rooms are beautiful, the service excellent, the location great, the restaurant and bar spectacular. This is a wonderful, romantic hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stee E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

The Rittenhouse costs more, but the Ritz is more palatial. The lobby bar is over the top with veteran bartenders Mikel
and his able young assistant Fous serving the best martini you can imagine. Champagne on check in. Get a room with the last two digits 21 and you'll have a corner view that you'll not forget.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here this weekend as my husband was participating in the Philly marathon. They gave us a room - 1501 - by the elevator. Every 25/30 second, you hear one out of the six elevators go up or down the building. Even in the middle of the night. (All the rooms in this line have this noise problem!) Needless to say, a good night sleep is impossible. It's like having a bedroom in a bowling alley. Or sleeping in a subway station.

I ask the managers to spend a night in these room (and pay good money from their own pocket) and experience this torture. Only then will they stop "selling" these rooms.

When I complained last night, they acknowledged the problem and apologized. If they were aware of this issue, then why put any guests in the room??? No one should spend a night here AND pay for it! Shame on the Ritz!

Oh they offered us free breakfast for the "inconvenience"...my husband spent months training for the race. All he needed was a good nights rest, which he didn't get.

Room Tip: Avoid and go to another hotel. The lobby is a nightclub at night, with a DJ, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank May E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

I loved the lobby area, very spacious and open with beautiful décor. Rooms were nothing amazing, except for the bathroom which was huge with a spacious shower. The noise from the road below was ridiculous, but to be expected in a tight downtown area. The bar and restaurant were severely overpriced on drinks and food. I understand it's the Ritz, but their prices were silly high.

My wife arrived a couple days before me and when I got there, they could not get the key card to work properly. We also had towels with dried blood stains on them placed in the room one day. The staff was top notch and reacted immediately to correct any issue. This is a nice hotel with a convenient location, but you could probably do just as good or better for less money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cincytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I recently stayed at the Ritz Carlton Philadelphia for a business trip and overall I really liked the hotel.

The building itself is beautiful. The outside resemble the Pantheon and the inside lobby is stunning. The staff try really hard to make everything pleasant and they do their best to make your stay as pleasant as possible.

The complimentary coffee and tea are a nice touch in the AM.

The lounge is great, fantastic drinks and fabulous bartenders.

We didn't eat here so I cannot comment on the food.

The elevators in the hotel are very slow and make a lot of noise when the doors close. They definetly need to be replaced.

The rooms are nice, but are a bit tired and I had a nasty stain on my carpet that I was afraid to get to close to because I didn't want to know wha it was. The room was noisy and being next to the elevator, I could hear the elevator noise all through the night while sleeping.

Make sure that you are aware that this is no pool at this hotel.

Overall the staff was a 5, the general areas were a 5 and the rooms and decor were a 4.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor to get good views of the city. City Hall is spectacular at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dfc9258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Loved the history of this location. We arrived and they had a DJ playing for happy hour for the night we arrived. It was happening! It was July 4th week and a lot was going on. On the Weekend They had an old Charlie Chaplin movie showing at the top of the Dome in the foyer. It was cool. They had some interesting drink Tini's. I was surprised with all the activity in town that the Club Lounge was Closed. The rooms were old school but clean and spacious. The shower was modernish. Great Customer service entering and departing the hotel and there were cucumber water refreshments and rocket Popsicle. Breakfast was very good. We also enjoyed a very late night room service that arrived hot and timely. It was far enough away from the 4th of July concert but so close to Redding Sq and City Hall across the street.

Room Tip: We were on one of the top floors, quiet as a mouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricocaDallas_Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
829 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,481 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102-2500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#12 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $317 - $784 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated neoclassical hotel set in a century-old landmark bank in downtown Philadelphia. The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia is a stately testament to the city and an exceptional place to experience all the city has to offer. Walk in the footsteps of America's forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in the heart of Center City and absorb the energy of the city as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing