We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely old bank building in the City Center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Ranked #23 of 89 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The lobby is a mix of a traditional old bank building combined with some modern elements of lighting. Not sure I liked the combination but the lobby with the high ceilings and massive columns was very grand. The rooms were fine, not truly elegant like many of the Ritz hotels, but certainly clean and well maintained. We were there for a wedding and reception and they did a beautiful job on behalf of the bride and groom.
We weren't overly impressed with the bar staff. We were there Friday afternoon and didn't get table service for drinks or food but had to go to the bar ourselves to order.
Location is quite good. Walk one direction, in a lousy area, to the Liberty Bell and other historic buildings. Rittenhouse Square is in another direction and much livelier, attractive scene awaits. Good shopping, nice little restaurants and cafes.

Room Tip: I guess I would recommend a higher floor because the subway runs beneath the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,187 - 1,193 of 1,715 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is a very unique and quite interesting Ritz. Amazing lobby/entrance into the hotel!! The staff was lovely upon check in (Jimmy was great!!) and club level service was excellent. The rooms were smaller than normal at a Ritz and we had been upgraded to a superior suite with club access level. The staff went out of their way to upgrade us on our room/club level. The room was VERY clean, great featherbeds and linen as expected at a Ritz Carlton. The bathroom was spotless and a wonderful walk-in shower. Only negative thing I can say was about getting our car brought around by valet. We called ahead and was advised it would be a 15 minute wait. So we waited almost 15 minutes before leaving our room to check out and it took an extra 20 minutes waiting for the vehicle. Otherwise a lovely Ritz!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I wish I could give this hotel a 3.5 versus a full 4.

This hotel is very good and the service was on par. The location is absolutely spectacular (pharmacy, capital grille, club/bowling alley and bars within a 5 minute walk). The lobby is expansive and host a happening bar/restaurant.

The reason I didn't give it a higher score is because the rooms are average (but clean). Compared to other Ritz properties the rooms here are average with slightly dated bathrooms. But again this hotel is absolutely acceptable.

My rate was approximately $240/night (a conference rate).

The cab fare from the airport is about $28.50 one way.

Room Tip: The cab fare from the airport is about $28.50 one way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wetravelthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Was. Great few days. The club floor was so perfect. Everything your heart desires at pretty much anytime. Great service and delicious small meals. The hotel lobby is gorgeous and the location is in the middle of everything you want to do or be close to.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love5star18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Stayed at the Ritz for business. The hotel is located in a great location near city hall. One block from the orange line and a quick 5 minute cab ride (less than $10) to the train station. Walking distance to Reading Terminal market, Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other historical sites. Property provides free bottled water and chocolates at turn down. Did not visit the spa or fitness facilities. Lobby is stunning with a great bar for late night cocktails. Excellent and helpful as to be expected from a Ritz.

Strangely the mini bar was empty but you could phone in your request. Fridge located in room. Good wifi signal. Poor water pressure in the shower, but perhaps due to the fact we were on the 26th floor? Property was not as luxurious (linens, bath products, towels, etc.) at other Ritz properties or even some Four Seasons thus only a 4 rating. Def. worth a stay for the right price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michekara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

A beautiful historic building in the middle of all the action in Philadelphia. A block from the Union League and adjacent to City Hall.

Customer service is over the top outstanding even thought they were not able to get me into my room of choice. I arrive after THE WORST cab ride of my life and the porter immediately took over my bags and reported the driver. As soon as you walk into the marble columned lobby you feel calm, cool, and like you 'arrived'. The rooms are not over sized but the bathrooms certainly make up for the bedroom. Wow. The beautiful shower, private water closet, soaker tub with a view and high end toiletries felt spa-like.
The annoying faulty room cards did get a little irritating and the catacomb like meeting rooms that we spent the entire day in were a bit disappointing, but overall an amazing hotel that will leave a lasting impression for every visitor.

Room Tip: My room 2605 was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UWaterlooTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for a ladies weekend with someone from Philly. It was gorgeous. Champagne served on arrival was very welcome. The location is ideal for exploring Center City. There are many great restaurants well within walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank waldoinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 89 in Philadelphia
841 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#10 of 89 in Philadelphia
3,430 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 89 in Philadelphia
5,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Hyatt at The Bellevue
#32 of 89 in Philadelphia
1,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102-2500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $343 - $733 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated neoclassical hotel set in a century-old landmark bank in downtown Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia is a stately testament to the city and an exceptional place to experience all the city has to offer. Walk in the footsteps of America's forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in the heart of Center City and absorb the energy of the city as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing