We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“History and class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“History and class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

Gorgeous hotel with views of the square. I state here when I ran the Phikadelphia Marathon and got a great rate z I love the hotel bar. They also set up a great continental breakfast for runners. If you pay for the bath butler to draw you a bath you will NOT be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliHig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    631
    363
    202
    100
    60
See reviews for
264
412
66
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nyc
Level Contributor
216 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

I've stayed at this property more than a half dozen times for business and most recently this past weekend for a cultural visit. Like most Ritz Carlton's, the hotel staff is fabulous. Friendly, helpful and know how to resolve problems if they occur. The building is an amazing venue. Make sure to spend a bit of time at the bar. Get a north facing room, high floor room for an great view of city hall. All-in-all, really nice and a good location as well.

Room Tip: High floor, north facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michaelrnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittston, PA
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Checked into the Ritz Carlton, in town to catch a Phillies game with some friends. I reserved 2 rooms with Ritz Reward points. We were given two superior double/double rooms. The awesomeness of the Ritz Lobby is something that needs to be seen, giant stone pillars, the remnence of the bank that the building used to be. Our rooms looked out at the town hall and every thing was great. There were five of us and our front desk guy was happy to bring up a roll away and set it up in one of the rooms. Both were well stocked, minibars stocked, extra towels (as requested). The bar in the lobby was fantastic and all the staff really did everything they could to help.

when i arrived to check in the young man at the front desk (Ron, Ray), noticed that i was in a little distress. He inquired, and i expressed my nasty headache. then i asked if their was a sundries shop at the hotel, that i needed some excedrin. He said there was no shop, simply a sundries closet and it was out of excedrin. Then, he did something small that makes the Ritz Carlton, the Ritz Carlton. He sent someone to the local drugstore to pick me up some excedrin and delivered it to my room.

It is the little things that makes me pick the Ritz Carlton, time and time again.

I did not appreciate that the HVAC in the room was a bit dysfunctional (seemed to push out cold air and hot air hour to hour) or that the cordless phones didn't work. It is an old property, i don;t know its history, but it is safe to say one of the older buildings we have in this country so i can certainly let some things slide. It should be noted that these HVAC and electronic problems were only in one room, the other room was similar, and exceptional in every way.

What I found ridiculous was a $10 charge to use wifi in the room. I mean come on? can we jump over this already. It is the single most important amenity to a traveler and it is virtually free to provide, in fact most cheezy hotels have it. The Ritz not offering free wifi, is like McDonald's charging for Ketchup.

I will most certainly stay in this property again, it was above what i expected and many things about the property were spectacular. It, however, was the people that were working, from the extremely attentive, very young man working the front desk, to the simply stunning hostess that asked several times, without ever bothering, if we needed anything or any help with our evening plans.

Great Friday night at the Ritz, thanks for having us.

Room Tip: Higher floors are better. Much nicer view of the city. Club is worth the upgrade. Capital Grille...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimWPPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
177 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stay in a hotel just about once a week. The outstanding service at the Ritz is very noticeable. The lobby is just beautiful, very impressive. Rooms are smaller, but that's what I expect in an older downtown hotel. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EJG4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2012

the lobby is beautiful and the location is great. Cit Hall is literally outside the front of the hotel and it is close to everything in Center City. That said the rooms are very small, even for a big city hotel, althought the bathroom was quite spacious and the closet had plenty of room for hanging clothes. There was very limited space for folded clothes (only 3 small draws), and everytime the person in the next room opened/closed their door it was very loud. The rooms were clean and they do have turn down service, we were on the 26th floor in a corner room and it was quiet as far as street noise. The staff was friendly, courteous and helpful with the exception of the doormen, they were rude and inattentive. From we arrived in our rental car and didn't valet park it was as if we were not welcome. We had to unload the car ourselves and haul the bags up to the front of the hotel (there were 4 doormen/bellmen standing right there watching us), we arrived at 2 pm on a Thursday, they didn't even open the door for me and my 8 year old daughter, as my husband went to park the car. Although we stayed there for 4 days and nights we were never greeted or acknowledged by the doormen. The number of times my daughter had to struggle to open the door for us as our arms were full cannot be counted, on all of these occasions the doormen were either buys on their cell phones or talking to each other. The final insult was on the day we were leaving, as we left the hotel at 5:45 am there was not a doorman to be found the entrance was deserted. I did fillout the departure survey and Kristen from management called me to follow up and get details on this experience, hopefully they will address these concerns and correct this major issue.

Room Tip: ask for as a high a floor as possible closer to city hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cristina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

I had a runaway this weekend to the Ritz and was disappointed. The room was amazingly noisy. The air conditioning didn't work--even after engineering said it was fixed the temperature kept goin up. The roll on my burger was stale and hard.... I expected so much more.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
692 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

Nice hotel but not the level of service one would expect from this type if property.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cystokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt at The Bellevue
#32 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
City Center West
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia

Property: The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Address: 10 Avenue of the Arts, Philadelphia, PA 19102-2500
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#29 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#40 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia 5*
Number of rooms: 299
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly renovated neoclassical hotel set in a century-old landmark bank in downtown Philadelphia. The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia is a stately testament to the city and an exceptional place to experience all the city has to offer. Walk in the footsteps of America's forefathers and become a part of history. Stay in the heart of Center City and absorb the energy of the city as you spend your day exploring Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell and other cultural treasures. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton Philadelphia Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Ritz Carlton
Ritz Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing