We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
Nearby Hotels
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$144
$134
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown(Philadelphia)
$156
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$290
$271
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$158
$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
$159
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$237
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
$179
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,752)
Filter reviews
1,752 results
Traveler rating
849
432
256
131
84
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
849
432
256
131
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity hallclub levelbank buildinglobby barsuperior roombeautiful hotelwilliam pennbeautiful lobbyluxury hotelguest roomshigh floorbroad streetthe entire staffcorner roomstreet noisevalet parkingfew blocks
Filter
Updating list...
1,479 - 1,484 of 1,752 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Very beautiful hotel. You know you are in the best hotel in Philly when you walk in the lobby. The staff are excellent and so welcoming. Exactly what you need. If you are lucky enough to have a access to the club level you are in for a real treat. the hostess of the club level, Mimosa, really went out of her way to take care of us. I will go back to this hotel when I am in Philly. In as far as the room, it was a large room but it lacked the warmth of a typical Ritz Carlton. I don't know what it was missing but it was missing something. The carpet was slightly dirty with a few stains that appeared hard to remove. The door to the hallway did not seal properly and we encountered some noise from the hallway but that was minimal. We loved the iphone enabled radio and the bed was incredible. Had an excellent night of sleep.Overall I would go back to this hotel in a heartbeat. The staff and the architecture made it something not to be missed in Philly. One final thing: Some rooms have views of City Hall and they are worthwhile only if they are roomy enough. Our room did not have a view but the view was still very nice all the way up on the 24th floor.

Room Tip: Choose a view of the City Hall but make sure it is a nice sized room.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

I was surprised that this is part of the AMEX Platinum fine hotels program. the hotel was a "better" Marriott. the linens/bed were not the normal plush Ritz style, the room amenities were lower end (than the usual Ritz choices), and the wallpaper/rugs/room decor were tired. we enjoyed meeting Sabastian (good luck with your music!).

Room Tip: lower floors can hear street noise. try to get 12 or higher. don't be near the the elevators. they are noisy as are the people waiting.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MMdeluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Have stayed multiple times on a corporate rate for leisure. Fantastic personalized service, impeccable attention to detail, very clean, excellent staff and beautiful rooms. Yes, food etc is very overpriced but do yourself a favour and take a walk - there are plenty of options nearby.

Ask for a high floor and enjoy the views across Philly. Del Frisco nearby is a good dinner option (not cheap!)

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank London_Wanderlust81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Some of the below reviews are lame, if you ask me. The rooms are quite large- I was in a standard room and the bathroom was literally almost as large as the bedroom and sitting area. This is classic Ritz style- plush, comfortable, elegant. The location is extremely central and the building itself- the most beautiful interior (bank building) with incredible architecture. I do think the modern pink/orange lights are very strange- I like the infusion of classic and modern, however in this case, it makes it seem a bit too loungy and cheesy. All in all, it's definitely my favorite in the city. There is nothing like the experience of walking into the main lobby - definite wow factor.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clutchbomb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

I have stayed at the Ritz three times for business in 2011. Each time the hotel was top notch. My room has alway been very nicely appointed. My most recent trip was the week before Christmas. I was upgraded to a junior suite which was very nice. The beds and bathrooms in the hotel are very nice. The service at the front desk and restaurant could not have been better. The hotel itself is very beautiful and is ideal for a a business traveler. I recommend it strongly.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelGuestTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews