We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome surprise in Center City Philadelphia”
Review of The Windsor Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Windsor Suites
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Lewisburg, West Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A welcome surprise in Center City Philadelphia”
Reviewed February 20, 2010

I decided at the last minute to go to my meeting the night before to avoid traffic in the morning. I noted that in other reviews, noise had been sited as a negative. When I enquired about price and avilability, I asked for a quiet room. I booked a room with one queen bed. Reservations were made very easily and professionally in a friendly manner.

The hotel is in the north part of downtown with parking adjacent for an additional fee which included the day of my meeting. Staff was attentive, friendly and accommodating. They held my luggage for the day after I checked out.

My accomodations were clean, comfortable and quiet. Interesting set up with a coat closet, a linen closet and a walk in closet as well as a small full kitchen. One could stay there for an extended period comfortably.

An older building which has been updated and maintained. Not fancy, but more than fine.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    457
    114
    54
    40
See reviews for
382
370
83
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Joy, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2010

Pros: Walking into the lobby is very beautiful. Amazing staff, they were a helpful and prompt service. The level of security made us feel very safe (had to use your room key to get access to the elevator). Beds were very comfortable. Hallways were quiet. Valet parking was nice to have, didn't have to worry about finding a place to park. You can take your car in and out of the garage as many times as you want. Bathrooms were amazing, very up to date. The bath handles were old fashioned with a modern appeal. Flat screen t.v's. Pool is there, but used seasonally. Fitness center that has 24/7 access (treadmills and weights). Two restaurants in the hotel with room service. Room came with utensils. Large closets, we had 2 walk-ins and a linen closet.

Cons: Parking costs way too much. We weren't even there for 24 hours and had to pay $31.01 - hotel should pro-rate for guests staying one night. In the queen bed suites the kitchen was blocked off and very small. The appliances were very out of date (fridge, dishwasher and stove/oven). Wasn't informed that you had to ask for cookware (sauce pans, cutting board, cooking sheet). We went down to the front desk and told them we had no cookware and it was then they informed us that you had to ask for them. When we got the cooking sheet it was too big for the oven (the width of the oven was very small) . Couldn't close the door with the cooking sheet. Called the front desk back and asked for a smaller size, they told us they didn't have any more (out of 200+/- rooms?). The room felt out dated. The wall paper was turning brown from age. The dishwasher had rust. We smelled smoke at random times in the night, in our smoke-free room (almost as if someone was in our room smoking). Probably from the past. There was no thermostat in the room. The heating unit in our room was very old. You had to go over to the unit and lift a panel and turn the knobs (which were dusty and very old looking). We booked our room on their website almost a month in advance and when we arrived, they informed us that they didn't have any single-bed rooms only double (but they were able to find us a room).

Overall is was an okay stay, but personally we wouldn't stay again and not reccomend this hotel to any friends.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2010

The room is very large for a downtown hotel in Philly. While it's not dirty, it's not very clean either. Price is basically good The only issue that I have is with the Bed and Breakfast package. On the website, the package starts at $107 and it comes with "full breakfast." When I called to reserve, I was told it will be $130 a night instead. Since the $107 is the starting price as stated in the web and most of the hotels in the area have rooms starting around $200, I made the reservation anyway. In the meanwhile, my co-worker who was going to stay there was quoted a price of $89 a night without breakfast.
$40 a day for breakfast seemed like a lot but since I was still paying less than at the other hotels without breakfast, it seemed okay. Wrong!
First I was given coupons for continental breakfast valued at $5.99 a day by the front desk. After arguing with the front desk and then escalated to the manager, they finally agreed that it was a mistake and gave me the full breakfast coupon. Guess what? The so called "full breakfast" is limited to $11.99 and not including drinks. Half of the items on the menu cost more than that. I wouldn't call that a "full breakfast". And it took so long to arrive that it's not worth it for a business travel. If you want to stay at this hotel, go for the basic rate and spend your $40 at breakfast somewhere else.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2010

Pros: Clean large rooms, fast and friendly service, easy walking distance to the CBD and museums. Pleasant longer walks to historical areas. Pleasant quiet room on the 11th fl at back of hotel. We had no car, just walked and bussed.
Con: Slightly smokey smell in carpet in hallways from a long time past. But still, very liveable and great value. Breakfast included ! Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Garry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, FL
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2010

We love the Windsor. We stayed 12-29-09 to 12-31-09. We feel like we are family and were greeted with a "Welcome Back" gift consisting of a coffee mug filled with candy. The rooms are spacious and we would not weven consider staying anywhere else. Angela in reservations gave us the room we requested. As usual our expectations were met and more with the hotel. We stayed there July also and can't wait to come back in Feb.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigpaJacksonville_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2009

I stayed here with my husband and sisters to explore Philadelphia. The weather was really bad while we were here so we spent more time in the hotel than we usually would. However, as the suites are so spacious there was plenty of room for us to hang out together in one room and the bar downstairs gave us a further outlet. The food was also really good in the bar downstairs. When we did go out, we walked to most of the attractions and shops that were nearby but we got a taxi to go down to Independence park. Both rooms were clean and the beds were comfortable. They also gave us rooms next to each other. We got a great rate for the rooms even though it was close to Christmas. I agree with some of the other posts on here-you do have to wait a bit for the elevators and the parking is pretty pricey. However, for us the parking was worth it as we didn't have to drive around a strange city looking for parking in bad weather.

I have re-booked this hotel for our next trip to Philly as they had a great package with tickets to Bodyworlds and a free breakfast so my husband and i are looking forward to our next adventure.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhughe39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
964 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2009

Although a little dated you can not trade the excellant service and proce for some of the pricer hotels in center city. We actually stayed at the Ritz the two ngihts before and were charged for internet access which was free and easy at the Windsor.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rduinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,044 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,269 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Suites

Property: The Windsor Suites
Address: 1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2735 (Formerly Hotel Windsor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windsor Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DOWNTOWN PHILADELPHIA HOTEL - UNIQUE URBAN HOTEL SUITES Experience modern urban living at The Windsor Suites, your home away from home in downtown Philadelphia. A perfect blend of modern comfort and authenticity, our hotel captures the spirit of discovery and innovation instilled by Benjamin Franklin. Discover the city as you walk out our front doors and visit any one of the renowned arts and cultural destinations at your fingertips, such as The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Comcast Center, and Rittenhouse Square. Our spacious studio and one-bedroom suites feature fully equipped kitchens, living and dining space, and breathtaking skyline views to suit both business and leisure travelers. Savor traditional Irish cuisine at Con Murphy's, stay connected in our fully equipped business center, or host an event in the flexible 1,900 square foot meeting space. When it is time for fitness and wellness, re-charge in our fitness center, or lounge by our rooftop pool overlooking the city. Regardless of your purpose for visiting Philadelphia, you'll find that Windsor Suites embodies the genuine warmth and pride that our great city is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Windsor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Execustay Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing