We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Windsor Hotel Ok; parking terrible”
Review of The Windsor Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Windsor Suites
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
Harrisburg, Pa
14
Reviewed June 30, 2006

The Windsor hotel was ok, but have stayed at better hotels in the area for less money. Parking attendents at the hotel are not very friendly. We called the front desk to ask if they would call the garage for out car and they said they do not offer this service. It took 20 minutes to get our car from the garage and we had to go from the parking garage back to the front desk back to the garage in order to get a special in/out pass. The hotel was clean, but the two restaraunts in the hotel do not offer breakfast and its very challnging to find a place to eat on a Sunday morning.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,406)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,216 - 1,222 of 1,406 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Big Stone Gap, VA.
13
Reviewed June 19, 2006

The four of us traveled to tour the USS New Jersey on which my brother-in-law had served. We stayed three nights at this hotel. WE LOVED IT!!!The room was clean, quiet and very spacious. The closet space was unreal. We were on the sixth floor and really enjoyed sitting on the balcony. We moved the dining room chairs back and forth to the balcony. I suggest there be chairs or lounges on the balcony. The staff WERE SO FRIENDLY, HELPFUL, AND WONDERFUL. They gave us directions for our journey to Camden and told us if we could not find our way back to the hotel, they would send someone for us. You do not ge this kind of service anywhere else. We were also told if we needed medical attention for my brother-in-law, they would call for someone to help him. The over all service could not have been any better. It is without hesitation that I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL. ALSO TO THE FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL PEOPLE OF PHILLY AND CAMDEN THANK YOU for our memorable trip.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Riga, Latvia
27
Reviewed June 4, 2006

Overall, I think this place is good value for money. The location is very convenient. The room was very big, with two walk-in closets, a hall, and a kitchen. The place was reasonably clean and relatively well maintained. However, the service could have been better. I arrived three hours before the check-in time and was told I could check into a smoker room immediately, but would have to wait till 3pm for a non-smoker room (which I had requested). I left my things in the luggage room and went for a sightseeing. However, the room that I got at the official check-in time smelled just like a smoker room. It was not worth waiting for three hours. Moreover, the check-in itself was not without incidents. I think they are using some low-tech system for assigning the rooms, because instead of the computer screen, the front-desk clerk was looking for the room numbers on a paper sheet. He kept telling me that he had a great room for me; when I went up to the room, I was shocked to dicover that there were people living there already. The clerk was very apologetic. I thought the incident was pretty funny after all the upsell, but people in that room probably did not feel the same way... But otherwise my stay there was quite pleasant. There was a free (and very fast) Internet access in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2006

I stayed at the Windsor this week for two nights, along with my mother (in a separate room). A few things....

1) The first rooms we were given had doors and windows that didn't lock (on a ground floor where people could climb in), and smelled terribly like curry. (I love curry, but this was a sickening smell).

2) The second set of rooms we were given had bathtubs that wouldn't drain (I couldn't even take a shower without the water overflowing the entire bathtub), rooms that smelled terrible, cracks in the walls, half painted walls, tons of noise on the outside....and to top it all off, someone came in my room while I was gone and used the restroom without flushing the toilet! (I know this because I didn't use the bathroom that morning, and when I came back to my room, it was full of urine).

Overall, a terrible stay. The people are unfriendly, unsupportive - the place is run down and needs some major investment. Great location, horrible hotel. Stay away and check in next door at the Embassy Suites. (Same price, much better hotel)

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sweetdaisy233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Los Gatos, CA
11
Reviewed March 29, 2006

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
near Boston, Massachusetts
19
Reviewed February 20, 2006

9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2006

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Martrese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,344 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Suites

Address: 1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2735 (Formerly Hotel Windsor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $133 - $566 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windsor Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DOWNTOWN PHILADELPHIA HOTEL - UNIQUE URBAN HOTEL SUITES Experience modern urban living at The Windsor Suites, your home away from home in downtown Philadelphia. A perfect blend of modern comfort and authenticity, our hotel captures the spirit of discovery and innovation instilled by Benjamin Franklin. Discover the city as you walk out our front doors and visit any one of the renowned arts and cultural destinations at your fingertips, such as The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Comcast Center, and Rittenhouse Square. Our spacious studio and one-bedroom suites feature fully equipped kitchens, living and dining space, and breathtaking skyline views to suit both business and leisure travelers. Savor traditional Irish cuisine at Con Murphy's, stay connected in our fully equipped business center, or host an event in the flexible 1,900 square foot meeting space. When it is time for fitness and wellness, re-charge in our fitness center, or lounge by our rooftop pool overlooking the city. Regardless of your purpose for visiting Philadelphia, you'll find that Windsor Suites embodies the genuine warmth and pride that our great city is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Windsor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Execustay Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing