We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks Windsor”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Windsor Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Windsor Suites
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, FL
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Thanks Windsor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

I can't help but love, love, love this hotel in the City of Love. After visiting at the Windsor several times over the past 5 years, this hotel never fails to disappoint. The room (1108) was huge and impeccably clean with a gorgeous view of the parkway. From Angela in reservations to Zarena at the front desk and also Eric, the lobby attendent make us feel so welcome at this unique boutique hotel. You can't beat the location in Center City, walking distance to everything and very convenient to the Suburban Train Stop ( we always take from the airport, $8 per person) The rooms are gigantic and decorated with beautiful furniture and the kitchens in every room have stainless steel appliances, garbage disposals, dishwashers (which the hotel supplies detergent), refrigerators, stove/oven, microwave and we appreciate the Keurig coffee pots. We just got home yesterday and already I am wanting to make my next reservation at the Windsor. The staff always make us feel so very special and we appreciate that. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigpaJacksonville_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear bigpaJacksonville_FL,
Thank you for your wonderful review if your recent stay with us. As always, we are happy when you return to stay with us, and we are thrilled when our colleagues provide the exceptional service that you recognize. We have shared your kind comments with them.
We look forward to welcoming you back to your Windsor family.
Thank you for being our guest!
Kind regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    647
    440
    113
    53
    40
See reviews for
366
353
83
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland Park, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

From the second I checked in at the Windsor to the second I check out.... 3 nights, four days... it was perfect for this seasoned traveler, rooms clean, large rooms.... and quite.... in the center of things but no city noise due in part to its pastoral location in Center City,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankDaloisio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear FrankDaloisio,
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay here at The Windsor Suites. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope you'll visit us again soon.
Thanks for choosing us.
Warm regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

First, the good. We booked (via the hotel's website) the Philadelphia Museum Package which included valet parking for one car, a pair of general admission tickets to either the Philadelphia Museum of Art or The Franklin Institute, overnight accommodations for two in a studio or one bedroom suite, and breakfast for two at the downstairs restaurant, Con Murphy's. It sounded perfect.

Our room was comfortable, clean, and well accommodated. I'm including photos so you can see.

Now, the rest. Upon checking in, the desk clerks seemed unfamiliar with our package's included museum tickets to the Philadelphia Museum of Art but they worked it out and within ten minutes, the bell-person delivered to our room two expired museum tickets along with a business card and explanation that the hotel staff just spoke with the museum staff, and should we have any problems using the expired tickets at the museum, we should ask the museum to call the hotel. So, there was that.

Later in the evening, while trying to get a card or quarters for the washers and dryers located on our floor, my husband mistakenly used the staff elevator a few times which apparently upset someone at the front desk as he informed my husband that the elevator he used was for employees only even though we didn't see any indication - like a sign - of this information. My husband was merely using the closest elevator.

The bill that was slid under our door during the night had a charge for valet parking which was included in our purchased package. We went downstairs to sort it out and upon talking to the front desk clerk about the mistake, I had to prove to him that I was correct by emailing him a screenshot from my cell phone of the parking-included-package we booked at the hotel. Thankfully, I had the screenshot on my phone. Why this was an issue is beyond me but it was, so there you go.

This brings us to breakfast where the front desk clerk told us to inform the restaurant employees that our breakfast was included in our hotel room rental. Fortunately, that worked, but telling them our meal was supposed to be complimentarily felt weird.

Then, there's the parking. Unlike other hotels, we always had to wait for our car in the hot garage even though we called ahead. I know we waited in there for maybe ten minutes one time which was a real downer on vacation.

Because I want to leave on a good note, our housekeeper was a pure delight as were the bellmen we met. The valet parking attendants were also very nice, even in the heat.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank childfree_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear childfree_traveller,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us here at The Windsor Suites. We depend on guests like you who are willing to let us know when we fail to deliver, so that we can make the necessary changes to improve.
We would like to apologize for the unfortunate experiences you had, and thank you for your patience. Clearly, we dropped the ball on your package arrangements, and for that we are sorry. It should never have happened, but your comments has offered us the opportunity to review our processes, and we are now correcting our shortfalls. Again, thank you.
We would also like to apologize for our impatience at your husband using the service elevator.
Our priority is the safety of our guests, and using that elevator without proper supervision
exposes our guests to potential harm from equipment and materials that we use that elevator to transport.
Our garage is unfortunately very small , with limited space for staging vehicles. As a result, we are unable to offer guests the opportunity to call ahead for their cars. There is simply no space to stage these cars while waiting for guests to retrieve them. We have however, asked the garage to explore ways to reducing the wait time, as well as making the waiting area a bit more comfortable.
We are grateful that you also took the time to acknowledge the great service you received from the housekeeper, bellmen and valet. It tells us that despite the unfortunate experiences, all is not lost, and there were some positive takeaways.
Thank you again for staying with us, and sharing your feedback. We assure you that we are using your comments to improve our service, and ask that you give us another opportunity to serve you, so that we can show you that we know how to do it right.
Kind regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Overall I liked this place. Big room, good service and reasonable price. My big problem was poor, unpredictable Internet. That actually became a reasonable problem when trying to do work and the service would drop out for periods. So, if Internet is not that important to you then I would say go for it. If it is (as it was for me), I'd think twice.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Figment_AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Hi Figment_AU,
We are pleased that you liked our hotel.
Please accept our regret that our wi-fi did not work as expected. We are working with our wi-fi vendor to improve our service, and we are sure that you'll notice a significant improvement on your next visit.
Thank you for staying with us, and for your feedback.
Warm regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

I was surprised how spacious the rooms were, especially coming from a cramped New York hotel room. The bathrooms were bit small and the giant sucking sound the toilet made when flushed was little unnerving. But this place has a lot of positives: great location, friendly and helpful staff, two onsite restaurants, and a full kitchen for those planning a longer stay. The single-serve Keurig coffee machine was a nice touch also along with free wifi. There was a drainage problem with the tub that the hotel fixed right away.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Abhay P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, September 4, 2014
Dear Abhay P,
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay with us. It was our pleasure to serve you, and we hope you will visit us again soon.
Warm regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

4th of July with the family I called ahead to make sure I was booking a room with balcony once I arrived I was told I have to pay $70 more because I booked with a third party sight. Ordered a roll away bed and was told the hotel was out of beds so the kids slept on the floor with blankets. Couldn't get a late checkout I was told They are over the limit for Kate checkouts people that book threw the hotel get first choice. Smh !!!!! The suite was really nice the location great the kitchen was awesome . You just can't expect to be treated along the same lines as guest that book threw the hotel. If Embassy Suites had a pool. If I was just rating the hotel I would have to give it a 4 . I'll try again to see if it was the holiday or third party treatment.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear MissPhila,
Thank you for your review of your stay with us last weekend. We regret that you felt that you were treated differently because you booked on a 3rd party website. We apologize sincerely, and assure you that regardless of your booking method, you are a guest of The Windsor Suites, and it is our mission to provide you with the same exceptional comfort and caring service as everyone else.
We have a limited number of balcony suites that are not available on 3rd party websites. These suites are a higher room category than our standard suite that you booked, and there is a difference in the rate that we would require you to pay, for that upgrade.
We are sorry that we were unable to provide you with the late checkout and roll-away that you requested. July 4th is usually an extremely busy holiday for us. A late checkout is usually challenging to accommodate when we are sold out (as we were), as it does not give our housekeeping staff adequate time to clean and prepare our rooms before other guests begin to arrive. We did extend checkout for an additional hour for those who requested it, however.
We do keep a number of roll-away beds in stock, and secured more in anticipation of last minute requests for this holiday. Unfortunately, the demand was greater than we expected and we simply did not have enough. May we suggest that in the future, you make this request ahead of time?
MissPhila, again, please accept our apologies that you felt we treated you differently. Our guests are important to us regardless of how they book, and we welcome everyone equally. We have reached out to you privately, and should you wish to discuss this with us further, may we invite you to get in touch using the contact information provided?
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again.
Regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

I am a bit torn about this place. I really enjoyed the location, the kitchen, and spacious closets. The staff is wonderful and will bend over backwards to accommodate you. The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. My only complaint is that the bathroom is so small. If you don't mind a small bathroom, then the hotel is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetoski1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear lovetoski1973,
Thank you for choosing us for your recent visit to Philadelphia. We are happy you enjoyed our location, the comfort of our rooms, and our staff. We do use our guest feedback to let us know what is special, or not so special about our suites. While the size of the bathroom is not something we are able to change with our recent renovations, we did convert one of the closets close to the bathroom into a vanity area with a stool and proper lighting to allow for more comfort when applying makeup as well as hair styling. We hope the size of our bathrooms will not prevent you from staying with us again.
Thank you for choosing us, and for your review.
Best regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Suites

Property: The Windsor Suites
Address: 1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Hotel Windsor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Windsor Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DOWNTOWN PHILADELPHIA HOTEL - UNIQUE URBAN HOTEL SUITES Experience modern urban living at The Windsor Suites, your home away from home in downtown Philadelphia. A perfect blend of modern comfort and authenticity, our hotel captures the spirit of discovery and innovation instilled by Benjamin Franklin. Discover the city as you walk out our front doors and visit any one of the renowned arts and cultural destinations at your fingertips, such as The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Comcast Center, and Rittenhouse Square. Our spacious studio and one-bedroom suites feature fully equipped kitchens, living and dining space, and breathtaking skyline views to suit both business and leisure travelers. Savor traditional Irish cuisine at Con Murphy's, stay connected in our fully equipped business center, or host an event in the flexible 1,900 square foot meeting space. When it is time for fitness and wellness, re-charge in our fitness center, or lounge by our rooftop pool overlooking the city. Regardless of your purpose for visiting Philadelphia, you'll find that Windsor Suites embodies the genuine warmth and pride that our great city is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Windsor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Execustay Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing