We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and huge rooms!”
Review of The Windsor Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Windsor Suites
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect location and huge rooms!”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with my partner for our first ever time in Philadelphia. We were so impressed, our room was huge and we had a full kitchen and fridge if we decided to cook. The location was perfect, right in the heart of everything. We ate in the Asian restaurant attached to the hot as we only had one night in Philly, and it was delicious and super cheap!! It was so lovely to sit outside also and watch the city go by as we enjoyed our meal! Would definitely return!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LeanneandAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear LeanneandAndrew,
We are always thrilled when our guests leave us happy. Thank you for sharing your great comments. We would love to have you again, so please call us directly so that we can help you plan your next visit.
Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to see you again soon!
Regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    457
    114
    54
    40
See reviews for
382
370
83
208
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ipswich
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

Good central location and lovely swimming pool on the roof, the rooms are spacious and decently appointed. The entire stay for us was marred by the all pervading tobacco smoke smell that pervaded the hotel and totally ruined by the extremely rude and unhelpful staff including the manager.

If I was only thinking of location then I'd recommend it, but as an overall package I certainly wouldn't.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WestieHenners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Dear WestieHenners,
Thank you for staying with us recently, and for your review. We are disappointed that you were not happy with our accommodations, and we apologise that things did not go as expected. We are a completely non-smoking hotel, and for the comfort and safety of our guests, we employ a zero tolerance to any hint of smoking in the building. We also do apologise for any unfortunate behaviour you experienced from our staff. We have reached out to you for assistance with additional details which we will use to identify areas for retraining. We hope you will help us in that regard.
Thank you for choosing us. We hope that you will reconsider us for a future stay.
Regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Our view was City Hall, a beautiful building, we just couldn't stop looking at it! We came from touring New York to Philadelphia so it was like going from a shoe box to a mansion in room size! The room we had (2 double beds) was large, very large, lots of walk space between the beds and at the end of the beds. Large walk in cupboards too. The kitchen was an absolute bonus, nice to be able to cook a bit of breakfast to start the day especially after going 8 days without this option. We only had one problem and that was when they lost power in the early hours of the morning, don't know whose fault it was but it was a bit of a problem as the air con went out but it didn't last too long fortunately. Valet parking next door was brilliant, so super easy and the staff there were very friendly. There is a pub/restaurant below the hotel which we went to for dinner twice and had great meals. Hubby went there for a night cap most nights and also found it to be a good experience. Yes, I would return to the Windsor Suites, it's an easy walk to the Franklin museum, the Eastern State Penitentiary, the city centre and the city market.

Room Tip: A room with a view at the front of the hotel is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louby76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Louby76,
We are so pleased you had a great stay with us recently, and that you have chosen to share your comments with the Tripadvisor community. Our spacious rooms and fully equipped kitchens, as well as our convenient location always combine to make us an appealing hotel choice. We are thrilled when our guests are able to take advantage of all that we have to offer.
Thank you again for staying with us.
Warm regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We booked this hotel as a last resort and boy was my initial instinct not to stay there correct! Admittedly the room was clean and adequate (no hangers in the closet but that was quickly remedied). The real problem was that at 7 :30 on Sunday morning the fire alarm went off, woke us up from sound sleep and we were left hanging without poor instructions as to what to do. We were told to wait in our room, which is what we did even though the fire instructions on the door say go to the fire stairwell and evacuate. We waited and waited and waited. Meanwhile various alarms intermittently went off but no one told us anything else to do. Finally after about 1 hours and countless alarms, I called the front desk and was told by the perky receptionist that it was a false alarm. Why weren't we contacted? While relieved that there was no fire or other danger, I think it is outrageous that we were not better informed. We felt abandoned on the 16th floor. If there had been a real siuation someone (us) might have been hurt. I think a hotel has an obligation to take care of guests more responsibly than this one. You shouldn't have to sacrifce your safety when you stay in a hotel.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gaysy700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Gaysy700,
Thank you for your frank comments with regards your recent stay with us. Please be assured that our number one priority is the comfort and safety of our guests. We sincerely regret the disturbance created by the fire alarm, which reacted to a perceived threat. While we were relieved that there was not an actual fire, we have taken note of your concerns, and we are actively working on improving our communications to better update and reassure all our guests.
Please accept our apologies that your stay did not go as expected. We thank you for staying with us, and for your feedback.
Best regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We arrived at the Windsor at around 10pm after a delayed flight. The man working at the desk at night of the January 4th did not seem hospitable. Maybe it was his demeanor but I didn't think anything of it being a born and raised Philadelphian. We booked our room through PriceLine at a pretty decent rate so I handed the man my ID and credit card and he went typing away at his keyboard. He asked if I had the reservation in a paper form or in my email. I said yes, do we need it? Never in my check-in process unless going to an all-inclusive resort or local bed and breakfast did I need to provide documentation about my stay. After all, everything we needed was right on his computer including my full name, address, and credit card. After I finally brought out my phone to look for the reservation he said don't worry about it, I will just call you if we have an issue, whats your cell phone number? I gave the man my cell phone number but informed him it is 10pm at night and I would rather not be called until 9am the next day.

We went up to the room which was actually pretty nice. Balcony with a full size kitchen. There was plenty of closet space given that this location could be used for extended stays. The bathroom was also clean and up to date. The TV remote didn't work but that's no big deal since I was shortly going to head off to bed.

At around 6:30am-7am the fire alarm went off and the recorded voice informed us that the fire alarm went off but please stay in our rooms. I understand things like this happen and I would rather be safe than sorry so I get on my pants and jacket and prepare to head down if it comes down to it. Around 7:30am there was no more alarms. Were we okay to stay here or did I miss a memo? I feel like an "all clear" on the intercom to all rooms would have been the way to go and put me back into comfort. As I walked to the hotel room door I noticed a paper on the ground. It was a bill for $162 and some change. I really did not understand why I was being charged this amount since I paid in full on PriceLine. At this point between the check in, the alarm miscommunication and this bill I headed down to the lobby where the front desk clerk wasn't sure why this was charged but he would let his supervisor know but he saw that I paid on PriceLine. This man was very helpful out of all staff.

I checked out shortly after and headed to another hotel nearby that would let me check-in early. I would only return to this place if I needed an extended stay or all other hotels were sold out.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Dear Nick S,
Thank you for staying with us recently, and for sharing your comments. We would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced, and that your stay did not go as expected.
We have reviewed your concerns, and discovered that at the time of check-in, we had not yet received from your booking source the complete information needed to process your reservation. This resulted in our Front Desk agent asking for additional information from you, so that we could follow up with your booking agency. This was not resolved in a timely manner, and unfortunately our automated system generated the bill which you received. Again, we apologize for that complication, as our aim is to make your stay as seamless and comfortable as possible.
We have noted your comments about the fire alarm, and have forwarded them to our Engineering Department and the fire alarm company to improve our notifications, thus assuring the comfort and confidence of our guests.
We are happy to note that you found our guest room comfortable, and suitable for an extended stay.
Nick, the management and staff of The Windsor Suites take all our guests’ feedback to heart. We use the reviews, both positive and negative, as tools to help us improve our service. We thank you for bringing these concerns to our attention, and assure you that we will be addressing each one.
We hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you. Please feel free to contact us directly for assistance with making future reservations.
Thank you for staying with us.
Regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hershey
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

What started out as a 4 night stay resulted in a 6 night delight. We happily got 2 extra days to enjoy the hospitality of this uncommonly friendly staff, and helpful hints. Where the best delivery Pizza came from, hailing us cab's in seconds etc. The hotels location was fantastic. The attached Irish bar was cozy with good food. The Asian restaurant was also a plus. We will stay here again, when in PHL.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony. We liked the 8th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pamela Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Pamela Y,
We are thrilled to read your great comments about your time with us recently, and that you got to spend an extra two days to enjoy our hospitality. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and for sharing your feedback. We hope you'll return soon.
Best regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

At first I was a lil skeptical for going to philly, but the Windsor suites changed that all for me. Me and my wife went for the Made in America festival, and she LOVED it. The hotel was amazing, the location was amazing. Right across from us was a park and your right in the heart of the city. The room was clean, spacious, huge closet, decent bathroom, and the kitchen was convenient. Due to the concert and our location we got a chance to see a lot of celebrities walking in the street which made our stay even better. This will be a yearly visit for us, hands down.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Serge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, December 27, 2013
Dear Serge C,
We are so happy you decided to stay with us for the Made in America concert. Our location on the Ben Franklin Parkway is the perfect base for such an event, so please make sure you book early if you plan to return next year, as we expect to be fully booked again. Do call us directly for the best rates.
Thank you again for choosing us, and for your review.
Warm regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,037 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,267 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
788 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Suites

Property: The Windsor Suites
Address: 1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2735 (Formerly Hotel Windsor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windsor Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DOWNTOWN PHILADELPHIA HOTEL - UNIQUE URBAN HOTEL SUITES Experience modern urban living at The Windsor Suites, your home away from home in downtown Philadelphia. A perfect blend of modern comfort and authenticity, our hotel captures the spirit of discovery and innovation instilled by Benjamin Franklin. Discover the city as you walk out our front doors and visit any one of the renowned arts and cultural destinations at your fingertips, such as The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Comcast Center, and Rittenhouse Square. Our spacious studio and one-bedroom suites feature fully equipped kitchens, living and dining space, and breathtaking skyline views to suit both business and leisure travelers. Savor traditional Irish cuisine at Con Murphy's, stay connected in our fully equipped business center, or host an event in the flexible 1,900 square foot meeting space. When it is time for fitness and wellness, re-charge in our fitness center, or lounge by our rooftop pool overlooking the city. Regardless of your purpose for visiting Philadelphia, you'll find that Windsor Suites embodies the genuine warmth and pride that our great city is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Windsor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Execustay Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing