We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious, modern furnishings, and convenient.”
Review of The Windsor Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Windsor Suites
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Spacious, modern furnishings, and convenient.”
Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

The Windsor was a great value for our two night stay. We were in town celebrating my son's 16th birthday. He and his friend stayed in the living room on pullout sofa, and the adults enjoyed the privacy of the bedroom. Kitchen area allowed us to use our snacks and items from cooler during our stay. The balcony overlooked JFK and the Capitol building. Cleanliness and service were average. We did not receive housekeeping at all, and the kitchen caninets, light switches, and bathroom mirror were dirty. Trash on balcony in can and baby shoe in pull out couch. I would stay again due to price, location, and suite size.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anjay2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Front Office Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Anjay2,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you were able to enjoy your sons 16th birthday celebration here at The Windsor! One of our prime attractions of the hotel is our oversized suites and we are happy to hear that you were able to accomodate all of your guests comfortably. I am sorry to hear that the cleanliness of your room was not as memorable. We are undergoing a complete renovation of all of our rooms and with the changes to the rooms layout and features we have had to relook at our inspection procedures. It is not acceptable to us that all of our rooms are not properly clean and inspected prior to our guests occupying them. We are taking stringent steps to put in place a thorough inspection process to insure that these areas are not missed in the future. We are confident that we have addressed the root causes in these lapses and that moving forward the maintainance of these rooms will be as impressive as the rooms themselves. We hope that you will stay with us again and that we can show you what the Windsor Suites really has to offer.
Happy belated birthday to your son from all of us at the Windsor.

Sincerely,

The Windsor Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    460
    116
    56
    41
See reviews for
394
377
83
210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Several stays under my belt. Excellent service, great price, excellent suites. It's an older building but they keep it luxuriously modern with a traditional decor, it is more like a temporary residence than a modern hotel, very comfortable, great location,the staff is awesome.

Room Tip: As for breakfast, cook your own or go to Con Murphy's downstairs. Better breakfast than any chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank streamkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Front Office Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Streamkat,

We are delighted that you have chosen to stay with us on multiple occasions now. It is nice to know that the efforts we are placing on taking care of our guests are not without merit. We take great pride in not being just another hotel in Philadelphia, but rather a home away from home, somewhere where you can feel welcome and comfortable whilst being conveniently located to everything the city has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Thank you for your feedback and please do not hesitate to let us know anywhere we might improve, with out guests like you we would not be able to do what we do, so thank you from all of us here at The Windsor!

Sincerely,

The Windsor Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Just stayed for 1 night for a girls night/bachelorette and the double bed suite was Perfect!!! Huge living room with desk and a beautiful kitchenette which was so nice for when we made our appetizers!
The beds were so comfy and the bedroom was nice and spacious as well! If you're staying for more than one night, pack all you want! There were 3 huge closets!!!


The only "downfalls" were
1) the windows on the inside of our room were dirty
2) the shower drain was slow, was like taking a shower and bath at the same time
3) we asked for a couple extra blankets and the staff was very friendly and prompt in getting us 2 blankets....but when I received them they were just balled together, 1 was actually a comforter which was nice but I was honestly expecting the blankets to be folded when presented, not all wrapped up in a ball. Was kind of surprised about that.

Over all we all had a fabulous time! Great room, atmosphere, VERY convenient location, and friendly staff.
I have already recommended this hotel property, and I would definitely return in the future!!!

Thank you for everything!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2trvl33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Two stars during spring/fall, probably four stars during the rest of the year.

Very clean, and the kitchen was nice, so that front was ok. The service staff was friendly and helpful.

However, if you are traveling during seasonal changes, be advised the heating and air system is either hot or cold throughout the building. I'm here in April, and the heat was on when I arrived which drove the temps up to be 79 degrees in the room. You can crack the windows which helps some, but my last two nights here have been miserable with warm temps and no air movement in the room (even with the windows open). You will be walking around a lot, so you come in with your core temperature a little elevated and it doesn't dissipate very quickly when your room is 78 degrees

Wifi is slow and spotty, and you can get 4G if you are standing by the windows but not generally in the room. My phone seemed to drain battery more quickly than usual too.

So, I would stay here in definitive summer or winter, but never in fall or spring unless I called ahead to see when their big AC cut over dates were. Or if you want to imagine what it was like when our founding fathers scribed the declaration of independence/constitution. But they weren't paying the nightly rate we are.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 691RobertH691
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Front Office Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Robert H,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Philadelphia. I am sorry to hear about your negative experience with regard to the A/C system at the hotel. We understand the frustration you experienced and apologize for not satisfying all of your needs. We are actively exploring different options to help us improve our current system and to better inform our guests on how to optimize the thermostats to avoid unwanted peaks in the room temperature. We are confident that as we move forward the procedures implented to manage our heating and cooling system will help to avert any unpleasant changes in temperature due to the changing seasons. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, and we look forward to hopefully having an opportunity to have you as our guest again in the future.

Sincerely,

The Windsor Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This might be a good hotel, certainly the rooms were large and clean and the bed was super comfortable... BUT... they resurfaced their parking lot the night we stayed, the whole place was permeated with a nasty chemical odor that made sleeping very difficult. If we had known in advance this was going to happen, we would have stayed elsewhere. The really bad thing is management did not disclose this in advance and did not offer any accommodation when we voiced our concerns. I will avoid this property in the future as well as the chain to which it belongs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsBizTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Front Office Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear MsBizTravel,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for any discomfort you experienced during your stay with us. Unfortunately during the time you stayed with us we were in the midst of some mandatory repair work to maintain the safety and servicabilty of our garage attached to the hotel. We make efforts to inform all of our guests of any work taking place in the hotel, I apologize that you were not properly informed of this work prior to your arrival. It is our goal to meet and exceed all of our guests expectations and in this instance we failed. I am confident that if you choose to give us another try we will be able provide you with the service that all of our guests come to expect.

Sincerely,

The Windsor Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wny
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2013

There were 4 of us that stayed there the first week of April, the staff was out of this world. The only name I can remember is Eric, he spoke to us almost every morning and gave us some great tips.The room was comfortable and had lots of closet space. The location for our sight-seeing was great, only a few minutes away from some historic sites. Restaurants were within a few minutes walk, also. There was even a convenience store less than half a block away. The only drawback was the construction, the first day there was noise until 6pm. The next 2 days there was an acrylic odor for a few minutes(from a floor installation).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willtravelfromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Front Office Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear WillTravelFromHere,

Thank you for your great comments about our team members. We take great pride in trying to provide excellent personalised service to each of our guests and it is nice to here when we succeed at that endeavour. We are lucky to be located right in the center of the city, and I am happy to hear that you were able to enjoy so much of what our great city has to offer. I aplogize for any inconvenience you experienced due to the noise from the renovation project but I am confident that you will be happy with all of the great upgrades and exciting changes that are occuring here at the hotel. We look forward to hopefully having an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel as a guest somewhere in the future.

Thanks again for choosing to stay with us!

Sincerely,

The Windsor Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The night I stayed at this hotel, they gave me a room on 6th floor. The same night, they were applying seal coat in their Garage, at night. They didn't inform me of this fact when I was booking the room. When I checked in, they informed me about the Seal coat. I wasn't gonna find a hotel at the last moments notice..and I had a lot of work that I needed to get done quickly, so I had to check in. When they started the Seal coat...I couldn't stand it and called reception to check if they could move me to some other room (as they were doing the work one level below by room). The reception was completely un-cooperative and told me to talk to the manager the next morning.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BusinessTravel1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Front Office Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear BusinessTravel1975,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. Please accept our sincere apology for any discomfort you experienced during your stay. Unfortunately during the time that you stayed with us we had essential work that needed to be done in order to maintain our garage area. This work was required to maintain our facility in a safe and usable manner for our guests. We try to ensure that work of this nature is conducted at times that will least effect our guests experience and I regret we were unable to provide you with the experience you had expected. I am confident that if you choose to stay with us again in the future we will be able to provide you with accomodations and service that will meet all of your expectations.

Sincerely,

The Windsor Suites Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,306 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,134 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,275 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
797 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Suites

Property: The Windsor Suites
Address: 1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2735 (Formerly Hotel Windsor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windsor Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DOWNTOWN PHILADELPHIA HOTEL - UNIQUE URBAN HOTEL SUITES Experience modern urban living at The Windsor Suites, your home away from home in downtown Philadelphia. A perfect blend of modern comfort and authenticity, our hotel captures the spirit of discovery and innovation instilled by Benjamin Franklin. Discover the city as you walk out our front doors and visit any one of the renowned arts and cultural destinations at your fingertips, such as The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Comcast Center, and Rittenhouse Square. Our spacious studio and one-bedroom suites feature fully equipped kitchens, living and dining space, and breathtaking skyline views to suit both business and leisure travelers. Savor traditional Irish cuisine at Con Murphy's, stay connected in our fully equipped business center, or host an event in the flexible 1,900 square foot meeting space. When it is time for fitness and wellness, re-charge in our fitness center, or lounge by our rooftop pool overlooking the city. Regardless of your purpose for visiting Philadelphia, you'll find that Windsor Suites embodies the genuine warmth and pride that our great city is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Windsor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Execustay Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing