We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Visit? Disappointing. Still Worth a Look, Though.”
Review of The Windsor Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Windsor Suites
Ranked #6 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I've stayed at the Windsor a bunch of times while in Philadelphia and I REALLY like it.

There are really large rooms with full kitchens, which makes it perfect for families traveling on a budget. I regularly run up to the markets in the ComCast Center or to the Whole Foods that is about 6 blocks away to stock up on food that I then eat back in the room, saving us from having to eat out all the time.

It's also just a few short blocks away from neat sites like the Reading Terminal Market and the old Capital building -- making it a good spot for tourists, too.

This visit was disappointing to me, though.

The bathtub in my room wasn't draining well -- like 65 minutes or more just to get one tub's worth of water to drain -- and we found a cockroach in the bathroom.

Also, the front desk staff that is on duty at night don't have the ability to negotiate reduced rates when those kinds of things happen and the hotel is sold out. That meant I was forced to wait around in the morning of our departure until the manager showed up so I could talk to him about an adjustment because of the inconvenience.

When I finally got to talk to a manager, he was understanding and apologetic and he provided me with a discount for both nights of my stay that I thought was fair.

But I missed a part of my morning meeting simply because there was no one on site that could make the adjustment until he got there.

So the polish has been rubbed off the Windsor a bit for me. I love the location. I love the size of the room. I thought the rate was fair. The full kitchen saves me money. There's free wifi.

But there were problems this time -- and while the solutions were easy, no one was there to help when I needed it.

Room Tip: They are renovating their rooms from the ground up -- so ask for a room on a lower floor and you'...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wferriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Wferriter,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. We do appreciate your loyalty and sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. They have been addressed with the departments involved. We are also reviewing with our staff our procedures for achieving guest satisfaction, and we are confident that the problem you encountered will not recur.
We look forward to your next visit, so that we can remind you of the reasons you have been our repeat guest. Thank you again for choosing The Windsor Suites.
Best regards,
The Windsor Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,384)
There are newer reviews for The Windsor Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

930 - 936 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

Traveled to Philly over the holidays with my family, including my 4 year old son. The hotel staff is incredible: friendly, super-helpful and very organized. We were able to drop off our luggage early and park the car with no hassles, so we could enjoy a day of wandering around. Speaking of that...the hotel is in a prime location! Just a few blocks away from City Hall, the Reading Terminal Market, and a nice, comfortable walk to the Old City and/or the PMA. The hotel was clean and comfortable, priced VERY nicely, and the restaurant downstairs worked well for us after a couple of tiring days. The kitchen served us well also, saving a bit of $$ and time.

The valet parking is a bit pricey but in retrospect and knowing how difficult it is to park in this city, It was well worth it. I'd stay here again - in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerald r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Gerald r,
We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and for posting your comments. As you experienced, our location is convenient to all the popular sites and our amenities perfect for your stay with your family. We look forward to your next visit.
Thank you, and best regards.
The Windsor Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Downtown hotels in cities can be very pricey and this one was not. we stayed there because our daughter was performing at the Philadelphia Art Museum and she was also staying in this hotel. But we found it to be the perfect place for the weekend. The kitchen was the best part as we were able to have our morning coffee and breakfast in the room. The nearby Whole Foods supplied the ingredients for breakfast, and that was helpful. Bed was comfortable, towels were thick and absorbent, iron and ironing board available, and it was two blocks from the train we took from the airport. Easy entry to the city--soo accessible. The only problem was the thin walls (so we heard the TV next door late at night) and the noise of construction in the building on the day we departed, but otherwise, we were pleased. The bar on the first floor served good wines for about $4 a glass. Not luxurious, but a hotel where you were comfortable walling around on the carpet barefoot--not often found in a hotel at this price.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank super-intrepid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Super-intrepid,
Thank you for your thorough review of your stay here at The Windsor Suites. We are happy when our guests leave happy, and it seems that you were pleased with your accommodations. We are often told that our fully equipped kitchens are a money saver for guests who do not mind preparing their own breakfast, especially since we have so many stores like Whole Foods nearby for the ingredients. We are glad you found this to be true.
We thank you for choosing us, and we hope you will consider us again on your next visit to Philadelphia.
Best regards!
The Windsor Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

After we exited the Suburban Station (corner of JFK and 17th Street) of SEPTA from the airport we walked down 17th street. After two blocks we came upon Windsor Suites at the corner of Ben Franklin Parkway and 17th st. Very convenient!!
Check in was fast, friendly and helpful.
Our room on the 8th floor facing the Parkway was large with two double beds, two closets--one a large walk in) a galley kitchen with a stove, sink and microwave and many cooking and eating utensils. The redecoration was done with very good taste as evidenced by the choice of wall paper design and color. The old style wooden furniture showed their age with many scuff marks and dings but to me at least those added to the charm of the room. The bathroom was a winner too as the tiles are in very good taste as well as the porcelain and chrome fixtures. Well done. The towels were large, thick and very absorbent. At first I thought they were the legendary Turkish towels but they were made in Pakistan. Well done!!
On Monday morning we heard the sounds of hammer drills and jackhammers start at around 9:00 am. They sounded as if they were right in our room. Turns out they were two doors down where the whole room and its furniture were being replaced. Good thing we checked out soon after.
Bottom line: this is not a fancy, schmansy venue but will meet your needs if you need to be in the central part of the city. There is a cafe/bar serving Thai fusion dishes and another bar/bistro right across in the entrance vestibule. So no need to even step outside for sustenance.
And the location cannot be beat at this price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up-it may be away from the redecoration noise.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tatliturk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Tatliturk,
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, and thank you for sharing your comments. Our location and it's convenience seemed to have worked well for you. I wanted to take the opportunity to let you know that we are in the process of replacing our furniture for newer, more modern pieces that I am confident you will enjoy on your next visit.
Thank you again for choosing The Windsor Suites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great room, great location, great service, great Irish Pub downstairs. Also really good gym. Would recommend. Laundry for guests very useful. Didn't use (or see) the spa or breakfast so unable to comment there.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLD646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear GLD646,
Thank you for choosing The Windsor Suites. We are happy you enjoyed your stay, and hope you'll return again soon.
Best regards,
The Windsor Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The room we stayed in was small, but remodeled nicely. The building felt safe and was in a great section of the city. My only complaint was the valet parking. There were serious issues in communication between the parking garage valets and front desk; and they were not friendly valets. Aside from their rudeness, our stay was fine.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to avoid a view of the garbage covered roof; the back of the building balconie...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Jen,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at our hotel. We’ve shared your comments with our team so we can continue to work on providing exceptional service. Please accept our apologies that all did not go as planned on your visit. We hope you will consider us again.
Thank you, and best regards,
The Windsor Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

I will never return back to this hotel!!!!! Granted, the accommodations were fair, at best. However, the service was dismal. Imagine being woken up prior to check-out, by a hostess who chooses to bang on your door, rather than knock like a normal human being. How about being charged for parking three times for one vehicle, and then once you happen to speak to a "manager", you are told to that you are still liable, even though there is video footage that proves otherwise. This place is the epitome of unprofessionalism, deplorable service, and unwarranted haughtiness. I am still seething mad as I am writing this review. Please, take my advice; NEVER STAY HERE!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madi3101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Manager at The Windsor Suites, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2013

Dear Madi3101,
Thank you for sharing your comments on your recent stay. Please accept our apologies for the inconveniences that occurred with your parking. When there are three vehicles attached to one guest room, it can be a bit confusing, and in this case it took a bit more time than usual for our staff to ascertain ownership from the room mates, and to assign billing. Again, please accept our apologies. Thank you for your review, and for staying with us.
Best regards,
Tha Windsor Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 87 in Philadelphia
5,275 reviews
City Center West
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
Sonesta Philadelphia Downtown
#17 of 87 in Philadelphia
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 87 in Philadelphia
808 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 87 in Philadelphia
3,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Suites

Address: 1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103-2735 (Formerly Hotel Windsor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $146 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Windsor Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DOWNTOWN PHILADELPHIA HOTEL - UNIQUE URBAN HOTEL SUITES Experience modern urban living at The Windsor Suites, your home away from home in downtown Philadelphia. A perfect blend of modern comfort and authenticity, our hotel captures the spirit of discovery and innovation instilled by Benjamin Franklin. Discover the city as you walk out our front doors and visit any one of the renowned arts and cultural destinations at your fingertips, such as The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Comcast Center, and Rittenhouse Square. Our spacious studio and one-bedroom suites feature fully equipped kitchens, living and dining space, and breathtaking skyline views to suit both business and leisure travelers. Savor traditional Irish cuisine at Con Murphy's, stay connected in our fully equipped business center, or host an event in the flexible 1,900 square foot meeting space. When it is time for fitness and wellness, re-charge in our fitness center, or lounge by our rooftop pool overlooking the city. Regardless of your purpose for visiting Philadelphia, you'll find that Windsor Suites embodies the genuine warmth and pride that our great city is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Windsor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Execustay Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing