We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Windsor Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Windsor Suites
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Never Again”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

No way to cool the room, even with heat off bc AC was turned off for the season. Hot water took 5 min to heat up. No tv channel guide, maybe you don't need it since you only get a few channels, staff don't even apologize for the inconveniences-they simply say, "yeah, we know."

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denosma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Director of Sales at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Denosma,
Thank you for your review of your stay at The Windsor Suites. We are sorry that your stay did not go as planned, but please know that we appreciate your comments, and we are looking into the issues you raised to resolve them. Please accept our apologies, and we hope that we will have the opportunity in the future to create positive memories with us.
Best regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    645
    440
    112
    53
    40
See reviews for
365
352
83
201
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here for a long weekend and wanted a location in the heart of the city. This hotel offers just that. Upon arrival, valet attendants take your car immediately. Parking was $29 a night but we were allowed to take the care in and out anytime we wanted. We arrived in Philadelphia early (11am) and were able to check in to our suprise. The front desk staff was extremely nice and gave us all the information that we needed. Late night we needed a can opener and the staff brought one up to us at 2am! The room had a full kitchen with a gas stove, dish washer and fridge. It also had a large balcony. Location of the hotel was great and within walking distance to many restaurants and sights.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAG0412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Last minute business trip found most of the city hotels booked, but was able to get a room here and very much enjoyed the stay. All that was available was a 1 bedroom room and it was very, very big. Full kitchen, dining/living room and very large bedroom with modern marble bath. For the price the room was a great value, although traveling alone I didn't really need all that space. The staff was very friendly and the hotel has a great Irish pub/restaurant that had excellent food and service. Location was great near city hall. The only downside, if I were to nitpick, was the hotel showed some signs of wear and tear and could use updating, but it was very clean and overall a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: 1 bedroom suties are very spacious, but if traveling alone they are far too big, stick with the stud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aerojunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 3, 2012

WS is a great central location, my room had views of the nearby museum from the 14th floor. Room was comfortable and clean, wifi a little slow and I did not use the restaurant so cannot comment. Front desk was helpful and my car was brought in a timely fashion. Walking distance to Walnut st.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nielkennedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Director of Sales at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Nielkennedy,
Thank you for staying with us and your kind review of our hotel. Please accept our apology for the issue you had with our wi-fi. We are always evaluating our service to keep ahead of technological demands, so we appreciate you letting us know.
We hope to see you again soon!
Regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel a few times for work, most recently in October 2012. Check-in is quick and easy, and the staff are generally professional and helpful. The rooms are large, but kind of dingy and oddly configured. As the name of the hotel implies, each room is a suite with a kitchenette. The location is convenient for walking to the PMA or catching the Phlash (tourist bus). Room service is provided by the Irish pub connected to the lobby. The food isn't great, but it's fine. Some rooms have a lingering smell of cigarette smoke. Overall a reasonable choice considering price and location.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Camwold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Director of Sales at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear Camwold,
Thank you for your review, and for being a repeat guest of The Windsor Suites. We are excited to let you know that we approaching the final phase of our guest room upgrades, and expect the arrival of our new furniture and furnishings shortly. We are confident that you will be pleasantly surprised on your next visit.
Thank you again for choosing The Windsor Suites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on Thanksgiving Eve with our 18 month old daughter. We had called a few days before to see if we could upgrade to a room with a balcony, this way we wouldnt have to take our daughter down in the cold & crowds. Unfortunately, it was out of our price range. The girl I spoke to on the phone said that she would still request the room for me, but I didn't get my hopes up. When we checked in we were told that we were being given a complimentary upgrade to a king suite with a balcony!! It was perfect for our little family!! We walked 1/2 mile to Maggianos and picked up take out and brought it back to our room to eat in the dining area. The seperate living and bedroom areas were wonderful, we were able to put our daughter to bed at 7:30 but not be confined to our bedroom with the TV on mute, it was perfect! In the morning my husband went across the street and grabbed subway for breakfast and we watched the parade from the comfort of our room on the balcony.

This hotel was in a great location with a wonderful and accomodating staff. We will stay here everytime we go to Philly!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Director of Sales at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear StacyF,
We are pleased when we receive such an endorsement of our hotel from our guests. It lets us know that we are doing something right, and we thank you for taking the time to write your comments. We are happy you were able to watch the Thanksgiving Parade from the comfort of your suite. Please know that there is always a huge demand for our balcony suites for the parade, so if you plan on being back next year, now is not too early to reserve your suite. Please call us directly to do so, on our reservations line at 215-981-8980. We hope to see you again soon!
Thank you, from all of us at The Windsor Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
335 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Was able to book a (very) last minute room for the race - I participated in the half-marathon. The location was PERFECT! I got up at 6AM and left at 6:30AM for the 7AM start just a few blocks away. Nice to have that luxury!

The hotel is fine. Reception is nice, staff is friendly and helpful. We were upgraded to a Suite - and it was huge! We had a living room, small kitchen with a fridge and dishwasher (!) and a nice sized bedroom. The room was clean and not outdated, though not updated... the bathroom though, appeared to be on the newer side.

Parking was $29 plus tax in garage that is next door.

We paid a lot to stay here (Saturday night, race weekend). I am not sure I'd stay here again unless the rate is competitive with other nearby hotels.

Room Tip: Suites have a balcony, some face the scenic Ben Franklin Parkway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smep013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Director of Sales at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear smep013,
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. Our location makes us very popular for the marathon as well as events at the nearby Pennsylvania Convention Center, which made for a very busy weekend. Typically, we would be sold out, so the key is to always book early to take advantage of any promotional rates that would be available.
We are happy you enjoyed your upgraded suite. We are anticipating the completion of our room updates shortly, and we are sure you will be pleased at the change on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and thank you for choosing our hotel.
Best regards,
The Windsor Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4,677 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Suites

Property: The Windsor Suites
Address: 1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Hotel Windsor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Windsor Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DOWNTOWN PHILADELPHIA HOTEL - UNIQUE URBAN HOTEL SUITES Experience modern urban living at The Windsor Suites, your home away from home in downtown Philadelphia. A perfect blend of modern comfort and authenticity, our hotel captures the spirit of discovery and innovation instilled by Benjamin Franklin. Discover the city as you walk out our front doors and visit any one of the renowned arts and cultural destinations at your fingertips, such as The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Comcast Center, and Rittenhouse Square. Our spacious studio and one-bedroom suites feature fully equipped kitchens, living and dining space, and breathtaking skyline views to suit both business and leisure travelers. Savor traditional Irish cuisine at Con Murphy's, stay connected in our fully equipped business center, or host an event in the flexible 1,900 square foot meeting space. When it is time for fitness and wellness, re-charge in our fitness center, or lounge by our rooftop pool overlooking the city. Regardless of your purpose for visiting Philadelphia, you'll find that Windsor Suites embodies the genuine warmth and pride that our great city is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Windsor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Execustay Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing