We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge Rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Windsor Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Windsor Suites
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Huge Rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

My husband and our 2 teenage boys stayed at the Windsor Suites this past weekend. The location is very convenient on Benjamin Franklin PWY and 18th street. It was a quick walk to the Science Museum a bit of a hike to the Art Museum and easy access to Reading Terminal. Cabs were quick and easy. Not more than $7 anywhere we went. We had no reason to move the car. The only down side to the location is the very busy street. It is a little loud at night.

The suite is HUGE. I am not sure why there is so much closet space, but everyone can have their own private dressing room (or recording studio, which my husband set up). Our room was in sad need of new furniture. The living room furniture was ratty. Falling apart with cushion you had trouble get out of. The sleep sofa was pretty uncomfortable, but we also got a cot and doubled up on the matresses. My son also found a half eaten Reeses cup in the bed. I understand they are slowly rennovating, so request a rennovated room. We had a patio which was fun to stand out on. The AC worked great which was a great relief given the 93 degree temp outside at night. The shower had very little water pressure.

There is a full kitchen which was very clean. Only one pot, but plenty of dishes.

The people at the desk were very nice. I had spoken to the manager after I say a "manager's special" on the website and got an even cheaper rate inculding parking, so it is worth a call.

The space worked out great for us and we would definitely recommend it for a family.

Room Tip: If you can get a room up high furthest away from Parkway, it would be quieter. Request a rennovated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarcyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    429
    110
    52
    39
See reviews for
353
346
81
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Forks, North Dakota
Level Contributor
92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Yes, the rooms are somewhat dated but they were clean. To me, that's even more important. The rooms have a full kitchen, seating area and wonderful patio. We stayed in room 610 which gave us a stunning view in both directions of Ben Franklin Pkwy.
The location is perfect. You can walk to almost anywhere. The front desk staff is friendly and helpful. Ignore their dinner suggestions, though. They recommended a chain restaurant our the night we arrived and it was horrible. In the light of day the following morning we found many places we would have rather gone for food.
The shower was tricky to figure out and the tub drained really slowly. It's gross for me to stand in the shower water like that so I dinged them one star for that. It would have been nice to have more than two towels in the room but they came up with extras, no problem. The elevators seem to get overloaded easily and they are quite slow. I'm glad we didn't stay on a higher floor.
The air conditioning was tricky, too. I went to bed very cold but at 4am woke up very warm. I had to get up and turn the fan on 'high' instead of 'auto' to get the air to turn back on.
If I were to go back to Philadelphia, I would stay here again, but I would check the shower right away and have them take care of it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

The Windsor Suites are an enigma. The rooms with a balcony are good, strange having a kitchen in the room, but plenty of space. There is a roof top pool which no body uses, no idea why as it is quite nice. The Irish pub is pleasant too, unlike the next bar along towards the museum where the bar tender is arrogant and frankly an idiot, not part of the hotel so let's stick to the thread! The service is efficient and slick, so no disappointment there. Negatives - no room service (but the fridge is huge so you don't need it), the maid can be a little brisk in wishing for checkout (but a call to the desk will accommodate) that's it really - I paid loads but during our conference week all hotels cost loads so no problem - go with an open mind - the experience is good and a more central hotel will cost you allot more and afterall you won't be able to fit a weeks worth of wine, beer, and pop in your fridge all in one go.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bear12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

My husband, our 1 year old, and I stayed at the Windsor Suites in May '12 for a family vacation to see some friends in the area. The location, right off of City Hall, was perfectly situated - centrally located to Reading Terminal Market, Rittenhouse Square, and Logan Square. The room itself was huge. The separate living room and dining room spaces had enough room for us to really spread out and feel right at home. And how comfortable it was to have a kitchen! Though we never used the stove, it was great to know we had the option to cook breakfast or dinner, if we had had time to do so. That would certainly have cut down on our travel costs. The bedroom was very spacious, and the bed was comfortable. The only downside was how slow the internet was, but it was free so I can't complain too much :) The only thing I'd suggest you look out for before staying here is to look up any races, events, etc. that could shut down the streets around the hotel. We didn't know it (and the hotel didn't warn us) but there was a breast cancer walk the morning we were trying to leave, and all the streets around the hotel were shut down. It took us nearly 45 minutes to find a hole in the guard rails to make our way to the freeway. Way too stressful when you're already facing a flight out of Philly! But all in all, the hotel itself was perfect, and we would definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tynante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Dear Tynante,
Thank you for your review of your stay here at The Windsor Suites. We are happy you were able to take advantage of the spaciousness of our suites, as well as the convenience of our location to see the different places of interest in Philadelphia. We do apologise that you were not made aware of the race activities around the hotel. We have taken note, however, and have addressed this with our staff so that we can be more proactive in the future with things of this nature. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your vacation with us, and look forward to having you stay with us again.
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2012

I was travelling to Philadelphia for professional reasons and my usual hotels were fully booked. I could find still a room available in the windsor suites for one night. I was actually happy that it was only for one night. The quality of the bed was fine. The bathrool was fine and acceptable, the room was big but the pverall appearance of the room and furniture were quite old and not rebuild recently. It would be something acceptable for a rate around 100$ per night but I had to pay more than 200$ for one night and breakfast was not included. The swimming pool is outdoor and therefore not available most of the time. I do not think I will come back. I have been in many hotel in Philadelphia and with the mariott in Market street this is my worst experience. Maybe the price with exceptionally hight because of the lack of availability of other hotel that week.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XRAY54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheWindsorMgtTeam, Director of Sales at The Windsor Suites, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Dear XRAY54,
Thank you for taking the time to offer your feedback on your stay at The Windsor Suites. We are truly sorry our property was not what you expected. I would like to take the opportunity, however, to let you know about some exciting improvements we have planned. We are currently awaiting delivery of brand new furniture, which we know will please even the most discerning of our future guests. Thank you for being our guest, and we hope that we will have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inuvik, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

The hotel is a short walk from the subway and regional rail lines. very easy to get to from the airport or the Amtrak station. It's within walking distance to several Museums and the Reading Market. It's a suite, so it included two large walk-in closets and a small kitchen. We didn't use either. The beds was extremely comfortable. The only issues were that the room looked lived-in, (i.e. carpet stains and marks on wall), one morning we waited almost 10 mins for an elevator on the 11th floor, but worse was the wifi internet. It was dial-up speeds during peak hours but was good during the morning or late evening.
I picked this hotel since it was cheaper than surrounding hotels and was very close to the Suburban train station. it proved to be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blargh_Bah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

The hotel is quite central to everything worth seeing in Philly. Halfway between the Museum of Art and the Liberty Bell. The room was nice and it also provided kitchen utilities, which might come handy when you think that the Reading Terminal Market is right across the corner. The service was impeccable. They were really fast in changing the broken remote control for the TV and with providing an extra towel. An enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Calaretu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,519 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Suites

Property: The Windsor Suites
Address: 1700 Benjamin Franklin Pkwy, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Hotel Windsor)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#25 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Windsor Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 197
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DOWNTOWN PHILADELPHIA HOTEL - UNIQUE URBAN HOTEL SUITES Experience modern urban living at The Windsor Suites, your home away from home in downtown Philadelphia. A perfect blend of modern comfort and authenticity, our hotel captures the spirit of discovery and innovation instilled by Benjamin Franklin. Discover the city as you walk out our front doors and visit any one of the renowned arts and cultural destinations at your fingertips, such as The Philadelphia Museum of Art, Comcast Center, and Rittenhouse Square. Our spacious studio and one-bedroom suites feature fully equipped kitchens, living and dining space, and breathtaking skyline views to suit both business and leisure travelers. Savor traditional Irish cuisine at Con Murphy's, stay connected in our fully equipped business center, or host an event in the flexible 1,900 square foot meeting space. When it is time for fitness and wellness, re-charge in our fitness center, or lounge by our rooftop pool overlooking the city. Regardless of your purpose for visiting Philadelphia, you'll find that Windsor Suites embodies the genuine warmth and pride that our great city is known for. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Windsor Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Windsor Hotel Philadelphia
Marriott Execustay Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing