We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely historic B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We visited Philadelphia for a wedding the first week of October. I chose La Reserve based on location, price and other reviews. It was all I hoped it would be. Friendly staff and lovely first floor suite. If you have large pieces of luggage the first floor is a must. Continental breakfast during the week and made to order breakfast on weekend. Our room had a notebook with the history of the B&B and many other interesting and helpful prices of information which were much appreciated.
The home is full of original details and antiques. It is located in a beautiful quiet neighborhood a few blocks from Rittenhouse Square. Easy to walk to most everything. Would definitely stay here again and would highly recommend.

Room Tip: There is no elevator so unless you don't mind carrying luggage upstairs book a room on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lovestotravelHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 266 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

I've seen a couple of reviews mention the price and we do agree - it is a little pricey for what it is...

However, that said, the B&B is a few blocks from Rittenhouse Square - so it's a great location - and it's amazing how the noise dies off just a couple of blocks away from the Square. It's a very peaceful and tranquil location and we always sleep well here because of the lack of city noise.

Breakfast is help yourself during the week and a cooked breakfast to order at the weekends.

Staff are always super friendly and very welcoming... the rooms are pretty spacious for city accommodation, which is always a bonus! :-)

We've been staying for 3 years now and do plan on returning. Definitely recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Stayed here with my daughter for 5 days last September on our annual baseball trip together. The neighborhood was most pleasant,a few blocks from Rittenhouse Square where there is constant entertainment by people watching.In our suite was a book of suggestions for a variety of nearby restaurants,each within walking distance and quite affordable and satisfying.We tried 3 and returned to one for a second meal.
The Chatham Suite was a good choice.Although the two historic homes which make up the B&B have 3- 4 floors and no elevator,we found the stairs easily negotiable and no problem with our 3rd floor suite.Since there was a hallway between the bedroom and living room area in the Chatham,my daughter was able to enjoy privacy.The bedding set up for me in the living room was comfortable.Furnishings and suite arrangement were attractive.
Breakfasts were filling and delicious.With our suite location,we had to exit one building and enter the second to enjoy breakfast,but this was easily done by the B&B's situation since they share a common entryway.The only negative was the window air conditioning unit was noticeably loud. This image should not detract from the uniqueness of this establishment because central heat/air would be very difficult for these historic buildings.
We used public transportation to reach the historic and museum areas,but walked this distance on 2 occasions and enjoyed the walks.Do not miss the hop on-hop off bus tour,a good way to maneuver the city's attractions.
Overall,a very positive experience.This lodging and its location helped to make our trip special.

Room Tip: There is another suite on the second floor if the stairs intimidate anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 532Joel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The warm, welcoming staff made me feel home. The B&B is a little apart from the mains attractions (30 minutes walking), in a quiet surrounding. Good breakfast, daylong tea, coffee and cookies are ones of the littles things who make you feel home.

Room Tip: some rooms don't have attached bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucky_Be_Quebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights on a business trip to the Philly area. Very comfortable, clean and quiet. Cute decor with antiques but also modern conveniences like air conditioning, glass- door marble shower stall, free wi-fi. Good if simple breakfast included in rate but doesn't start until 8 which can feel too late if you have an early meeting. Great value alternative to a hotel if you need to be in center of the city. Street parking is non existant so plan on spending 20 dollars a day for the lot a few blocks away if you bring a car. Can walk to many restaurants and shops from here. Also taxis easy to get right on street. Some rooms have kitchenettes for longer stays.Staff very nice. All in all a quality experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cozy_Kitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherri H, General Manager at La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for your review. We very much appreciate it.... Just to let you know in hopes you visit us again, we do offer an early continental breakfast set-up or bag-to-go upon request for those who cannot join us during our normal breakfast times. We do supply this information on our welcome letter at check-in. Just let us know and we will take good care of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We rented a total of two rooms (one for myself and my husband, the other for my parents, each with a private bath) for a long weekend and had a great stay. Both the rooms were large and very comfortable. It was nice to have the living room / sitting area when the weather was lousy, and we didn't want to be out all day. (We did not use the kitchen, aside from the refrigerator, but it also looked nice.) Everything was clean, and the breakfast was good as well. A great location near Rittenhouse Square. All in all, we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Em32123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My 7 year old and I stayed in the Liberty Suite in February 2013 for 3 nights. It was spacious and beautiful! The hostess was so friendly. We shared a bathroom, which was not a problem at all. We never saw our bathmates. It felt very colonial. Would've made a nice romantic setting had my husband not been deployed.

The FOOD! I feel like there's a lost art in American B&B's to make the breakfast part as special as the bed. This was not the case here. The breakfast was gourmet and amazing! We had this quiche, and the next day this crepe thing... It was incredible. I cannot rate this highly enough! I had felt like I was in a five star restaruant every morning.

It is a bit further from the historical district than I had anticipated, having never been to Philly before. The only rub I had was that there is a bit of noise from the street, which I've found is unavaoidable in city B&B's. Also, if you have small chidren or diabled adults, it's all stairs, so that night be difficult.

I would reccomend this for families with age 6+ children ONLY, friends, and couples. Travelling alone ti would be nice to, but for business I think a hotel may be more convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lindsay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
University City
The Gables Bed and Breakfast
The Gables Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 25 in Philadelphia
267 reviews
Cornerstone Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 25 in Philadelphia
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast

Address: 1804/1806 Pine St., Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range: $119 - $215 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Reserve consists of two beautifully well-preserved, 1850's Four-Story Townhouses located only three blocks from Rittenhouse Square in the Heart of Historic Center City Philadelphia. Our convenient location is within walking distance to many exclusive shops and fine restaurants located on Rittenhouse Square, as well as many major Philadelphia Historic attractions and sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Center City Hotel Philadelphia
La Reserve Center City b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing