We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous! And Perfect for Us”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 25 Philadelphia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous! And Perfect for Us”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

La Reserve was a true haven for us during a minor family crisis at the beginning of June. Specifically, we wanted to be on hand to move our son, very pregnant daughter-in-law, dog and cat from their house near Rittenhouse Square to London, vacating and cleaning the house over a period of four days and taking them and their animals to the Philadelphia Airport for their flight. In truth, we would have engaged the nearest accommodation to their house, no matter the expense or the amenities.

As it happened, it was our glorious good luck that La Reserve was the nearest place, and space was available. And what a space it was! We had the Saratoga Suite, on the first floor of the house at 1806 Pine Street. This suite has a living room with a pull-out sofa, a fireplace, TV with VCR and DVD, a full kitchen, a fabulous bathroom with a huge marble-tiled shower, and a separate, very comfortable bedroom. This meant that we could host our son and daughter in law in our suite for dinners.

Many people have mentioned the great Rittenhouse Square location. It is beautiful, and the potential for long walks, time in the Square, and meals at outdoor restaurants is there. But for us, it was not even two blocks to our son's (former) house on Waverly Place. I don't know how we could have survived without staying at La Reserve.

In fact, it was all so lovely that I can't imagine ever being happy again staying anywhere else, anyplace! The suite was beautifully decorated and very comfortable. A lovely sitting room and dining room are available in the main house, 1804 Pine Street, and the staff there is very helpful. For a very small fee, we could arrange for our family to join us for breakfast, where there were even gluten-free items available. And, to top it off, I'm not an expert, but I'd say that the rates are comparable with, if not lower, than most hotels across the city. Parking has to be at a commercial garage, but even after paying about $20.00 a day, one comes out ahead.

I highly encourage anyone visiting Philadelphia, not just Rittenhouse Square, to strongly consider staying at La Reserve.

Room Tip: The two houses do have steep, winding staircases, so this may be a consideration for some people. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lstr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    71
    18
    8
    5
See reviews for
47
111
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Took advantage of the "Spontaneous Suite" deal and couldn't have been happier. My boyfriend and I stayed in "Lafayette" on the second floor - which is huge and it was the perfect evening hideaway, close to Rittenhouse restaurants. Parking is at 17th & South for $25/24 hours. Our air conditioner was very noisy, so we turned it off and just used the fan which was fine. The high ceilings (10 feet+), comfortable bed (queen, 2 big down pillows with an extra in the closet), and giant living room/kitchen with full amenities (direct TV, plates, dishes, cookery, ect) suited us just fine. I wish there had been a dish drainer and shower/bath products in the shower like other B&B's, but I brought a few things from home. It was odd that the B&B seemed to be two neighboring properties, with no physical connection as you have to walk outside to get to the other side, but it wasn't a big deal unless you're going to use the living room on the other side to entertain your guests. The continental breakfast served during the week was adequate (yogurt, muffins, hard boiled eggs, scones, cereal, milk, juice, coffee, tea, and granola.) On the weekends, you can actually choose from a menu which is nice, but this was fine. I wish the bath towels had been larger and the tv was in the living room and not the bedroom, but these are style/structural issues that do not diminish how nice this property is. It's quiet, it's on a nice street, you get a snack in the morning, and the people are friendly!

Room Tip: The suites are quiet (Lafayette, Penn, ect) so I would choose them if possible since they're awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stumbled upon this place [online] as so many of the hotels in the area were already booked; so glad I did! The B&B is housed in two traditional row houses built in the mid 1800's, and it's in THE perefect location~t's just two blocks from Rittenhouse Square. There are many little café's and coffee houses right in the area surrounding La Reserve.

The entire staff was very friendly and accommodating, from the front desk folks to the cleaning gals to the chef! Our room was immaculate and huge, and it had an interior door that could be opened to the next room~since it was family, it worked out great for us. [The shared door locks on both sides.] The bathroom was so clean, kept that way at all times... the towels were fluffy and smelled great [not the typical kind of burned smell you get at some hotels]. They provided soap and shampoo, and there was a hair dryer in the bathroom as well. The bed was very comfortable, and our air-conditioner kept the room perfectly cool.

The continental breakfast during the week was sufficient and good... yogurt, granola, cereal, a few different types of bread and English muffins for toasting, homemade breakfast bars or muffins each day, I believe you could get oatmeal as well. Coffee and tea and hot chocolate were available from 6:30 a.m. until the evening, and at some point after breakfast they put out fresh homemade cookies. The cooked breakfast on the weekends was excellent... there was actually a menu and you could choose from eggs, pancakes, french toast, and always a special~Sunday morning we had fresh blueberry stuffed crepes with orange zested marscapone cheese!! Delicious! [Kudos to the chef!!] Sausage or bacon and toast came with it, and cereal was still available. For the weekend breakfast you did need to sign up for a specific time; you can do that the night before.

Yes there is some creaking of floor boards but that's part of the charm of these older homes! Check out the interesting books in the sitting room, lots of information on Philadelphia and its history. They even have a grand piano you can use! I agree, it would not be a good choice for anyone who could not do stairs. Overall it was a great stay and a great experience! We plan to stay again next time we're in Philadephia!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kargalvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We really liked our stay at La Reserve; the B&B is very homely and the staff are really friendly.

The location is perfect for exploring the centre of Philadelphia.

Our room was really nice but did get very warm despite having air-con. The shared bathroom was kept clean and we never had to wait to use it.

The continental breakfast was good with lots of variety.

The accommodation is laid out over a number of floors and there is no elevator so be prepared to carry your luggage up several flights of stairs if you have a room at the top of the building.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isobeleast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were very happy with our stay. The room was really nice and the location was perfect. It's within walking distance of antique row and rittenhouse square. There is a nearby parking garage that is $20 per 24hours. We walked all over and left our car parked the entire time. The B &B itself is very nice. Check-in and out was fast and easy and the staff was nice. The breakfast on weekdays is nothing special but it works. There is coffee and tea available all day and yummy cookies in the afternoon. Our room was amazing! We stayed in the Saratoga Suite. It had a really nice kitchen and bathroom and a roomy sitting area. The bed was comfy. We could hear the people above us walking around which was a small drawback but is by no means a deal breaker. We loved staying here and would come back to stay again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rahorning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Overall this was an excellent choice for Center City Philadelphia. It is a traditional row house about 2 short blocks from Rittenhouse Square which is an excellent location. While not cheap, it is certainly a very reasonable price for that area. Very clean and nicely decorated, our room (Chatham) was actually a suite, almost a small apartment with a kitchenette. It was on the 3rd floor and with no elevator, that could be an issue for some. My only complaint was that the included breakfast was pretty lame. During the week it is continental, which is fine, but was actually not as good as even the cheap chain hotels. Weekends feature a full breakfast which we did not get a chance to experience. The other problem was that the dining room was too small to accomodate the number of guests so both mornings we were there, we were relegated to the living room which was suboptimal. Should at least have some folding tables they could put out when the need arises. Overall, it is a very good place to stay with an outstanding location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BbrgBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherri H, General Manager at La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your compliments about La Reserve. I am glad to hear you had a good experience with us and visit to Philadelphia. I also appreciate your feedback on your dining experience at our B&B. During our transition to continentals from full hot breakfast during the week, we have received guest feedback and suggestions that has helped us in improving our breakfast offerings. Our typical American continental consists of muffins, scones, and other baked pastries that our staff members work hard to bake in-house from scratch. We also have available, hard boiled eggs, yogurt, different bread selections, and bagels & cream cheese, cereals, granola, apples, oranges, and bananas.

We appreciate your suggestions regarding breakfast seating. We are in the process of improving our seating arrangement to make our guests more comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

My son (27), husband and I recently spent three nights at La Reserve. This was our first visit to Philadelphia, and we were very pleased with LaReserve. The location was excellent, and we were able to walk everywhere. My husband and I were in the Grand Dame- a large room near the back of the property with a large private bath. Our son was down the hall in the Marquis- lovely room with lots of windows of but shares a bath with another room. We found the rooms to be very comfortable and pretty quiet. The continental breakfast on Friday am was more than adequate with homemade muffins and coffee cake, but the hot breakfasts on Saturday and Sunday were excellent. You had several choices, and the breakfasts were cooked to order. The front desk was helpful and printed a number of things for us. We found several excellent restaurants within walking distance of LaReserve. Overall, it was a great weekend, and I would highly recommend LaReserve.

Room Tip: grand Dame is roomy with large bath. Did not see any rooms other than the Marquis (lovely room but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lhe738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Club Quarters Hotel in Philadelphia
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,274 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
797 reviews
City Center East
Alexander Inn
Alexander Inn
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast

Property: La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast
Address: 1804 Pine St., Philadelphia, PA 19103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Reserve consists of two beautifully well-preserved, 1850's Four-Story Townhouses located only three blocks from Rittenhouse Square in the Heart of Historic Center City Philadelphia. Our convenient location is within walking distance to many exclusive shops and fine restaurants located on Rittenhouse Square, as well as many major Philadelphia Historic attractions and sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Center City Hotel Philadelphia
La Reserve Center City b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing