We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Rittenhouse Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Bellevue Hotel(Philadelphia)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveler rating
164
76
20
9
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
164
76
20
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bgrand damehunt roomrittenhouse squarepine streetsaratoga suiteweekend breakfastshared bathroomheritage roomliving roomprivate bathfellow guestswithin walking distancefirst floorexcellent breakfastexecutive suitea wonderful place to stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 274 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We chose a busy time for Philly and La Reserve was about the only reasonable place available. And we are very pleased that it was. This is a rowhouse owned by the same family since the 1940s and converted to a B&B when the parents died. It has been completely updated, but retains the original period flavor. Each room is different. Housekeeping is spotless, the rooms very comfortable (although not soundproofed), and the staff is very friendly and helpful. Each room has a notebook containing information about the house (and the room), transportation options, sights, restaurants, etc. The building is secure, since the door can be opened only by typing in a code. Perfect location. What more can be said?

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kurtklas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is a lovely, old townhome in Philadelphia's posh Rittenhouse Square area, and the location couldn't be more convenient. Right at 18th and Pine, it's just a couple of blocks from the park and from all the restaurants, bars and attractions of the area. It's about a mile walk (an easy, safe walk) from South Street, and we even walked back from a very late dinner in Penn's Landing without even a second thought. The decor is lovely, harkening back to the days when people actually thought about how to cut their wallpaper into scrolls in the corner and develop the most ornate crown molding. Our room, Hunt, was up two very steep flights of stairs (no elevator) and it was enormous, comfortable and very clean. We were exhausted after a busy day in Philly (and we only spent one night), and we slept very soundly and comfortably. Our only complaint about the room is that the en-suite bath (I don't believe all the rooms have private bath, so be careful when selecting) could use some major updating. The sink/vanity were tiny, and the tub--while I'm sure perfectly clean--looked like it could use a good scrubbing. We really didn't interact much with any of the staff, although from our limited interactions, they seemed perfectly accommodating. We signed up for a breakfast time slot, as required (there are four seatings on weekend mornings); we had to wait a few minutes as they cleared the previous group out, but the service was prompt and the food very good if nothing remarkable. *Note about parking:* We parked in the surface lot at Pine and 17th for a grand total of $35 (in Saturday around noon, out Sunday around the same time, although we could've stayed until 5 a.m. Monday). It's most likely cheaper to park in the garage on South between 17th and 18th is supposedly significantly less expensive, $20 for 24 hours.

Room Tip: We stayed in Hunt and were very happy with it; it faced the back of the house, so it was silent. It also had an en-suite bath; I don't believe all of the rooms do, so be careful when selecting.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lvbnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My teenage daughter and I spent the night there, while touring local colleges. The staff was incredibly helpful and accommodating. We needed breakfast early and they organized it willingly and put together a nice variety for our meal. We had a lot of questions about buses, trains, parking and such. The staff looked up schedules, gave us directions, tips and hints. After all that they directed us to a great place to have the traditional Philly steak sandwich and fun store to check out for my daughter. With their help our very busy stay went smoothly!

On top of all that, the neighborhood was great, the location convenient, the B&B was charming. Everything was quaint, clean and well prepared. It was well priced and I felt I got a good value for my money.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Chateau room with shared bathroom. Sharing the bathroom was not a problem.
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikkiSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

The first great thing about this B&B is the location: Rittenhouse is a very nice neighborhood, all Victorian red-brick buildings, nice and quiet but very close to the heart of the city.
The B&B itself is very nice, it really feels like living in a nice old house era for a while (all those pillows, chandeliers, armchairs...). The rooms are very big: seriously, I think this was the biggest hotel room I've ever stayed in. Not everyone of them is ensuite but you share the bathroom with another room maximum, and it is always very clear. The staff was nice and cheerful and their home-cooked breakfast beats several cafès in town.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_Ciri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Be aware that this inn allows very young children. When I reserved the La Chateau room for 5 nights in March, I never expected to hear a screaming and crying one-year-old in the adjacent room, but that's exactly what happened. It was the worst experience my husband and I have ever had at a B&B. Every inn we've ever stayed at had a policy that children be at least 10 or 12 years old, and some require that children be at least 16. All B&Bs require that children be well-behaved. That's why I want to warn people that this inn allows very young children and hopefully, I can prevent someone else's stay from being ruined the way ours was. Which is a real shame, because the inn is homey and comfortable, and the staff is friendly and very helpful.

We were in Philly to attend a conference with over 20,000 attendees at the convention center, so the hotels and most of the B&Bs were booked weeks in advance. The La Chateau was the only room available at the La Reserve for the 5 nights we were staying in Philly, so I reserved it. The website says that the La Chateau is a quiet room on the back of the house that shares a bathroom with the Marquis room. But it also has an adjoining door to the Marquis room. It's just a single wooden door, not a double door like hotels have between adjoining rooms. There's no insulation around that door to block out the sound coming into the La Chateau room from the Marquis room. We heard every sound that was made in the Marquis room, and that child's crying and screaming came through that door loud and clear.

The innkeeper had her staff put towels under that adjoining door on both sides, and she told the parents they had to keep the child quiet after 10:00 at night. But still, the second floor of the inn sounded like a day care center. We avoided being in our room during the day, and we stayed down in the parlor in the evening until we couldn’t hear the screaming and crying coming from the Marquis room above the parlor. Then we’d sneak upstairs to the La Chateau room to sleep, and hope that the child didn’t wake us up during the night with her crying, but she did.

The innkeeper did refund 20% of our total bill, and the staff was very apologetic. The innkeeper told us after we left that she and the owner had decided not to allow children younger than 3 years of age in their rooms that share a bath.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherri H, General Manager at La Reserve Center City Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2013

Thank you for your feedback and I very much regret your disturbing experience during your stay with La Reserve.

We do permit young guests to stay in our establishment, however, it is a rarity. When we do, we require, and assured by the parents that the young guests are well behaved and well supervised.

This is the first time that we've had a young guest stay in a standard room with close proximity to other rooms. Most of our rooms occupy an entire floor, away from the noise levels of other rooms.

This experience has taught us a lesson. And as a result are revising our house policies for young guests, to include the restrictions of occupation in our standard rooms.

We hope that you will give us another chance. We will definitely take good care of you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews