We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“convenient location”
Review of Alexander Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Alexander Inn
Ranked #9 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“convenient location”
Reviewed May 7, 2007

We stayed at the Alexander Inn for 2 nights on a weekend in May. Location is great, price is right, Inn is fine. Nothing to jump up and down about, but definitely a good value. We were attending a function and weren't looking for luxurious accomodations. Parking is close and the rate is discounted. No trouble getting in or out. Buffet breakfast was included and yes, it is mostly carbs and some of it was stale, but enough selection that you could find something. The server, ?Martin, ?Monty, kept the area well stocked and clean and gave great sightseeing advice to visitors. He took the time to ask guests what type of experience they were looking for and inquired whether they liked what they had seen the next day at breakfast. He really was the nicest thing about the Inn. We didn't use the gym, peeked in, small but clean. WiFi worked fine.

The room was a deluxe queen, probably bigger than average for a boutique hotel. Corner room with big windows, views of the side of a building. Room was clean, except for two really filthy upholstered chairs that neither of us could stand to sit on (and our standards aren't all that high in this price range). Good sized closet. Bathroom was clean, enough space, weird tiny tub that would probably disappoint if you wanted to soak, unless you're less than 4 feet tall. We didn't care. Mattress was clearly old, pillows cheap and flat. But again, good enough in this price range. Looked recently painted, attempts made to be hip, I suppose, but frankly I'd have preferred more comfortable bedding. I did like much of the artwork throughout the Inn. We had no problem with street noise, but we were on an upper level.

The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. I twice saw them making an extra effort with disabled travelers. Great sense of humor, which was nice after a long drive.

Read postings with concerns about this being a gay-friendly establishment. We are straight, we felt welcomed and comfortable. Our school-aged kids weren't with us but we would've had no problem bringing them here. Not an issue unless you make it one.

In hindsight, I could've made more of an effort to find a deal at a nicer place but this was fine. Convenient, clean and good enough.

  • Liked — central location
  • Disliked — uncomfortable bedding, some cleanliness issues
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank abmitch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    783
    407
    83
    27
    29
See reviews for
211
554
158
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tn.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Alexander Inn for one night and enjoyed it very much. We arrived by Amtrak from Washington, DC, and took a cab to the hotel. The staff was very helpful and the hotel was very clean. The room was very small, but we weren't in it very much. It had a stand up shower, and no tub, which I liked. The continental breakfast was OK, but nothing outstanding, but for the nightly rate, you would have a hard time beating it. Pastry, fruits, cereal, juice and coffee. Most everywhere in the historic district was very high, and we got a AAA rate for $107. We went on one of the Big Bus tours of the city (I would reccomend this, if time is limited), and when we came very close to our hotel, the tour guide made a statement that we were in the Gay part of Philadelphia. Didn't notice anything specific though. We would stay at the Alexander Inn again if we go back.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Room was just a little small
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank royt5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2007

WE booked this hotel as our daughter's "wedding hotel" and the staff were so friendly and helpful to make the weekend the best for all guests and bride and groom. We could not have asked for a better hotel. Any "emergency" that arose, they were able to help out with a smile from keeping the wedding dress hanging up, to finding lost tux studs and even volunteering to make flower arrangements when the florist contact quit prior to the wedding. They knew exactly where just about anything we needed was and were so fun to have that they made the weekend fun.

  • Liked — The staff
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank slshinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2007

we were looking for a reasonably priced Philadelphia hotel for a two night stay. i went to tripadvisor & scrolled down from the top & discovered this hotel. i read the reviews & booked it. if anything, we were more than pleased! the hotel was "enchanting"....starting with the historic "look" of the building to the "feel" of the entrance and lobby. Everything about the hotel was "classy", perhaps not to someone who would only stay at a $400+ per night hotel, but for anyone looking for comfort & atmosphere at a reasonable price. The staff could not have been more friendly. the continental breakfast was great (I've never had better coffee ) and fruit & pastry are available 24 hrs. My wife & I said to each other that we almost would like to return for a visit to Philly, just as an excuse to stay here again!

  • Liked — comfort
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank NewHampshireKen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Windsor, NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2007

My girlfriends and I stayed at the Alexander Inn from April 13 – 15, 2007 for a Girlfriend’s Weekend. The people at the Inn, especially Warren and John (You will meet them at the Front Desk.), are so helpful, friendly, polite and any other nice adjectives. We stayed in rooms 203 and 306. Initially I believe they wanted to give us rooms side by side but because we needed to check in early, about 12 pm (check-in is 3 pm) only one room was available. Both rooms were cozy standard queen rooms. Room 203 was in a good location because as soon as you stepped out of the room, to your right was a set of stairs that led to the third floor. This allowed our friend to come and go from our room without having to use the elevator. Please note these stairs are not behind a door at the end of the building. They are no doors to the stairs; they only go from floor to floor (not a from the top of the building to the bottom); and they are in the middle of the building.

I did not hear anything coming from the other rooms, but I could hear the street life (cars, people talking, etc.). This did not bother me as I tend to be a heavy sleeper, but my friend said around 2 a.m. she could hear slightly rowdy people outside.

The Inn provides a contentintal breakfast daily and fruit and pastries as snacks.

There are two computers in the basement in the fitness room that have free Internet access. It costs nothing to print boarding passes or trip itineraries. It will cost you $1.00 per page to print anything else.

The location is AMAZING! We were within walking distance of theaters such as the Kimmel Center and Merriam Theater; shopping such as Macy’s and Antique Row; and many, many restaurants. If something was not within walking distance it is very easy to get a taxi. In addition, Warren or John can call one for you.

I will definitely stay here again! The cost was very reasonable, impressive actually, considering the amount of money some of the chain hotels charge. Book early if you would like to stay here because there are only 48 rooms.

I forgot to mention, in my opinion, this is not a family Inn. We did not hear any children. It is GREAT for business travelers, couples, girlfriend getaways, etc. As stated the rooms are cozy. If you need a spacious room then book VERY early to get a Double/Double room. There are only 7 available.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NJSpiceGirl26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

Wonderful neighborhood location, charming rooms and very helpful staff. This was a first visit to Philadelphia and we fell in love with the city. The parking is just a little of a hassel but follow their directions carefully and there is minimal problem. The enterance to the Inn is on 12th and there is generally loading parking available across the street from the front door or you will just park to the right side of the one-way street with hazard lights on until you unload. The parking garage is just two blocks away.

Our room was small and older but immaculately clean and charmingly decorated. The bed was very comfortable.
The staff were friendly and helpful from reservations to check-in and during our entire stay. They gave very helpful information to tourist venues, dining locations and driving directions when we checked out.

Very good breakfast of juice, coffee, tea, cereal, fresh fruit, a variety of pastries and breads. Also a lovely room to enjoy breakfast or later, a place to read, relax and enjoy a snack. Fresh fruit was available always.

We look forward to returning to this friendly well run Inn.

  • Liked — Small scale, very clean, restfull location
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Scannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2007

We stayed at The Alexander Inn over Easter, and found that it was the employees, especially the friendly and helpful gentlemen at the Front Desk, who truly made this Inn fabulous. They're a fun, jovial, helpful crew and take the time to make each visitor feel welcome. Listen to their recommendations on bars and restaurants, they won't steer you wrong. We enjoyed wonderful dinners and cheap, tasty strong martinis thanks to them.

I've read reviews prior to booking that the Alexander was gay-friendly, but what I think really needs to be said about it is that it's *people* friendly. We felt welcome there in a way you don't when you stay at a major chain. The cleanliness, computer access, gym, and the inexpensive rates were all nice features too, but it was the employees who made the difference.

Yes, all of the reviews you read about the tiny rooms and beds are true. And, yes, the Continental Breakfast is mostly sugar (but the coffee wasn't bad). But all in all, I'd highly recommend The Alexander. If you love to explore a city on foot as we do the location is great for a walking tour. Philly is a walking friendly city, even for those not in the best shape or older. It's flat, full of interesting sites, with convenient crosswalks. And if you're a walker, and not on a strict time itinerary, why not take the train into town? It's a cheap ride (but they do usually run a late, from my experience, so if you need to be there at an exact time, it won't be a good choice for you). The Alexander is only two miles from the train station, and it's an quick jaunt, easily handled with a wheeled suitcase or backpack. That way you'll avoid parking problems and save money on parking too boot! It's all extra money for cheese-steaks (wit' or wit' out onions).

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — tiny bed
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank ekatkos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
1,332 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexander Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexander Inn

Property: Alexander Inn
Address: 301 South 12th and Spruce Street, Philadelphia, PA 19107
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#15 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#20 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alexander Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming boutique hotel with 48 designer rooms, private baths, Hi speed wireless internet, in-room safes, DirecTV with 8 complimentary movie channels, great artwork, breakfast buffet, fitness center, historic tours from our door, discounted indoor parking nearby, a friendly staff and reasonable and consistent rates from $125.00 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Alexander Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexander Hotel Philadelphia
Alexander Inn Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing