We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,472)
Filter reviews
1,472 results
Traveler rating
862
457
94
29
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
862
457
94
29
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews boutique hotel bay window continental breakfast hard boiled eggs within walking distance yogurt discounted parking center city single room rooms are small few blocks kimmel center great boutique walked everywhere chain hotels south street nice breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 1,472 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights while in Philly and it was a perfect small hotel in a great location. Rooms were small, but that's to be expected when the building is more than 100 years old! Everything was clean, the staff were great and I loved the small waiting room / lobby - it always felt so cozy. The location is great, on a charming corner in Washington Square West. It was super cold when we were there so we didn't walk as many places as we had hoped but in warmer weather it's would have been a lovely stroll between sights.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Philly particularly if you are budget conscious.

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2017

Thank you for writing, so happy your enjoyed your visit to Philly. Come back in the spring when the weather breaks and enjoy the many sights we have here. Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017

Alexander Inn prides itself on providing their patrons the presence of what the early twentieth century would feel like upon entering their doors. Right down to the squeaking floors, narrow stairwells, low ceilings, courtesies, that over 100 years ago, would be evident, the Alexander Inn graces the narrow, old streets Philadelphia with an old-fashioned approach to travelers.

Stayed: November 2017
2  Thank Alvin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Thank you for writing and the five stars. So glad we could introduce you to time travel! Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2017 via mobile

Wonderful small hotel in a perfect location. Clean, nice lounge/breakfast area. If forced to find a flaw, it would be low def tv reception in rooms. Nevertheless, this is a perfect and affordable hotel for visitors to Philadelphia.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Thank you for writing and the five stars. Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2017

Stayed here from 04 to 06 Nov, 2017. This was my hubby's 3rd stay at the Alexander Inn.....I helped him select it 3 years ago for a NFL football game as he is a big Eagles and Flyers fan. This year was my 1st visit and I loved it...the location is great as its in a nice neighborhood, walking distance to many places for the Arts, Musuems, restaurants, pubs, shopping and the subway train is a 5 minute walk. On the subway train it's only $2.50 and a 8-10 minute ride to get to Lincoln Centre for NFL Football, the NHL hockey arena and the Philly's MLB baseball Stadium as all 3 facilities are in the same area with huge parking lots. The Alexander Inn is lovely inside, fancier than I expected, the staff are friendly, the rooms are rather small but so clean and comfortable, nicely decorated and the self serve Continental Breakfast spread is very good and in a nice dining room on the main floor. I especially liked the mosaic tiling on the 4th floor in front of some of the elevators and in the bathroom. The only downfall is that you have to drop off your luggage when you check-in and within 15-20 minutes you are required to drive your car a few blocks away to a park-cade as there is very limited space for parking in this part of Philly and the By-law were always out there ticketing offenders. I definitely recommend this hotel and will be returning to visit.

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Wanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. The staff really enjoys the positive feedback. Hope to see you again soon. Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017

Neat hotel , built 1890 or so right in the central district of Philadelphia. walking distance to
Independence Square, Reading Mkt and other sites.

Rooms are well decorated ,relatively quiet fro a big city and clean.Friendly staff and a pretty good breakfast .

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank alhillScottsdale_az
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony L, Manager at Alexander Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Thank you for writing and the 5 stars. Tony Lombardo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews